Singaporesiao Neutral Newbie December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 Since u already called up the hotline, call them up again to ask for a followup lor.. remember to quote them the licence number again, and give a very narrative description of his bad behaviour. anyway, taxi drivers who kena complained need to waste their afternoon going down to the HQ for investigations.. it will really be a super waste of time for them.. cos the night drivers most prob will be sleeping in the afternoon... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 Let's look at it case by case. Those cars which got tuck at the pedestrian crossing are definitely at fault. No doubt about it and they deserve to be punished by law. And is not related to this discussion. So don't lump them together. On the other hand, your buddy "TS" strolling across pedestrian while it already "RED" is no angel either. What you read is his side of story so certain "discount" on the creditabilty has to be taken. The very is fact that car drivers who were caught beating red light get 12 demerit points and fine. The same should apply for pedestrian that doesn't obey the same traffic regulation. In short TS, should fine for jaywalking. Borrowing your words, he failed to "agar" the traffic flow and get himself caught in the middle of the road when the lights turned red. It doesn't matter if it is my friend or my relative who in the same situation as TS, it is wrong to cross the road when the light is RED. Those who did that are risking their life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 Quote KNN , you are at fault and still want to blame others. It is "red man" means cannot cross the road. You should either walk faster when it is blinking "green man" or wait for it to go "green man" again. LTA/TP should book you for jaywalking. You are like those typical ah-beng. I bet if you ever bang into the car back side infront, you cried foul and say "it is not my fault because you jam brake!!" Well even if the car has the right of way becoz the 'red man' appeared does not mean that the car can just move off if someone is still crossing . . . the driver will still be answerable under the law if anything happened to the person crossing the road due to his reckless driving . . . recently papers got a case reported the court rule against the driver who hit a car / motorbike that he shot the red light . . . think something about even if got rite of way still need to check for vehicles from all sides at traffic junction . . . anyway if the taxi driver really knocked down the bro here even if 'red man' is up . . . do u think he would really go away scot free . . . i no thing so . . . i think that is reckless driving already an offence . . . should report to TP . . . you can go SPF online to lodge an online report . . . if needed TP will request you to go down to assist . . . if they taking up case. I didn't say the taxi driver is right. I only emphasis that the "complainer" is at fault regardless what the taxi driver did. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 take a brick and smash the window of course not lah!!!!!! clasp your heart with your hand, appear to be in GREAT pain and collapse on taxi bonnet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 Quote Hi All, I need good advices on what i should do to bring down such errant taxi drivers. Driver of SILVERCAB SHC60XXT attempted to knock me down along the pedestrian crossing at Bideford Road. Crossing from Swenson's Orchard towards Paragon. Here's the story: It was a crowded night, combination of pedestrians and cars. One thing about that junction at bideford road, there is no yellow box at the intersection (the place where u cross from Swenson's Orchard towards Taka.) And now they even have those diagonal crossing for pedestrian and as such, the LT EHH feels that a yellow box is not crucial. So many drivers tend to jam up the road in the centre evenwhen the pedestrians are already crossing at Bideford road, they beat the red light and we pedestrians are unable to cross. I was there around 10+ PM on 29/12/07, green man, so my gf, sister n me crossed the road. One WRX zoomed past the pedestrian almost knocked a boy down. Then come a couple other cars horning and expect pedestrian to give way even when its green man. The cars on the main road that leads towards centrepoint are already horning cos these few idiots are blocking the road and that leads them to drive through the pedestrian crossing. We were already in the middle of the crossing, then the red man light went on. One taxi, instead of understanding and having the courtesy rev his engine and move towards my knees. It was so close till i had to balance myself by slamming my hand on his bonnet. Once i gain momentum, the farker still rev his engine n got the intention to knock me down again by moving a little forward. I was so furious, i moved to the side of the taxi - i fark THAT IDIOT like a mad gorilla shouting vulgarities in front of everyone else for a good 30secs(I was so going crazy, u would the same thing if it happened to u as its that bad!). That IDIOT still got the cheek to point me middle finger before driving away. i so wanted to kick his car door and drag him out. But something tells me that would make matters worst. Well anyway, to cut the story short, i called SILVERCAB hotline to report the incident. They dont have GPS and so they could only get back to me in 2 days. They bringing up the matter to HQ. What should i do next? Report to POLICE (go police post - but report as what? Recklessness?_ or call TP hotline (Do they have a hotline no. for recklessness?) Appreciate your help. Thanks I'm a driver too. Good thing i wasnt knocked down or else, my car windsreeen got to put handicap decal loh (CHOI!). CB Taxi Driver Ah Pek! 2 things to note: highlighted in red 1) u mean a few cars got guts to beat the red light? and in the process horn at people? i think there is a misunderstanding here. 2) This shows you gelek gelek across the traffic light. It is red man, either you run across to be considerate or gelek and be horned, knocked down what ever lor. I am sick of pedestrains taking their time to stroll across when it is not thier right of way. Disclaimer: i give my opinions based on what is written by the TS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 ok lah, next time ask them to rongeng or hiphop across at slow pace, lidat can? