Sparespares Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 I think I might get flamed for saying this: I have no problem with their pay rise, considering the overall good job that the current govt is doing. Just think back to year 2001 - 2003. Similarly, I have no problem with the performance bonus that they want to pay out, as I have seen how much more the private sector can give. However, I do think that the appriasal is not transparent. I think it should be clearly articulated at the beginning of the work year and then debated and approved at parliament. For e.g., Manpower minsiter should set unemployment target @ <3% = 6 months, <2% = 9 months etc Similar, I would like to know how come ministers can be fired, should they not deliver against their commit. E.g. when HDB had millions of build but unsold flats, shouldn't the National Development minister be asked to be held responsible? In pte sector, with so much stagnant finished goods inventory, heads would have rolled. I particular liked what the WP proposed last GE, peg pay of govt to certain times (e.g. 100x) of mean income of the lowest 20% of the population. This way, when the lower income improve, govt gets paid more = win - win. I believe this is a more transparent way- adopting the private sectors' pay without adopting their overall performance management practises is flawed arguemnt. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 The above congratulatory message is brought to you by the ah soh that sold you your vegetables in the market, the grumpy bus service 184 driver, the meat packer at the local supermarket, the clerk working her butt of at a MNC, the aircon salesman trying to make ends meet, the mother who has to put up with all the shat that her boss is throwing at her so that she can keep her job...etc. Please add to the list... sad to say, these are the very ppl who believe in them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 I am extremely unhappy about this news, but what can ordinary people like me do? I don't see any way our voices will ever be heard. Elections? I don't even get to vote! Walkover every time. Hot ah ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 I agree with you. I feel there is to be a more transparent system on how the ministers are graded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 The only way is to use your vote. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 welcome to singapore http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNew...1213-41009.html Ministers, top civil servants to get 4% to 21% in 2nd pay rise Lynn Lee Thu, Dec 13, 2007 The Straits Times SINGAPORE ministers and top civil servants will start the New Year with a second round of pay increase, ranging from 4 per cent to 21 per cent. Under the revised salary package announced by the Public Service Division (PSD) on Thursday, ministers at the starting grade will take home $1.94 million next year - an increase of 21 per cent over this year's $1.6 million. MPs and administrative officers - the elite of the civil service - will see their salaries going up by around 4 per cent. With the revision, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's pay of $3.1 million this year will go up to about $3.7 million. President SR Nathan will get about $3.8 million - up from the $3.2 million he's getting this year. As for Members of Parliament, they will get an allowance of $225,000 a year - a 4 per cent jump. The changes come after the first round of pay hikes in April, when the Government also announced that civil service salaries would be adjusted over time to keep pace with private sector benchmarks. Minister-in-charge of the Civil Service Teo Chee Hean said on Thursday that the move was in keeping with April's announcement. 'Public sector salaries move up and down with the market. In this tight labour market, private sector salaries have moved up significantly, as the benchmark figures show. The service needs to follow promptly in order to attract and retain good people,' said Mr Teo, who is also the Defence Minister. But he noted that actual pay would still be tied to performance. This includes individual performance and how the economy does. 'We are careful to link rewards closely to performance. We have increased the proportion of annual salary that is variable. At the senior levels as much as 50 per cent of the annual salary is now performance-based,' he said. This change is good news for political, judicial and statutory appointment-holders, as well as the 230-strong elite Administrative service. Their pay increases will come in the form of a higher monthly salary and a fatter performance bonus. For instance, Ministers at the entry grade of MR4 will get an average of nine months performance bonus, on top of the GDP bonus, which can fall between three and eight months, depending on econommic growth. In a statement, the PSD said that this round of changes would bring MR4 salaries to 77 per cent of the private sector benchmarks, to which it is pegged. The April revisions had brought it to 73 per cent of th benchmark. The benchmark is set at two-thirds of the median pay of the top eight earners in banking, law, engineering adn accountancy, as well as employees of multinational corporations and local manufacturers. It was $2.2 million this year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Mainly the 66.6% are the Aunties/Uncles who do not work and just use their CPF or some old working population thinking they owe their bread and butter to LKY. Yes it's true LKY brought us up to what we have now, stable and low crime rate economy but i feel now it's different, it seems to be getting out of hand, ERP, GST, Price hikes. Whatever.................. Too bad, most of us stay in HDB, everyone scared no lift, no upgrading, no house to stay in. Not like other countries where mostly are private development. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 i am getting a pay increment of about 6-7% come next year... but then i no top civil servant.. only low civil servant niah... PAP rules! So cool!!! which Public board you working in? Can i join? got opening anot? I very cheap one because i from private sector leh. I think next trend is everyone wanna go public sector liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 with our salaries that hardly had an increment of 2-4% per annum and the rising of inflation that comes with 7-10% or even more, how to keep up with the pace. my OC had a 7% increase in pay and an additional one time adjustment of 20% of her pay. so eefectively her pay jumped 27%. and she joined the company in May this year and got the adjustment in Oct this yr. How i wish i work in her company Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 The only way is to use your vote. My side every GE walkover one. How to use my vote. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legend Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 wow 27% increment. erh can help me ask whether got any vacanices anot than we go interview together. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 i wont flame u but i want to change your mindset yes, generally a good performance shld be rewarded with pay increment. but we cannot look at it singly or in isolation. 1) there can never be a 1-1 match for public sector pay vs pte sector pay because the industry is like 70% different 2) a pay increment announced 2nd time within the same year for the public sector? i don't know if any pte sector company will officially announce pay increment twice within a year. They may do it for select individual employees secretly due to strategic reason. But to do so across the board for all employees has been unheard of 3) for their pays that are already obscenely above what most people doing the same job as them are paid in other countries, i don't find the increment overdue 4) like u say, the performance indicators are vague or not transparent 5) lastly, despite the buoyant economy, there has been lots of problems existing especially for the lower class people. problems mainly from higher prices of necessities. it is not right to ignore such problems and increase their salaries simply because economic indicators or pay indicators of mainstream sectors are good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 The PM says he will donate the increase to charity. First time heard take $ from people and give back to people is considered charity. AO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 World-class pay for world-class public service for world-class country. Excellent, now where do I puke. world class toylet at world class airport lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 so performance + GDP bonus can possibly adds up to 17month bonus??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Similarly, I have no problem with the performance bonus that they want to pay out, as I have seen how much more the private sector can give. Annual salary getting in millions of S$ and this kind of performance bonus ... no problems? 9 months perf bonus based on annual salary of 2-3mil or 30-100K is a big difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 they think this is modern day robin hood. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...