Loan Shark harassment. What to do? Help!

Albeniz

BTW hor...if they are so effetcive in their system to avoid arrest, why can't they QC their system of better screening their debtors!??!?!

Well just like u who met up with shady neigbours, the loansharks oso meet all kinds of debtors [nod] Evasive type, tell lie type and choot a lot of pattern type, etc. Thus, they will not take your word for it unless the matter is blown out of proportion and got public attention [nod]

Loansharks are in the league of their own...you cannot use yours or my kind of mentality to figure them out [flowerface]

I have the splash paint harassment from the loan shark, the previous owner borrowed money from 4 to 5 group of loan sharks. My resale unit was splashed with red paint few days ago. I have since made a police report and they can't help me even though I managed to get in touch with previous owner. But the previous owner refused to reveal where he has shifted to. Last night, one of his childhood friends turned up at my unit and asked for him. I told him that his friend has moved out since a couple weeks ago and I am the new owner. He looks desperate and depressed as he's the guarantor and he become his guarantor becoz he believed that his good friend will not betray him. His friend called him but the handphone is always off. If anybody out there can help me, please look out for this vehicle which belong to previous house owner: Honda Stream 1.8 SGZ2480P. I am helping his friend too as he is looking for him too. Please PM me. Thank you.

no point lah.... end of day, u wun be getting back of what you paid cos if the seller got money, they wud have paid the ah long.... if they dun scare ah long, u think they scare court meh? the most go bankrupt lor... for all u know, better still for them.... they can dun pay other legal debt liao... sekali they bankrupted long time ago....

all u can do now is to blow up the case as big as possible, if possible get MP involve then prying hard hoping the ah long get caught or give up on this case...

The son might be bankrupt. The father who sold us the house might not be.

He bought a landed property in Bukit Timah and has several thriving family businesses in the dry market.

Sorry for the late reply but I just read this.

A civil suit is pointless because the father cannot be held accountable for his son's actions. (unless his son is still a minor)

I think the absolutely best approach is to get a few guard dogs to guard outside the home. After the initial training period, the dog would know how to recognise neighbours and leave them alone. But any strangers (ah-long runners), may get mauled to pieces.

The neighbours should co-operate, because having a loan-shark case will affect everybody's peace, as well as the valuation of their property. Having serious guard dogs - I'm talking about German Sheperds, Dobbleman type of breed. Big, fierce, but can be trained.

Remember to put on warning signs that your particular floor is guarded by a few "crazy" dogs. Any genuine visitors must call the respective home owners to escort.

I think the absolutely best approach is to get a few guard dogs to guard outside the home. After the initial training period, the dog would know how to recognise neighbours and leave them alone. But any strangers (ah-long runners), may get mauled to pieces.

The neighbours should co-operate, because having a loan-shark case will affect everybody's peace, as well as the valuation of their property. Having serious guard dogs - I'm talking about German Sheperds, Dobbleman type of breed. Big, fierce, but can be trained.

Remember to put on warning signs that your particular floor is guarded by a few "crazy" dogs. Any genuine visitors must call the respective home owners to escort.

If it is HDB, you don't think it is [crazy] ? Might as well adopt an animal from the Singapore Zoo, like the White Tigers and have them instead of some chi-wa-wa you mentioned? [laugh]

Because it's a HDB, White Tigers are out of the question for now. Believe you me, a well trained German Shepherd / Dobblerman is no chi-wa-wa. You can either chain the dogs to the metal grill, or let them roam around within the confines of the floor. I'm quite sure it's a very workable, relatively inexpensive solution.

HDB common corridor is not your house.

I am thinking of filing a civil suit against the ex-owner of the house.

To recap:

1. Ex-owner, the Liew father, sold us the house in 1998.

2. The son, Liew Yon* Chia*, owed debts.

3. We were harassed by 1 case of vandalism in 1998 when we just moved in.

4. Ten years, nothing happened.

5. In Nov 2007, 1 case of vandalism. No names scribbled, Ah Long left one hp number and some paints.

6. In Dec 2007, a follow-up vandalism with bicycle lock. Name "Liew Yon* Chia*" scribbled. Same handwriting, same Ah Long telephone number. Other SOP vandalisms.

I might be pressing charges against the father and son for the followings:

1. Clean up fee for the 2-3 cases of vandalisms.

2. Misusing our address for illegal money borrowing activities.

3. Potential losses in house resale value. E.g. Neighbors are aware and will not hide if potential buyers enquire about the history.

Would appreciate any legal advisers here for your inputs. Many thanks.

How much legal fees do I have to come out with for such a court case?

If they can still own Ah Long $$ after 10yrs .... how much $$ compensation do you think you could get from them after you spend the legal fees?

HDB can keep such big dogs meh?