Kayu poly student slap with $10K fine for death of passenger.

Apollo

Poly student gets maximum fine for negligent driving He was also banned from driving for five years for causing passenger's death. By Elena Chong, Court Correspondent A MOTORIST was taking his passengers home late one evening when it skidded, went up a centre road divider and overturned on the opposite side of the road.

A rear right passenger died about two months after the June 15, 2006 accident.

On Monday, second-year polytechnic student Shawn Goh Jin Fa, 24, was given the maximum fine of $10,000 and banned from driving for five years for causing the death of Mr Taqdir Buang, 23, through his negligence.

One of the two other passengers was treated as an outpatient while the other was given two weeks' medical leave.

A district court heard that Goh was driving on the extreme right lane of Clementi Road at about 11.30pm when he drove negligently and lost control of the car while overtaking a car from the left side of that car.

His car went up the road divider, hit a metal railing and overturned on the centre lane of the three-lane road on the opposite side.

Mr Taqdir suffered serious head injuries and died 64 days later in hospital on Aug 18.

Goh could have been jailed for up to two years or fined or jailed and fined for the offence.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/...ory_187728.html

clementi... singapore or ngee ann?

no leh...

Goh could have been jailed for up to two years or fined or jailed and fined for the offence.

if i not wrong, case is jail, fine or both. and last one is then considered jialat.

It's frustrating that we have a Legal System and not a Justice System where punishments does not reflect the severity of the crime committed.

If there's a so call justice system the jail now would be overcrowded. A lot more ppl will be sitting in jail now doing nothing and gov still have to cloth and feed these criminals. [laugh]

If punishments are based on the severity of the crime committed dan in that case if u accidentally run over some fellow and u'r given the life sentence or executed u'll defintely be saying something different from now. U'll be [bigcry] for justice. [smash]

It's frustrating that we have a Legal System and not a Justice System where punishments does not reflect the severity of the crime committed.

so what severe crime did the driver commit?

The loved ones (the parents, siblings, wife or kids...) of the victims will too pose this same question.

As a driver, you have the responsibility to drive the car carefully and safely (esp in this rainy season) - to ensure the safety of your fellow passengers and other road users as well. Public road is not a racing track to show off your driving skill, or drunk driving...To drive otherwise, is tantamount to ....irresponsible acts, without due care...proper lookout ...negligent....blah..blah...all those traffic offences. Even these fines and jailed sentences or punishments are not enough to deter others!

As driver we are responsible for our driving actions and there are serious consequences if we choose to disregard or disobey them. The road is a dangerous zones - car kills and mangles lives folks - Caution/Bewares/AWAS All the RED color road signs.

Every year needless died tragically on the roads. BE SAFE DRIVE carefully in this festival seasons folks!

Edited by Highwaycode

the punishment this time i feel is ok cos i'm quite sure the driver did not intend to kill his passengers and he try to exercise control of his vehicle to the best of his ability.

but for drink drivers that caused death, they should rot in jail for at least 10 years.

he killed someone... aka man slaughter.

the man would not have died if he did not drive him.

but the thing here is, all the other pax got off with light injury except the deceased. Makes one wonder if the deceased wear seat belt at all.

Another thing to note when buying a car... if you car has passive safety system (e.g. ESP, traction control) and active safety with good crash test result and lots of airbags, you might not kill your pax if you have an accident, and you would not have to face the severe penalty.... or you might not have an accident in the first place.

Edited by Miles

Woah...so long then sentence. [:/]

I was there after Adam Rd supper, from the look of it,must be young punk driver...indeed

its true. The car turn turtle,quite bad [shakehead]

he killed someone... aka man slaughter.

the man would not have died if he did not drive him.

rubbish.... might as well say the man would not have died if he had not wanted to take a free ride [sweatdrop]

but the thing here is, all the other pax got off with light injury except the deceased. Makes one wonder if the deceased wear seat belt at all.

seatbelt may or may not save you depending on circumstances

Another thing to note when buying a car... if you car is solid with good crash test result, you might not kill someone if you have an accident, and your penalty might not be so severe.

sure, if you are the passenger but if the accident involved knocking into a pedestrain or another vehicle instead then the other party may pass on too/ there is 2 sides to a coin.

Poly student gets maximum fine for negligent driving He was also banned from driving for five years for causing passenger's death. By Elena Chong, Court Correspondent A MOTORIST was taking his passengers home late one evening when it skidded, went up a centre road divider and overturned on the opposite side of the road.

A rear right passenger died about two months after the June 15, 2006 accident.

On Monday, second-year polytechnic student Shawn Goh Jin Fa, 24, was given the maximum fine of $10,000 and banned from driving for five years for causing the death of Mr Taqdir Buang, 23, through his negligence.

One of the two other passengers was treated as an outpatient while the other was given two weeks' medical leave.

A district court heard that Goh was driving on the extreme right lane of Clementi Road at about 11.30pm when he drove negligently and lost control of the car while overtaking a car from the left side of that car.

His car went up the road divider, hit a metal railing and overturned on the centre lane of the three-lane road on the opposite side.

Mr Taqdir suffered serious head injuries and died 64 days later in hospital on Aug 18.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/...ory_187728.html

clementi... singapore or ngee ann?

if u commit murder, u will be hanged.

this is to tell you to use ur car if u wan to kill someone so you can jus get away with fines or probably short term jail holidays only.