How to breed generation of brats

Togas

Be glad that you are not in some countries like NZ... they spanking is outlawed. I heard you will risk your child being taken away by the social help there... [sweatdrop]

Disciplinary action is outlawed.. [dead] I think separating the child from their parents is more cruel that what they considered 'child abuse'. [sweatdrop]

well, law is always a double edged sword.... it really protects children who are physically abused by parents or guardians... i'm sure you've also read about kids/babies being tortured to death because they don't stop crying or can't seek help?

I don't think canning is the only effective way of bringing up kids. Both my wife and I were not brought like that and we are fine. We believe to teach the kids that violent is not the only way to solve problem. We reason with them, explain to them, etc....which takes a lot of time to get the message across to them...but once it got to them, they will understand their mistake much better than canning.

We also seldom raise our voice at out child...cos there is no need to. We'll just talk to our child in a calm but firm manner and that will calm the child down and we'll tell her what she did wrong, etc...

I'm not saying that canning is not effective. What I'm saying is that it is not the only effective way to bring up a 'good' child. I'm sure many drug addicts, loan sharks, gangsters, etc..were brought up by the canning method...which had not have positive effect on them.

I feel that canning and shouting at our kids could sometimes lead us to complacency....thinking that it is a 'quick-fix' and that the child has 'learned' his/her mistake...just cos he/she is quiet and looks 'repented' after that.

I agree with you .... that canning is not the only way to discipline the kids.

If the kid is teachable and willing to listen .... then don't need to cane liao .... but .... usually they don't wanna listen .... so then ... we'll have to "get their attention" .... [laugh][laugh]

haha remember kanna whack on ur palm by ur math teacher with coutesy lion yellow thick ruler....or worst knock at ur knuckle...sibeh painful!

nothing can replaced that memory......

i think teacher nowaday is seething to the bone with present students....

retired teacher must be smiling remembering the good old days.....

If you don't cane them as a kid, they may be caned as an adult in years to come...and that would be a far worst thing.

[sweatdrop]

Talking about brats. Just met one yesterday night. Help my friend to drive her friend + son to place yesterday night.

The kid keep on crying at the very 1st instant when step into the car. Then, keep on banging the the side mirror crying for his 'nanny', apparently, is the house maid.

His mother instead of control him, just let him bang and cry as he wants. Also, 'bride' the kid with biscuit. But, unfortunately, the kid squash the biscuit and viola...my back seats is fulled with biscuit.

During my mother's time, i will surely be splapped on butt, or tight if i made this kind of hooha....

Anyway, the kid stop crying after he aligned from my car, and even said thank you for the ride. Hahahaha... i dont know what to cry or laugh, by looking at my back seats, and him.

Actually, quite heart pain for my 'dirty' car, because its only 2 days old. hahahaha ...

"If they won't learn with logic, they WILL learn with pain!"

"If they won't learn with pain, they WILL learn with cane!"

I have 2 kids - angels become rascals at times. the pain works.

Some pampered kids.. I think will have a difficult time blending in with society when they graduate.. unless they work with the computer.. planning strategy.. [sweatdrop] JJ [laugh]

They will be too nerdy to be brats.. [:)]

think so... and more so fr the future.

I believe a big portion of the youths are brats.. Good mannerism isnt just abt some nice words tats comes out of the mouth.. its abt attitude..

Some youth had the high and mighty attitude towards others.. and I think the biggest brat of all brats are those who despise their own color and native language or culture.. or should I put it this way.. those who look down on Chinese who speaks mandarin.. Muslim who speaks malay.. Indian who speaks tamil..

I was in a restaurant.. sitting opposite were 4 women, 2 younger 2 older and a baby in tow.. 2 younger ones.. One of them check with the middle-aged waitress abt something.. apparently waitress dun understand.. so she started to speak to her in Mandarin.. they were having slight difficulty to understand each other.. She gave the kind of frustrated and disgusted look as waitress walk away.. as she'd struggle in putting her words through..

I was thinking.. must she do tat? She can ask for the captain wat? She can speak in her dialects wat.. unless she tats the one and only language she speaks? But then it becomes others' fault.. [sweatdrop]

Edited by Togas

Parents sometimes are the problem .. look ard outside and you will see those parents bo chap their child when doing wrong things or rude.

I was tot from young "Bo Gan Bey Tua Han" .. [laugh]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

I still use the old method to discipline my 'Princess' [sly]

Both 'Hard' [whip][whip][whip] & 'Soft' method... [gossip][gossip][gossip][;)]