Togas Neutral Newbie December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 Letter from Joseph Khoo I was from an all-boys school that used caning as one of the means of disciplining. I can assure you that boys who were caned tried their best to stay out of trouble after that. Dr Benjamin Spock, the well-known child psychologist, warned the babyboomer generation of parents that they should not discipline their children because such actions could warp a kid's fragile ego and harm the generation to come. However, before his death in 1998, Dr Spock made an amazing urnaround: He realised that he had been wrong. He said: "We have reared a generation of brats. Parents aren't firm enough with their children for fear of losing their love or incurring their resentment." While not advocating widespread canning as the main method of disciplining errant male and female students, I am convinced it is still an effective way to impose discipline. We must enforce discipline while striving for a delicate balance: While we do not want to raise children in an atmosphere of paralysing fear, we also do not want to unintentionally breed a generation of brats. We have breed a generation of brats? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 Pampered kids = Mostly brats... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 (edited) try living next to a school and you would understand the definition of brats.. Edited December 7, 2007 by Beei Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 My take --> Kids should be treated the way dogs are trained to behave. Spank when mistakes are made. Reason after the spanking. Spanking should be tough and hard. No softies allowed. Of course you dont send them to horsepeter either. They will learn what is right and what is wrong after that. This must be done before 3 yrs of age because they have no idea of right and wrong. Tough love and lots of heartache when you spank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 yah agree, look at my daughters, i wont hesitate to wrack them if they make any mistake when they were just 2 yrs old n now (4 yrs old & 3 yrs old), whenever they make mistake, i dun even need to say anything. just stare at them and they will stop doing any funny things... my wife on the other hand pampered them a lot and now??? shout and shout like a mad women also no use... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 one has to play the bad guy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 Dun ask OCBC, ask Nus24. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 mai gong jiao weh lah KOTEK!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 My take --> Kids should be treated the way dogs are trained to behave. Spank when mistakes are made. Reason after the spanking. Spanking should be tough and hard. No softies allowed. Of course you dont send them to horsepeter either. They will learn what is right and what is wrong after that. This must be done before 3 yrs of age because they have no idea of right and wrong. Tough love and lots of heartache when you spank. I agree with your method. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vyap Clutched December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 yeah.........me too, all boys school,, canning is part of it to build moral & strong character! No pain no gain.... if my kids get out-of-line.... I use the cane too. even for my little 20 months old twin babies... (but using the newspaper with moderate force hor as still babies... got to be very careful.. no brats around in the house! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 I agree. When kids behave badly, they must be disciplined properly in order to instill the correct values in them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Author Share December 8, 2007 Pampered kids = Mostly brats... That I totally agree.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Author Share December 8, 2007 You mean uni? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Author Share December 8, 2007 Kids should be discipline, spank or caned.. 三岁定终身。。 another old saying.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Author Share December 8, 2007 Dun ask OCBC, ask Nus24. :) you and your.. wats OCBC got to do with.. hopefully someone could share with us.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 8, 2007 Author Share December 8, 2007 yeah.........me too, all boys school,, canning is part of it to build moral & strong character! No pain no gain.... if my kids get out-of-line.... I use the cane too. even for my little 20 months old twin babies... (but using the newspaper with moderate force hor as still babies... got to be very careful.. no brats around in the house! No pain no gain.. they must feel the pain.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 Be glad that you are not in some countries like NZ... they spanking is outlawed. I heard you will risk your child being taken away by the social help there... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear December 8, 2007 Share December 8, 2007 Bo Pak Bey Tua Han .... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...