Want to measure the noise level in cabin

Kelpie

Hi all,

1. I would like to measure the noise level of the cabin before and after sound proofing. Also good for measuring road noise before and changing tyres in the future.

2. Anyone know where I can a simple to use and reasonably priced dB tester?

Thank you very much.

Regards,

SPL = sound pressure level

i used to hv one... think it was made in china. cos chirp bah. ard $80 with 2 double A batts.

if u r doing SP... remember noise is affected by distance. to do this, hv more material at the driver side then others. reason is becos driver spent more time in the car. who cares abt the passengers.

but read my post. dun overdo the SP. treat the wheel hub as priority.

for engine noise, check out oils that can help to damp the noise.

Actually, no need to measure cos waste of money. If you want really good ones, Quest Technologies Sound level meter are the one to choose but it is really expensive.... cheapest one is more than $1k. You can buy Taiwanese made one should cost maybe a few hundred.

Thanks for the info. I didn't know it costs so much. I was of the thought that it probably costs less than hundred for a simple one. I will try ebay later.

Regards,

no nid so complex one lah... just get a chirp one will do.

if u got friend in audio, can borrow. they also using smthg like this.

I think $80 is affordable leh. When I read the car review on cabin SPL, they actually placed the reader at the centre of the car. 3 readings were gathered based on initial startup, up to 60Km/h and beyond 100Km/h. Thanks!

Regards,