Lufu 1st Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Highest pay goes to the President. And he does hardly anything!Cur ribbons, shake the people's hands, carry babies for phototaking, etc perhaps? He's the ultimate authority to check on the Govt. Especially if anything goes wrong, he has the greatest responsibility. Only reasonable to award high salary for such great responsibility ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 These people don't have much choice man... Nobody in Singapore does... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arcim Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 digress abit...but i still cannot get over how Mr Prataman behaved like a kid when Beckham and Man Utd played at the National Stadium...the sight of him all wide-eyed and going after Beckham... seriously, do u think anything punitive will happen to our President if the Government do screw up? At most resign from office nia...but by then....pockets filled with tonnes of 'peanuts' liao... btw, u forgot to include the following very difficult and extremely taxing duties: - attend dinner/lunch functions - public holiday MUST on duty (open house) - award people with medals - nod his head at NDPs to commence parade the list goes on...sibeh siong wan ok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 66% didnt complian why why do we complain? NNB.... bcos we aren't that 66.6% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 'We are careful to link rewards closely to performance. We have increased the proportion of annual salary that is variable. At the senior levels as much as 50 per cent of the annual salary is now performance-based,' he said. So who does the appraisal? you never know got such thing as self appraisal one meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 I shed tears when i hear this pce of news. many S'porean are struggling to fight inflation, trying to survive each day, trying to save 10 cents & 20 cents of grocery...sad, real sad. You cannot like that say one......... they are also in the same boat as us, they are fighting inflation too hor .......... only difference is they do it by giving themselves some nice increment only mah ....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 digress abit...but i still cannot get over how Mr Prataman behaved like a kid when Beckham and Man Utd played at the National Stadium...the sight of him all wide-eyed and going after Beckham... seriously, do u think anything punitive will happen to our President if the Government do screw up? At most resign from office nia...but by then....pockets filled with tonnes of 'peanuts' liao... btw, u forgot to include the following very difficult and extremely taxing duties: - attend dinner/lunch functions - public holiday MUST on duty (open house) - award people with medals - nod his head at NDPs to commence parade the list goes on...sibeh siong wan ok lidat is call siong meh... last time those emperior at nite still must perform, 1 Jan till 31 Dec all new faces still cannot remember who is who. lidat called siong i dun mind doing at 1/2 his pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Highest pay goes to the President. And he does hardly anything!Cur ribbons, shake the people's hands, carry babies for phototaking, etc perhaps? that gentleman is sort of the key-holder our reserve (read our $$$), such important task warrants great pay........ dun pay him well, pichar your lobang how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 i wont flame u but i want to change your mindset yes, generally a good performance shld be rewarded with pay increment. but we cannot look at it singly or in isolation. 1) there can never be a 1-1 match for public sector pay vs pte sector pay because the industry is like 70% different 2) a pay increment announced 2nd time within the same year for the public sector? i don't know if any pte sector company will officially announce pay increment twice within a year. They may do it for select individual employees secretly due to strategic reason. But to do so across the board for all employees has been unheard of 3) for their pays that are already obscenely above what most people doing the same job as them are paid in other countries, i don't find the increment overdue 4) like u say, the performance indicators are vague or not transparent 5) lastly, despite the buoyant economy, there has been lots of problems existing especially for the lower class people. problems mainly from higher prices of necessities. it is not right to ignore such problems and increase their salaries simply because economic indicators or pay indicators of mainstream sectors are good. long overdue liao lah.......they could have done it the next day after GE..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 I am extremely unhappy about this news, but what can ordinary people like me do? I don't see any way our voices will ever be heard. Elections? I don't even get to vote! Walkover every time. Hot ah ... suck thumb lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 so the 2% GST increase this year....can any bright seven years old guess where it goes to????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Thats why I've been very happy to see $69 prime taxis on the road now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 (edited) Heard the joke about Mr prataman? Sinda Requires Non Alcohloic Thambi Hero After Nair Basically he get millions for being a yes-man. No wonder he has no objection Edited December 14, 2007 by Christan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilmaycry Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 I shed tears when i hear this pce of news. many S'porean are struggling to fight inflation, trying to survive each day, trying to save 10 cents & 20 cents of grocery...sad, real sad. O Really....PM Lee oso look depressed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 because he open his mouth to say he want to donate his pay increase mah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhivago 2nd Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Tomolo go back office tell my boss to increase my pay to prevent corruption. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lufu 1st Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 The previous benchmark level was 73%. This increase only puts them at 77% benchmark. They plan to hit 88% benchmark by end 2008 according to this article. What they didn't explicitly tell the reader Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparespares Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 i wont flame u but i want to change your mindset yes, generally a good performance shld be rewarded with pay increment. but we cannot look at it singly or in isolation. 1) there can never be a 1-1 match for public sector pay vs pte sector pay because the industry is like 70% different 2) a pay increment announced 2nd time within the same year for the public sector? i don't know if any pte sector company will officially announce pay increment twice within a year. They may do it for select individual employees secretly due to strategic reason. But to do so across the board for all employees has been unheard of 3) for their pays that are already obscenely above what most people doing the same job as them are paid in other countries, i don't find the increment overdue 4) like u say, the performance indicators are vague or not transparent 5) lastly, despite the buoyant economy, there has been lots of problems existing especially for the lower class people. problems mainly from higher prices of necessities. it is not right to ignore such problems and increase their salaries simply because economic indicators or pay indicators of mainstream sectors are good. this is absolutely true. while the economy is looking good, esp if you look at the official numbers, there are way too many people suffering now than before. there are too many leakages in the singapore economy, so even if you see excellent headline numbers, the masses don't really benefit that much, save for a few sectors. even within a particular sector which is performing well, if you are in the wrong department, you will not be paid as well. for eg, while the financial sector is performing phenomenally. if you compare the pay of someone in private banking/investment banking vs branch banking, it is painfully obvious who gets most of the dough. Which is why in my original message, I did mention that I particularly liked what the WP proposed during the last GE - peg minister's pay to multiples (e.g. 100x) of the mean income of the lowest 20% of the population. Hence, when the lower income's pay improves, ministers gain = win - win, and brings them back to the true meaning of being PUBLIC SERVICE SERVANT. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...