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer666 Neutral Newbie January 2, 2008 Author Share January 2, 2008 No problem...This is a forum. Bound to have misunderstandings. Its alright, u dont get the picture and just assume that i'm the only one crossing the road gelek gelek with my gf n sist. No problem... Quoted from your reply to me: 2) This shows you gelek gelek across the traffic light. It is red man, either you run across to be considerate or gelek and be horned, knocked down what ever lor. I am sick of pedestrains taking their time to stroll across when it is not thier right of way. My reply to your suggestion: ****** How to run when across when its packed? be inconsiderate n push ppl down? ****** To horn at ppl is ok, but to knock down? its a no no and so aint worth it. I'm a driver too and pedestrians always like to take their time to cross road. But when u are a pedestrian, especially at Orchard rd during festive season, u dont even have a chance to cross when green man. Both parties get irritated. Enuff said. Have a great year ahead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 i seriously duno the scenario cuz i totally avoid orchard on fetivals... like i said i comment on whta i read. but if it is really so jam-packed. maybe you should not have cross the road and wait in line for the next green light? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 eh... TS dun mind, i also dun mind leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer666 Neutral Newbie January 2, 2008 Author Share January 2, 2008 If only we have sky bridges (like Hong Kong) which connects every shopping mall. Congestions in town would be solved. Yet again, its not going to be cheap n probably, GST n the other taxes are gonna be increased for that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 Luck Plaza has underground tunnel linking to Taka Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 who cares abt HK... we only use them sparingly when we need to perk up some crappy stats. and who cares abt peasants... our self declared top notch, money spinning and money face elites need to get fr one corner to another corner in under 10 mins. peasants sud not b allowed to hog roads. simple as tat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 To be honest, whenever I drive in Orchard and meet with the human jam, I will rev and inch forward to pressure the pedestrians to move quickly. Otherwise, you see those patient (or kiasee, whatever you like to call them) drivers just wait foolishly and jam up the road behind with all the cars waiting to turn in. Horn IMO is useless. Some pedestrians act damn SL and walk even slower if you horn at them. Some beh song ones even glare at you as they gelek across. Horn is only an excuse for us drivers to say that we did give adequate warning to pedestrians in the event that any unfortunate accident happens. In a way, I can understand from the taxi driver's POV. I'm not sure if he inched forward or lurched forward. The former is still forgivable IMO. But I think just live and let live lor. It's Orchard Rd. Human or traffic, still jam all the same. Gotta be able to cope with the frustration of the jam otherwise just avoid the area better. Now that you know how it's like during festive seasons, next yr remember not to go Orchard during the same period again! Just my two cents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 actually, got one time me and wife and 2 kids and maid want to cross from wheellock to wisma junction we wait until green light come out then cross[:)] then start crossing, walk as fast as the front guy can walk but still couldnt make it in time, at 3/4 junction red man come out cars inch forward no one horn i think people see poor familie with kids trying to cross junction so no one horn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer666 Neutral Newbie January 2, 2008 Author Share January 2, 2008 yeah inched forward is acceptable cos pedestrians are too much nowadays. especially kids. But what i experienced was a bumper close to a centimetre touching my knee. And thats definitely not "inching forward". U would go berzerk i tell u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 I especially avoid horning too if I see families with kids, esp babies in prams. Don't want to startle the young ones. But sometimes I really wonder how can these parents put their kids at risk. In Orchard Rd, many parents push prams and jaywalk from Tangs to Wisma. Their mentality is really . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer666 Neutral Newbie January 2, 2008 Author Share January 2, 2008 Thats a super long junction. Usually when i see the green light left with 12 secs, usually forget it. cos 12 sec is definitely not enuff to cross that long stretch. [Galantspeedz] Re: Taxi Driver attempted to knock me down - Help needed to bring him down. [in reply to] Reply -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- actually, got one time me and wife and 2 kids and maid want to cross from wheellock to wisma junction we wait until green light come out then cross then start crossing, walk as fast as the front guy can walk but still couldnt make it in time, at 3/4 junction red man come out cars inch forward no one horn i think people see poor familie with kids trying to cross junction so no one horn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 2, 2008 Share January 2, 2008 It's frustrating for both sides. You're right about the kids. The teens just spread out and gelek across the road, gossiping and giggling with their friends or chattering away on their hps with that "you dare to knock me down?" mentality. They not only hold up traffic who have right of way to proceed but also hold up pedestrians who just want to quickly cross the road and get to the other side before the green man turns red. And they are also the type to glare at you and walk even slower if you horn at them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...