Altivo 3rd Gear December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 maybe the runner is a debtor too..... no $$$ to pay the debt so run errands for the ah long instead.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 infact yes. some stupid kids also help the ah long as runner. i think just this week news did come out the MIBs arrested 8 youths in relation to ah long during ops. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 u got no choice. make police report, stick onto wall in front, in the staircase, in front of lift. then put up cctv. this case polis boh kan one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 you should lodge a Police report. It is an offence if one doesn't update the IC after 6 months (If i remember correctly). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyg Clutched December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 Ya man..damn good one can't stop laughing Can use hidden camera took the ah long runner photo and enlarge it paste it at the notice board to tell every one he is ah long runner kekekeke.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 31, 2007 Author Share December 31, 2007 BTW, what is the punishment for loan shark runners who got arrested? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lokech34 Clutched December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 i just do not understand that how the money lender lend out the money.just by verbal or dont even have to check the ic. at the end of day.they have to do so much of work in order to collect back the money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lokech34 Clutched December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 Ya good suggestion. Use take their photos . And print out in color & place them on for all people to see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ninafrost 1st Gear December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 If you think ur case is bad, listen to mine. My flat was bought FIRST HAND immediately after it was built. FOr 20 years nothing happened. Everythingg was peaceful , i live with my brother and dad and mom and i can swear WE ALL HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH LOAN SHARKS. yes u get some loan sharks ranting about other debtors owing money and writing on other people;s walls. I dunno whether are they ar e genuine case of really borrowing money or are they innocent victims like you. Then few years back, this middle age chao beng moved in with his lover. Then all the trouble started. First he broke our flower pot in the middle of the night. I know it's them because i heard a smash a night and then heard him cursing but stupid me was too drowsy with sleep i didn't come out to confront him. The next day he didn't bother with any apology or anything and left the broken flower pot there with all the soil spilled on th floor. Naturally i cursed the "culprit" loudly and hope he heard it. You will also hear him talking and arguing loudly in the middle of the night every few days frequently with whoever in hokkein and i can swear everyone in my family heard him mention these few words "Money/ I'll pay/ No money how to pay" and with vulgarities included. BTW He talked really really loud. Your typical ah beng. Another night this women came up to his flat and they talked loudly about some things. The women said things like "i can't take this anymore. I want out" Well since he likes to do things in the middle of the night, and it's gettting loud , my dad came out and told them to keep their voices down. The next thing u know, my house got loan shark harrassment in a hell note IN MY MAILBOX. the person even put the loan shark's number. My dad called the loan shark to confront him. The loan shark was aggresive in the beginning, but after my dad's insistence that he check his books, the loan shark revert back to say that OUR ADDRESS IS NOT IN HIS BOOKS.Loanshark even apologise to my dad saying there must be a mistake. That howver is not the end of matters. Subsequently we got several harrassments from several loan sharks in various methods like pouring paint on our doors or writing IC numbers that dun exists. The funny part was when we confront them what is the IC they have in their books based on my address, they are unable to tell us the IC number. If they are able to provide me the IC number i would have gone straight to ICA verify this number and lodge a police reprot that this person is using my home address falsely. Another loan shark after confrontation, he realises there's sum mistake but he became chao kuan and simply says he dun care, he wants us to pay. He even threatened that he can do the same paint spilling everyday because he knows we'll never catch him. WTF, WHY SHOULD I PAY SIMPLY BECAUSE YOU THREATEN ME? Anyways he has a funny name... the loandsharks name on the wall says "Ferari" Coincidentally, everytime after my house got vandalised , the next night i can hear my nighbour talking about money matters at midmight in hokkien again. I'm really susepcting he's the culprit but i ain't got no proof. We have given up talking to the loan sharks and reported the cases twice to the police already and frankly, i'm VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED with the our police. Really, all they do is to come take some