Pool100 1st Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 (edited) Now that taxis are going to cost a bomb... I foresee many executives currently taking taxis to start considering getting a car. This fare hike is quite jialat... and many will feel the pinch of taking taxis. Last weekend already saw packed crowds at major car dealers like Borneo, Kah motors and even korean brands like Kia etc... (most probably due to return from holiday, fat bonuses, CNY etc) Now with this blow of taxi costs increasing, I won't be surprised another horde of crowd start streaming into showrooms to look at cars. I think next round COE for cat A sure explode upwards. My friends at the major car dealers also feel the same. I got one fren at Borneo closed more than 10 deals over the last weekend... quite a significant jump from previous months. I think those who want to book cars better do so fast cos once the quotas hit, car dealers will start increasing the prices (to accommodate for higher COEs)! Edited December 11, 2007 by Pool100 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 taxi ass* instigating other operators to up their rates.. and here, u come instigate pple to buy cars. book earlier got free or discount meh? if u taking taxi when working and company pay, just continue lor. otherwise come fr ur pocket one u dun hv to take mah.. it's not even a life- death issue. still got other form of public transport. dun buy car lah.. buy car will only cause more jams = more ERP hike, = $$. i mean dun encourage them. pai tok... dun turn their taxi problem into a problem for other road users. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pool100 1st Gear December 11, 2007 Author Share December 11, 2007 (edited) erm... I'm just discussing a topic that is a possibility... where got instigate people to buy car? If people want to buy car they just buy lor... I can't instigate them to buy... and I got nothing to gain! I also dun want to have all the traffic jams etc... but it's just a fact of the situation so just discussing lor... Edited December 11, 2007 by Pool100 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 (edited) The people affected most by hikes are people who work in CBD. So if it becomes expensive, they will just have to take MRT. Coe will rebound a bit but no need to kan cheong mah. Kan Cheong to take up a 10year loan to give more money to garment? The point if that whatever car you buy, esp jap car, in 3 years time another model will be launched & your car will be considered old model..or AKA invisible car. Dont u get a sian feeling if u drive the previous model Camry esp when the new model is so chio? U think that people are gonna go wow looking @ ur 3 year old car? Then when u have an old model & try to sell it away, u'll get little more than scrap price. A car is just a means of transport unless u buy a high end model like Ferrari, Lambo or Meserati. Edited December 11, 2007 by Zanter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pool100 1st Gear December 11, 2007 Author Share December 11, 2007 In Singapore people change car like change under-wear... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 hummer hummer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 why would people jump in to buy car just bcos taxi fare up? Its not like buying a car is cheap thing here. Every thing will go up in tandem. didnt u know petrol prices is up also, maybe thats why taxi fares up for one reason. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda88 Clutched December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 you only see taxi fare hike my friend. another $10b flying to UBS bank. guess what is going up next?? govt only afraid that you dun buy car,understand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azarael Clutched December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 those people who do their numbers might figure that a small Cat a car is just a bit more than the trouble and cost it takes to take taxi and mrt all the time.... trust me, cat A COE going to go up ! i feel everything in singapore will go up....the rich poor divide is just going to get wider....good thing the governenment is there to make sure it doesnt get out of hand ! but that is how things work in developed countries.......inflation, capitalism and a mature economy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 (edited) I did not study how much is the taxi fare increase but I know the 50% did not apply to all cases. And, just based on taxi fare increase, people will cheong to buy car? As for you prediction of Cat A COE goes up for next round, I agree as people has waited long enough for COE to come down to current level. Explode? Explode to where? Edited December 11, 2007 by Ahyoo2002 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pool100 1st Gear December 11, 2007 Author Share December 11, 2007 Just got news that major ADs will increase prices tomorrow. Next round COE sure go up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 hehe, if you study the trend of COE, whenever the COE premium reduce by a lot, high chance that next round COE sure goes up one. But, just like the COE plunge in Feb, COE increase for quite many round till very close to $20k and in the end, it fall back to current level. What goes up, will go down eventually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 (edited) Quote i feel everything in singapore will go up....the rich poor divide is just going to get wider....good thing the governenment is there to make sure it doesnt get out of hand ! I hope you're joking bro coz sg has one of the worst divides in the world. in comparison to other developed nations we are the last. compared to developing nations, if we're at the bottom 5 if not last. Edited December 11, 2007 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 Quote you only see taxi fare hike my friend. another $10b flying to UBS bank. guess what is going up next?? govt only afraid that you dun buy car,understand? wun increase lah... can always cook up some story and postpone annuity to 90 yr old or worst, introduce something to make depreciate what u hv left in the CPF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 Quote taxi ass* instigating other operators to up their rates.. and here, u come instigate pple to buy cars. book earlier got free or discount meh? if u taking taxi when working and company pay, just continue lor. otherwise come fr ur pocket one u dun hv to take mah.. it's not even a life- death issue. still got other form of public transport. dun buy car lah.. buy car will only cause more jams = more ERP hike, = $$. i mean dun encourage them. pai tok... dun turn their taxi problem into a problem for other road users. actually nowadays on the road there are too many vehicles. quite frustrating...everywhere JAM.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bmz3 Neutral Newbie December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 Don't worry, our government will solve the problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 Actually I do foresee that there will be a minimal effect, but it's a long short. For those who can claimed taxi fares from companies, well, if I'm the boss, I will simply remove the claim system and implement a flat transport allowance I have friends whose companies practices that now and all of them rushed to buy a car with the fixed transport allowance. And also, with increased fare for taxi, you can see a lot of people will turn to take other public transport like MRT or buses which gives the operators ammunition to call for rate hikes. With jam packed buses and MRT due to the fare hike from taxi, this will also tempt people to abandon public transport and get a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 Let's be honest...paying for the use of cabs for an entrie year cannot be equal or comes close to the cost of owning a car in Sillypore. And for your information even after this increase your cab fares are way to low compared to places like Tokyo and New York! A typical Ang Mo who works in the CBD, I know, uses cabs 4 to 5 times a day commented that cabs here are "DIRT CHEAP'!..You go figure that out! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...