Cheekg98 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 dont be an ordinary civil servant ... be a top civil servant ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 i say workers party, u believe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 (edited) 高薪养廉? or 贪得无厌? Edited December 15, 2007 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 yupz ... not many can understand these poor pple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheerios Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 (edited) join me as a civil servant.. cum take ur pick, whether or not u actually can get it is another issue altogether https://app.vog.gov.sg/Presentation/HotJobs.aspx Edited December 15, 2007 by Cheerios Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheerios Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 i got no brains... easily contented wor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 Nobody will b left behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arcim Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 Civil service pay hike is to retain and attract younger talents: SM Goh By Ca-Mie De Souza, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 15 December 2007 1936 hrs Photos 1 of 1 SM Goh Chok Tong (2nd from left) SINGAPORE : Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said the latest civil service pay hike is aimed at retaining and attracting younger officers. He said the Prime Minister and others Ministers were concerned about the timing of this salary hike, given the state of rising inflation in Singapore. Even though the hike was already announced in Parliament in April, the latest announcement gave specifics to the annual wage increases for the top brass. SM Goh said: "PM discussed this. I mean he wanted my view. So I said proceed, it's not going to be popular, you're not going to win votes with this. But proceed." Mr Goh explained the increase is necessary: "I want to emphasise that the Ministers are less concerned about their own salaries. Of course one can argue that the salaries must be pegged to those at the top. But the Ministers are not too concerned because their salaries I would say is quite attractive. But we are concerned about the civil servants now and the next generation of people whom we are trying to target to become Ministers." He cited the example of former Minister of State Cedric Foo who has returned to the private sector on better terms. Mr Goh, who is also Chairman of the Monetary Authority of Singapore, said he has seen the Board lose its talents to banks, and even the SGX. He also noted that this increase does not lessen the sense of public service. SM Goh said: "First, can we earn more than this? I'm prepared to say I can earn more than this. Even in today's context,...the Senior Minister's pay is not too bad, it's over S$2 million. But if I were outside, I can earn more than this. I am confident I can earn more than S$3 million. But over the years, sense of public service, because we do get satisfaction in producing growth, wealth for other people." Mr Goh also noted that, in this review, Singapore is not comparing itself with other countries. - CNA/ch -------------------------------------------------------------------------- TCSS lor....increase their own pay then say they dun really give a sh*t about the increase...its for others... PM asked SM for advice...wayang party...of cos proceed now lah...if not wait till later when go into recession then too late to increase mah He quoted Cedric Foo...but then he could have opted to leave cos no chance to be full minister...sort of like hentak kaki...who knows the truth? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 (edited) He cited the example of former Minister of State Cedric Foo who has returned to the private sector on better terms. Then, Cedric Foo shouldn't be in the public service in the very first place. We didn't vote for him, and he was probably hand-picked. What a decision to have invited him in. Edited December 15, 2007 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arcim Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 SM Goh said: "First, can we earn more than this? I'm prepared to say I can earn more than this. Even in today's context,...the Senior Minister's pay is not too bad, it's over S$2 million. But if I were outside, I can earn more than this. I am confident I can earn more than S$3 million. But over the years, sense of public service, because we do get satisfaction in producing growth, wealth for other people." ------------------------------------------------------------------------- Ask Ah Goh why we still need a Minister Mentor and Senior Minister if the PM and his bunch of 'high performing' ministers can do the job? If they really deserve such high pay, they shouldn't be needing to go to the two for advice or require more 'mentoring'. Imagine how many people can be fed from the salaries of the two ex-PMs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 if such talents chose $$$ over public service, we dont need their svc to the nation ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheerios Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 yeah.... more good years ahead.. and hehe.. going to cross the 6k mark soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheerios Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 you mean me, but i no public service.. i working in stat board.. welcome to join me https://app.vog.gov.sg/Presentation/HotJobs.aspx come on lah... everyone works for what? of coz money $$$$, dun tell me u work in private sector not becoz of money? $$$ at the end, its boils down to $$$$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheerios Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 aiya, you jealous.. then run for politcs lah.. just dun end up like dr dun know what.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 so, they getting rid of dead woods? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheerios Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 read papers ... those top CEO and professionals are heading the asia pac, europe or even global operations of their company. our ministers are just taking care of small singapore ... how to peg their minister pay to them ?? need to rework their compensation model ? dun be internet hero... join politcs lah... too bad, me small fry.. not interested and no ambition one... happy being a small fry in stat board Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arcim Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 'run for politics'...hmmmm....most of the so called 'talented' MPs know nuts about politics. More like educated and knowing the right people in the right places...and jumping on the right bus which is the farcical GRC system and getting into parliament without merit. I dun think most of these MPs can look you in the eye and say they deserve what they get until a time when each and everyone of them gets in via a fair fight...ie via the peoples' votes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheerios Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 well, those who cannot perform... you will find them vanishing after 1 term.. http://www.mas.gov.sg/careers/career_op/index.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...