War3craft2003 2nd Gear December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 Parents sometimes are the problem .. look ard outside and you will see those parents bo chap their child when doing wrong things or rude. I was tot from young "Bo Gan Bey Tua Han" .. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 I don't think canning is the only effective way of bringing up kids. Both my wife and I were not brought like that and we are fine. We believe to teach the kids that violent is not the only way to solve problem. We reason with them, explain to them, etc....which takes a lot of time to get the message across to them...but once it got to them, they will understand their mistake much better than canning. We also seldom raise our voice at out child...cos there is no need to. We'll just talk to our child in a calm but firm manner and that will calm the child down and we'll tell her what she did wrong, etc... I'm not saying that canning is not effective. What I'm saying is that it is not the only effective way to bring up a 'good' child. I'm sure many drug addicts, loan sharks, gangsters, etc..were brought up by the canning method...which had not have positive effect on them. I feel that canning and shouting at our kids could sometimes lead us to complacency....thinking that it is a 'quick-fix' and that the child has 'learned' his/her mistake...just cos he/she is quiet and looks 'repented' after that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iliketodrive Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 all school teachers are not allow to wack students anymore. this is very wrong. during my time, only real terror dare to fool around & so few of them. the rest all very scare of caning. we are really breeding a generation of brats ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 depends on the kid, some of them don t learn without the cane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 beat your kids, period Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 Well...i guess a lot depend on the sort of model the kid had and what sort of method was used in bringing up that child. It also depend on how much time they parents are willing to spent making the kid realized his/her mistake and how consistent the parents are at sticking to the 'rules'. Sometimes, I feel that not letting the kids have their 'favorite' activity eg. watching TV, going to the playground, etc is a more serious 'torture' and pain than canning. I attended 10yrs of all-boys school with some of it in an old fashion english boarding school. Discipline was strict, particularly in the boarding school. But those punishments often (tho not all the time) make me angry, frustrated (cos they didn't give me enough time to explain myself), etc and make me so wanted to grow bigger and stronger faster...so that I wouldn't be 'bullied' by these people, etc. It made me grew up thinking that being stronger, bigger, meaner, louder, etc...will make me a better person, better respected, etc. But lucky for me, I grew out of that sort of thinking in my late teens cos of several teachers, mentors, etc who set good example... that most problems can be solved and respect earned via the non-violent, peaceful, etc method. Even my school bullies/'gangsters' became acquaintances without me agreeing with all their acts or join their activity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 Those terrors were 'tamed' while the teachers were around and their true colour will show when the teachers are not around or outside school? That least that was true for some of my school's 'ah-beng'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Author Share December 8, 2007 Be glad that you are not in some countries like NZ... they spanking is outlawed. I heard you will risk your child being taken away by the social help there... Disciplinary action is outlawed.. I think separating the child from their parents is more cruel that what they considered 'child abuse'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Author Share December 8, 2007 So u tua han liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iliketodrive Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 ur sch ah beng very weak. my school power, shout at teacher till she cry. quarrel finish just walk out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Author Share December 8, 2007 I don't think canning is the only effective way of bringing up kids. Both my wife and I were not brought like that and we are fine. We believe to teach the kids that violent is not the only way to solve problem. We reason with them, explain to them, etc....which takes a lot of time to get the message across to them...but once it got to them, they will understand their mistake much better than canning. We also seldom raise our voice at out child...cos there is no need to. We'll just talk to our child in a calm but firm manner and that will calm the child down and we'll tell her what she did wrong, etc... I'm not saying that canning is not effective. What I'm saying is that it is not the only effective way to bring up a 'good' child. I'm sure many drug addicts, loan sharks, gangsters, etc..were brought up by the canning method...which had not have positive effect on them. I feel that canning and shouting at our kids could sometimes lead us to complacency....thinking that it is a 'quick-fix' and that the child has 'learned' his/her mistake...just cos he/she is quiet and looks 'repented' after that. Agree tat cane is nt the only effective way to discipline.. to each his own.. and to each child.. I believed there are different disciplinary methods.. Do you by the way remember every details of how your parents discipline you when you were very very young? Some parents may have cane their child when necessary but of couse din admit, hey why not, then their child became so obedient.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Author Share December 8, 2007 all school teachers are not allow to wack students anymore. this is very wrong. during my time, only real terror dare to fool around & so few of them. the rest all very scare of caning. we are really breeding a generation of brats ! Why the teachers ar not allow to discipline the hardcore terror.. yet the law of caning still exists.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Author Share December 8, 2007 depends on the kid, some of them don t learn without the cane. Some kids are gong gong.. but others say kuai kuai.. Some kids are jin kiat.. but others say smartie.. either type.. need to discipline.. with different methods.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remus Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 pampered kids nowadays play too much electronic games...be it internet or videogames...untill not street smart... me last time play when young play under the block with the neighbourhood kids. my leader is a 13 yr old chinese kid, his follower is mix of chinese indian and malay...no racial sxxt...no mc donald no kfc..thirsty go public toilet guzzle tap water..hungry steal mango, blueberry, rambutan tree. play at longkang catch fish...put all the pathetic fish in discarded condense milk can and then boil them...after that kick it though some fish is still alive...super happy day..looking back super cruel! go home mum get the wind of my activity, kena whack inside toilet till no sound cum out. to tell my mum back then to reason it to me and i think i do it 10x more haha! by then my mum die young from heart attack! so moral of the story whack 1st reason later. later in life no chance to whack ur kids... so if ur kid make other kid pregnant, shoplift, bully, glue sniffing etc..still wanna reason with them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 Disciplinary action is outlawed.. I think separating the child from their parents is more cruel that what they considered 'child abuse'. Agree... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 ur sch ah beng very weak. my school power, shout at teacher till she cry. quarrel finish just walk out.Maybe...but my school's teacher will not cry....only 1 old hag. My boarding school 'ah-beng' will not have the choice of walking out...cos they still have to eat and sleep in school. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 Now...want to find a decent lokang also not easy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 Dun ask OCBC, ask Nus24. :) you and your.. wats OCBC got to do with.. hopefully someone could share with us.. perhaps OCBC is kind enough to share with you then ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...