Typhoonz 4th Gear December 13, 2007 Share December 13, 2007 Must be man... Was watching it for about 5 mins after my loo break from my movie marathon... Mark wasn't very enthusiastic in his commentary... Was feeling that he was just trying to get over the match and that's it... By the time I tuned in Singapore was 2 - 0 down... I was thinking to myself, liao already lor... At the back of my mind I was thinking it'll be a totally different situation if the original Lions were playing... The likes of Sundram, Malek Awab, Fandi, Saswa, Lim Tong Hai, Steven Tan and even Jang Jung... THAT would be a good match... I too felt that the Thais were very good and played fairly... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mlimhs 1st Gear December 13, 2007 Share December 13, 2007 Agreed, still prefer the pioneer batch. I can still remember Malek Awab selling Lotto inside the van back then MILO team when i was under18 in the 80's. His built so small & fragile but his sense of soccer AWESOME Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megatop 3rd Gear December 13, 2007 Share December 13, 2007 Sad story, even with another ten years. Singapore soccer still cannot make it. Who is this player No.22 He is a joker... instead of crossing from the corner, he dribbled the ball out himself. Got thrash 3-nil. Asean champion gotta to wake up it idea. This is my dedicated Singapore Football song. There was a time when people said that Singapore soccer cannot make it, but they really can't. ... ... ... We built a team, full of joker... ... ... Against Laos, we were shockingly poor. Laos showed much more committment and fighting spirit. And everyone was basically a head shorter than the Young Lions. Did not watch Vietnam's match. Against Malaysia, slightly better. But still poor. Against Thailand. School boys vs Professional. Our players were no match for the fitter and technically better Thais. Thailand passing is really superb. And their movement of the ball was a joy to watch. Our play is just pump long ball into the penalty box. I watched until tulan. Keep on pumping long ball. I turned off the TV after the 2nd goal. That Bahaki is slow, super rough and thinks he is damn good. Only good at heading the ball and nothing else. On the whole, I think only Amri can make it. He is always chasing after every lost cause. Long long long way to go for the Young Lions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penthousepauper Clutched December 13, 2007 Share December 13, 2007 err... should be SG vs Viet Myanmar bt viet last night i think we've got chance to bring back a bronze Fighting for bronze with a 3rd world country...... but I think the Viets are strong enuf and will take its revenge against S'pore for the 3rd and 4th placing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched December 13, 2007 Share December 13, 2007 We should have a much bigger pool of players to choose from rather now is "what is available". In the 50s, 60s, 70s and 80s, we used to see Singapore Malays, Singapore Chinese and Singapore Indians team in fiery competition with our neighbours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear December 13, 2007 Share December 13, 2007 Yup... Liked Malek Awab the best... He's being refered to as the "Dynamo"... He way he sprints down the right flank and can make crosses from the tightest of spaces... Amazing player... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear December 13, 2007 Share December 13, 2007 if SG can play like they did against the thais in the first 20 mins. then should have no problem beating vietnam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fddd Neutral Newbie December 13, 2007 Share December 13, 2007 So shock to read that our best players for selection still lose to the region.It just mean one thing-Would there be a miracle with local talents and not depend so much on FT? Are with plain incompetitive as being a footballer is not as glamour as a bizman with high net worth? The society is sick with the only thought of chasing more $$$$$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 well SG cant be good in everything eg water polo where SG is quite strong, but i see in the recent years, the other SEA countries are catching up maybe if we train our soccer player at a younger age, it might help. and also get more chinese and indians involved football is still ok, nv over rely on FT. table tennis rely on FT a lot. anyway the govt encourage FTs .. in sports and commerce Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 How many medals are we left with after we minus off those won by them FTs... Not much... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 dunno leh... nv count but i guess u can minus those won by table tennis and maybe some in athletics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny3664 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 singapore soccer sucks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Maybe left with less that 20 medals? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 maybe.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 Singapore overall numer 6 in medals table now last 3 place..omg!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 I think we have 6 golds coming from Sailing today. All of them in 1st position going into the last day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 SG was still in 2nd last week. then early this week dropped to 5th... now 6th liao? so fast ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...