photos, yes, still using film cameras. Then the CID will come and show face a bit. I really dun need that. I need some action. After the second inceident, they went to knock on my nieghbour's door but that buger pretended to be out and kept quiet inside the house. and that was the last time i ever see the police try to interview him. it's like Knock once on the door and cannot get answer, oh too bad? I am very very dissed and have given up hopes that our govt, (be it the town council or the police) can do anything to stop it. Ministers will probably talk and talk but frankly there's no action. THis loand shark harrassment is prevalent everywhere! EVen the officer in charge admits it. I'll prob get a good set of CCTV camera next month and catch the culprit myself. i;m not that worried for myself because i'm seldom home. I'm more worried about my dad and mom both whom are quite old and are retired and are always at home. This is the problem we faced with public housing where strangers are allowed to roam around ur estates and even hang around at your balconey. Most recently, last month, they use the bicycle lock to lock my door in the middle of the night. My dad manage to unlock the chain the next mnorning but injured his hand in the process. Sometimes after i fall victim to such harrassments it really makes my blood boil instead of fear. If i were to catch the culprit i think i'll really go on a insane rage, dun care if i'm a girl or he's a burly chao ah beng, i'll call the police, then take my ceramic super tough and light tennis racket and confront him. I'll make sure i whack him so hard that he'll be a cripple for the rest of his life. Honestly I dun want him dead, I want him crippled bad. My advice.Do not fear them. That is exactly wat they want you to feel. U will be falling into their trap and they hope that they'll coerce you with fear to pay for the debt. These bengs are jist money minded people. They dun care if you are not the debtor. They just want their money. You have done nothing wrong. DO NOT FEAR THEM. Go get the cctv camera. I'm going to do that too very soon. Wish you luck in catching the culprit and dun worry, you are not alone. Best, Nina Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 u catch the runner also useless. for every one such ah long runner arrested, there are at least another 10 still at large. and tats not even up to their boss level yet. buy resale flat? do some homework. check with neighbours, check the corridor walls for any obvious paint overs. Ah Hia, not so easy, they always borrow from ah long once the house is sold... ah long will only come few month later if debtor defaulted payment, by then too late already, move in already... what to do? call the agent and KPKB lor.... the agent also become victim, kana harass by buyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 1, 2008 Share January 1, 2008 are the writings directed to ur unit? #xx-xx O$PS as in ur unit number? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 1, 2008 Share January 1, 2008 jail term + rotan. i think at least 3 strokes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear January 1, 2008 Share January 1, 2008 You 1 person against 2 runners? See u they chicken out. Can share after that any more harassment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ninafrost 1st Gear January 1, 2008 Share January 1, 2008 yes...it's alwayts target and written to my unit number. But they never got the IC right. And any IC number they manage to scribble turns up blank when i check with the DB search. This prob shows whoever is the culprit see my number not happy anyhow go write my unit number. After all our address is always shown on the front door. Nina. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear January 1, 2008 Share January 1, 2008 Address is easy to change. 1. Go police post to update. He'll paste your new address on your IC, no questions asked. 2. Report IC lost. 3. Make new IC. 4. Change address back. 5. Use old IC to borrow. Will this work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 1, 2008 Share January 1, 2008 the address part is a fault of ICA. not the police. the police in this instance is just like a sub-con. the OIC says just change and no need to verify. wat else do u think they should do? i think the police should stop changing all address and give the job back to ICA. they should be the ones that do the job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear January 1, 2008 Share January 1, 2008 My suggestions: 1. Install camera, record them in action. 2. Print out pictures of them in action (with their fark faces clearly seen) and paste on your door. 3. Next to the pics write the penalty, eg. "XX strokes of the CANE and XX years Jail or both" to scare them back. 4. Instead of calling the number they give you, you buy a pre-paid SIM card and write the number next to the pics and ask them to call you. 5. When they call you, fark them and threaten to give the pics to police. May not solve the problem, but scare them back also shiok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie January 1, 2008 Share January 1, 2008 Time to write to the press...make sure they cover your story... Anyway, read in the news some runners kenna caught...rotan haha... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...