Auto gearbox spoilt

Oklor76

There is something wrong with my gearbox. It is ok when I accelerate gently from 0-120.

But when during constant speed, I release acceleration, rpm drop to below 2000 then I step hard on the acceleration again, the rpm will go up, but car did not accelerate. Mechanic told me it gear slip.

So now I face with a 2 option

1)repair gearbox

2)get a recond 2nd hand gearbox

Anyone can advise me where can get cheap repair for gear box or where can get a cheap recond one.

Or anyone selling can give me a msg at 90627955

within waranty, go change it, as long as u have never touch the engine bay.

minor mode such as grounding cables or voltage .. is fine.

auto gear box for mitsubishi lancer is close to $9k. fyi.

i got mine change free during 1 year ++, it was the C&C mechanic who could not identify what is the problem, thinking is the gear box faulty and replace a new gearbox for me. [nod]

in the end, went to fong kim who done my car exhaust system, and told me my CAT spoilt, and replace a new piece, everything back to normal.

Hi Bro,

My friend matrix oso have the same problem and was recommended to change gear box by a reputable WS at AMK auto point..

But went for 2nd opinion (his brother inlaw who work in WS) to do a ATF flush and found quite a bit of metal content... After that car is OK now ... can even drive up Genting and hit 160KM/H on NSH.

So maybe you want to try that first.....

I heard CS 3 CVT gearbox quite resilient. Dunno leh. Have friends driving past 120,000 Km and still going strong.

But I dun whack my gearbox beyond 3000 rpm and dun suka suka change D or Ds or L. Just put to D and drive. Uncle driving......Haha! Old liao lah. [laugh]

Got an atf cooler in it....A bit kiasu..... [laugh]

There is something wrong with my gearbox. It is ok when I accelerate gently from 0-120.

But when during constant speed, I release acceleration, rpm drop to below 2000 then I step hard on the acceleration again, the rpm will go up, but car did not accelerate. Mechanic told me it gear slip.

So now I face with a 2 option

1)repair gearbox

2)get a recond 2nd hand gearbox

Anyone can advise me where can get cheap repair for gear box or where can get a cheap recond one.

Or anyone selling can give me a msg at 90627955

In my opinion, how long u drive the car and how long u need to drive this car, ie any loan outstanding?

That will determine whether I want to change gearbox or change car.

For 9k to 10k, I see whether it is more worth to change gearbox or change car.

auto gear box for mitsubishi lancer is close to $9k. fyi.

i got mine change free during 1 year ++, it was the C&C mechanic who could not identify what is the problem, thinking is the gear box faulty and replace a new gearbox for me. [nod]

in the end, went to fong kim who done my car exhaust system, and told me my CAT spoilt, and replace a new piece, everything back to normal.

9k ??? [hur]

Kena ketok [smash]

This is a quote from infamous AD right?

Aa lot of ppl go Msia to get a recon or 2nd auto gear box, tat's wat i heard fr my frens.

And they said for age car no point to get a new gear box cos there are many others part wore out liao, get a new gear box only solve part of the problem and expensive and no guarantee last.

FYI [;)]

9k???? a porsche clutch is about 10k fyi. lancers should be sold after warranty then.

it's a CVT... $9K is about right. tat's why i siam their auto car

I heard CS 3 CVT gearbox quite resilient. Dunno leh. Have friends driving past 120,000 Km and still going strong.

But I dun whack my gearbox beyond 3000 rpm and dun suka suka change D or Ds or L. Just put to D and drive. Uncle driving......Haha! Old liao lah. [laugh]

Got an atf cooler in it....A bit kiasu..... [laugh]

i'm not sure, but my city is alr 72k km and almost 3 yrs.. abit worrying if have to change.. haha. [sweatdrop]