"This seat is for my bag and water-bottle only"

Kikilala

I was at Killiney Kopitiam Siglap this morning with my family... as usual, it was very crowded... we found a table but there were not enough chairs... at the next table sat a couple (should be in their mid-thirties) with a toddler daughter... my brother saw a chair with a bag on it at their table and politely asked,"Can I have this chair pls?" The lady replied "This seat is for my bag and water-bottle only.", much to the amazement of my brother... who then replied in a nice way.. "A chair is meant for sitting and not for putting things"... before anything else could happen, my mom found another chair and we proceeded to order our food...

Throughout the whole meal, the couple glared at us... the husband even said very loudly, "If not happy, go out and settle"... They were obviously not a teeny weeny bit apologetic about it... I am very saddened that the education in Singapore gone wrong... they looked very educated... yet, they can do such a thing.. the bag was not exactly very big, like a handbag... even for me, who lunges a really big laptop bag around, I dun put my bag chairs.. I will just put it on the floor.. especially in very crowded places... moreover, they had a young daughter... are they teaching their daughter that it is fine to put a bag on the chair when there are no seats available? It is not like my brother asked them rudely but in a very polite manner...

This is truely an UGLY singaporean act... and what a way to start the new year... -_-"""

I would challenged the uncle ... Your brother did not take the chair away .. just get on with it lah. No need to keep staring. Probably your family are well dressed and all .. think you all will be too scared to react.

I would gladly give up the seat if I am in the same situation.

i think your family was too nice.

if my bros and i did meet anyone like this, we will spare no quater.

kudos to your tolerance!

I was at Killiney Kopitiam Siglap this morning with my family... as usual, it was very crowded... we found a table but there were not enough chairs... at the next table sat a couple (should be in their mid-thirties) with a toddler daughter... my brother saw a chair with a bag on it at their table and politely asked,"Can I have this chair pls?" The lady replied "This seat is for my bag and water-bottle only.", much to the amazement of my brother... who then replied in a nice way.. "A chair is meant for sitting and not for putting things"... before anything else could happen, my mom found another chair and we proceeded to order our food...

Throughout the whole meal, the couple glared at us... the husband even said very loudly, "If not happy, go out and settle"... They were obviously not a teeny weeny bit apologetic about it... I am very saddened that the education in Singapore gone wrong... they looked very educated... yet, they can do such a thing.. the bag was not exactly very big, like a handbag... even for me, who lunges a really big laptop bag around, I dun put my bag chairs.. I will just put it on the floor.. especially in very crowded places... moreover, they had a young daughter... are they teaching their daughter that it is fine to put a bag on the chair when there are no seats available? It is not like my brother asked them rudely but in a very polite manner...

This is truely an UGLY singaporean act... and what a way to start the new year... -_-"""

The hubby is quite Sia Lan [mad][mad][mad]

KNN [furious][furious][furious]

Don't give up the chair is already not very alright liao and yet still wanna stare & provoke others [mad][mad][mad]

If i were in your shoes sure invite him out ... [bounce1][bounce1][bounce1][bounce1][bounce1]

They may look educated, but from the behaviour you described alone, I dare say they disgrace any good upbringing they might have. And they have a young daughter some more, bad, bad role models. [thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

U should have retorted that u dont deal with ugly Singaporeans. Anyway, the wife wears drak coloured frame glasses? Young daughter about lower pri school?

hee, handbag and water bottle too valuable to be put on their table issit...

Anyway, this truely reflects the morals of those couple

Now that you mentioned... yah, the lady wears glassses.. the daughter looks like in Primary 1... quite pretty and the husband is tall and quite good-looking also.. the daughter sat in between the couple... bro, you were there too?

go out and settle with him lor.. u got 2 guys.

otherwise.... take the chair and whack the hell outta him on the spot.

i second that.

sometimes gotta speak same language so that u can be better understood.

anyways, nowadays, it seems as long as the jacka-ss is not an MP, meanistar or wearing white underwear and white pants and shirt... he's fair game.