Ministers, top civil servants to get 4% to 21% in 2nd pay rise

Metalslug

No choice as govt knows in group they conquer with GRC technique.cut oppostion into small piece and focus in those are only,the rest confirm chop win one.With our first elected president gone, nobody is really elected by the people by voting nowaday. [thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

if such talents chose $$$ over public service, we dont need their svc to the nation ... shakehead.gif

police interview...

interviewer : So what inspire you to join the police force and be a police officer? To uphold justice?

interviewee : So that can make more money lah! thats what the PM, SM said, pay to retain talent!!

I wonder why there's SM, MM posts? Isn't a PM who is doing his job is good enuf?

It's like the money is too good to give up so create these posts...but of coz they get satisfaction in seeing "growth"..and bigger satisfaction in easy money.

I get satisfaction in doing my job and making customer happy...but my boss won't give me million dollar pay package.laugh.gif

In fact, company keep saying I'm overpaid and try to reduce increment every year.

Highest pay goes to the President. And he does hardly anything!

Cur ribbons, shake the people's hands, carry babies for phototaking, etc perhaps?

dun like that...when he retire, he no need to set up mamak stall. [:p]

i absolutely agree the main purpose when someone choose the path to be a politician is to serve the people. while they can't be paid shabbily, the benchmarking to top earners in the private sector really don't cut it for me. put them in the private sector, let's see if any of them could be earning half as much. trust me, i'm not bitching about what they are paid. if the problems and sufferings i see now among the masses can be resolved, i would be the first guy to put up my hand and say pay them MORE!!!!!

it does pain me to see people suffer. whenever i see old folks going from table to table to sell tissue papers, my heart sank. i'm lucky to be living a comfortable life, but it becomes so hollow when so many others are suffering.

no mah...lao goh say he can earn 50% (1 million) more if he is in the private sector.

i say get your butt out and go work in the private sector, not GLCs/ Stat Board (grazing ground for old horses).

Better than wasting tax payers' money and jiak hong to vietnam and then passing off obvious "advice" like you need better transport links and getting club med in. a kockatoo or chimp can do the same for lifetime supply of seeds/ bananas.

Edited by Sabian

Btw who propose the pay rise? PAP themselves? [lipsrsealed]

ever read robert kiyosaki's book rich dad poor dad?

one famous quote.. biz owners..."pay yourselves first"

My feeling is that these days the government is seeing itself as a business first rather than as a government.

As a business you should have high revenue ... ... ... this and that. And the people in Singapore are their customers. They try to increase the population to 6.5 million to increase their customer so as to continue to make their business viable... ...

Then they pay themselves.

But question: If our ministers were to quit their minister job and try to get a job in the private sector, what pay would they really command?

MMmmm....... they will have companies like tomasak, Sinktel, STing, etc.........they are all like sugarcane machine.....and we r the sugarcanes.......own people eat own people........anyway, i want to cry when i see them wearing so basic when like casio watch, white track shoe white short sleeve shirt n ah pak pant......but inside all the diamonds superman underwear........sxxt them

But question: If our ministers were to quit their minister job and try to get a job in the private sector, what pay would they really command?

think we'll never know their worthiness in the real private sector (not some GLC). [lipsrsealed]

SM Goh said: "First, can we earn more than this? I'm prepared to say I can earn more than this. Even in today's context,...the Senior Minister's pay is not too bad, it's over S$2 million. But if I were outside, I can earn more than this. I am confident I can earn more than S$3 million. But over the years, sense of public service, because we do get satisfaction in producing growth, wealth for other people."

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

So confident then GO lor... so plain simple also need to form commiittee to assess ah?

And then if it's a 'sense of public service', all the more there's no need for such a pay hike.Their pay is not at the level of have-then-can-live, don't-have-cannot-live, we are talking about their pay going from can-live-very-well to can-live-EXTREMELY-well.... How much can a bowl of bar chor mee inflat to? The high pay can work to attract 'talents' who are only interested in money, the kind that does NOT get "satisfaction in production growth, wealth for other people". I can do without THAT kind of leadership.

One comment was very correct tho, this is not gonna win the PM any votes .... more like lose some. Unless these attracted/retained 'talents' who are soOOOoo concerned with production growth and wealth for other people (like ME?!) start showing some results, they better don't count on my vote .... [mad]

What bar chor mee,...... how would they know... they are probably having buddha jump over the wall every other day, while on some days will be kobe beef and alaskan crab..... cooked by renowned japanese chef, or whatever high end food you and I have never even heard of....

They don't even know that mee siam do not have hum...... what bar chor mee....

Talk so much about being on the ground!!!!!!!