Fluffy Clutched December 20, 2007 Share December 20, 2007 just wondering if anybody has any idea how to remove the front left, right and center vents from the front bumper. thinking of have a DIY mesh grill.... i tried to go to EKTA but the site seems to be down... thks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched December 21, 2007 Author Share December 21, 2007 this is a pics of the vent i'm currently looking removing, but dun wanna break any of the clips, etc.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 It looks similar to the Octy. Remembered taking it out to change a Magnum horn, it is quite easy. There are 8 plastic clips on the edge, just need to gently pull it open. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched December 21, 2007 Author Share December 21, 2007 fortress bro, u mean push the grill in or push it out? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 The holders are hook-like, you need to pull the grill out, but note the hook-like nature by pushing the hooks down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 actually i used a screwdriver wrapper in cloth to pry it out, but not successful. Then after trying for 10 mins, I said " what the heck" and just yanked it out !!! easy !! no damage to either the vent or bumper ..... these things will not break so easily ......... so proceeded to pull the other side one ...... once you get the drift, its damn easy .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conned Clutched December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 Sorry to say this ( its none of my business anyway)..but have u ever wondered what would happen to ur SMIC if you remove the side lower grills? Been there, done that. Stock is best! Just my newbie 2cents. just wondering if anybody has any idea how to remove the front left, right and center vents from the front bumper. thinking of have a DIY mesh grill.... i tried to go to EKTA but the site seems to be down... thks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched December 22, 2007 Author Share December 22, 2007 i yanked the left and right ones out.... then put them back.... now the centre grill....this one don't seem to be "yank"able ........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched December 22, 2007 Author Share December 22, 2007 bro, my intention is not to remove it, but to open the blanked out side of the left vent, then put a mesh to protect the SMIC from stones, etc... the air way to the SMIC seems very convoluted leh.... the more air into the SMIC, less heat soak on a hot day... me thinks lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 Agree...when you got the drift.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched December 22, 2007 Author Share December 22, 2007 so u get the drift and Yank the center grill out too?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 The grills are the same, made and installed similarly. You should try... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear December 26, 2007 Share December 26, 2007 what's smic ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conned Clutched December 26, 2007 Share December 26, 2007 pardon my ignorance..newbie like me! e concern is leaves getting stuck onto the SMIC, stones chips dun usualy get suck in. I just cleared mine . I am sure the Skoda/ VAG engineers already factor in the air issue getting into SMIC,heat soak is inevitable in our climate. stock is best. ENjoy ur DIY.do let us know if u feel a diff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ebit Neutral Newbie December 26, 2007 Share December 26, 2007 "newbie"..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear December 26, 2007 Share December 26, 2007 so what's 'SMIC' ? sorry, noob question ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tashi Clutched December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 hi bro side mounted intercooler? performance item typically for turbo engines i think. :-) blessings tashi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conned Clutched December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 Uncle, long time no see..how are u? SEASON's GREETINGS & BEST WISHES TO U AND UR FAMILY FOR THE YEAR AHEAD!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...