Dexlee

PS3 or Xbox 360?  

38 members have voted

1. 1.

• PS3
    • Xbox 360
    • Wii
    • Better save my $ and spent else where

Thinking to replace my PS2... which one to you guys think and why?

Dun think I will connect online though..

instead of recommending which is better for you.maybe i do a simple breakdown for you on both.

xbox360

-------

1)wireless controller which uses either optional rechargable batteries or AA batteries.

2)no hdmi output unless its the lastest elite version

3)very prone to overheating problems

4)red ring of death

5)bulky power supply

6)changable face plates

7)certain games are still region locked

8)xbox live contents and online gaming requires credits which means you have to pay

9)no wirless lan inbuilt

10)HD DVD drive is optional and it costs almost $300

11)able to stream contents from pc using media connect

12)its from micro$oft

PS3

-----

1)choice of glossy black or white 40GB version

2)bluetooth wireless technology built-in

3)inbuilt wireless lan so u can connect using ur wireless router

4)inbuilt card reader for ms,sd and cf card

5)HDMI output supports 1080p

6)upscales your ps2/ps1 and dvd movies

7)plays bluray movies

8)bluetooth wireless controller cannot use AA/AAA batteries

9)no dual shock 3 in standard package

10)6 axis sensor

11)cost cheaper than many bluray players out there.

12)games are region free

13)remote play your psp

14)able to stream contents from your pc

15)Gran turismo 5HD and upcoming final fantasy series.

16)its a sony.

i have both and the xbox 360 is my 3rd exchanged set since i got it in march 06.now awaiting for arrangement for my exchange on 11th dec as my 360 encounters the red ring of death.but do have some games which are nice which made me keep the 360

so its up to u which exclusive games attracts u more and that will prolly make u side either one.

pc gaming is too much of a hassle.a 8800GTX card already cost more than ps3 with a couple of games.

You're a PS2 gamer then I'm sure you had fun with PS2 exclusives like MGS2/3, GT3/4, GOW/2 and many others.

Then it's only logical that you get the PS3 ;)

If you're an Xbox gamer then the 360 will do.

So far the 360 excel in it's price, game library and it's matured Xbox live network.

But the PS3 game library are slowly catching up with major exclusives coming out next year. The Playstation Network is slow picking up too and the best is it's FREE! PS3 may be expensive but it's got cheaper Blu-ray drive you can ever get, the cheapest delicated blu-ray player is already 800+, might as well get PS3 right?

But if I were you, I'd hold my horses first. I'm waiting for killer games like MGS4 and GT5 to come then I whack the set....Who know the PS3 bundle while be more worth it.

Alot of gamers are gunning on the PS3, but they are playing the waiting game first.

Notice I never mention Wii? That's for casual gamers only! hardcore gamers know better to stay clear from them, unless they got alot of $$ to spare.

Another thing to note is that although both Xbox 360 and PS3 support HDMI output, the 360's HDMI is actually upscaled while the PS3 projects true 1080ps HD resolution.

You just need to compare the graphics of the demo-station of Xbox 360 and PS3 in those shopping centers, you'll see the difference.

Ok, I base on a few things to put PS3 on a more preferred choice.

1) Bluray. This alone is worth every penny on PS3. Standalone set will costs around 1.9k. New models around 1.4k

2) Cell processors. Most powerful on the market.

3) Install sub OS like Linux and its supported (Yellowdog Linux)

4) Works together with PSP wirelessly

5) Plugs in USB Keyboard and mouse and it becomes a web browser.

6) supports 1080p/24 true cinemagraphy standard. (source of films are recorded and displayed in 24fps format)

7) Upscale DVDs

8) Upscale music playback

9) Streaming from remote storage for music, videos and photos.

Rgds

Thinking to replace my PS2... which one to you guys think and why?

Dun think I will connect online though..

You would definitely wanna connect online. Even not for playing online games, you wanna get online to download game demos before buying. And downloading the latest firmware to increase the capability of your PS3.

Both Stranglehold and COD4 is on PS3. PS3 is cheaper than a CPU capable of playing COD4, and yet a friend who played COD4 on PC, found that the PS3 gfx is much superior. The only reason to get a PC is to play Crysis. [sweatdrop] By the way, dual 8800GT SLi, still cant run crysis in max quality settings.

Yes! Highly recommended!! The first day I brought home my PS3, plug it into my TV with the included AV cables, I was so disappointed!! It looks like PS2 gfx. By that time it was already 6:30pm, immediately rushed to Sim lim and got myself the PS3 Component cables and a component to D Sub(VGA) adapter, to plug into my monitor. And the difference was amazing!!

Are your PS2 games originals and jap version? If not, dun bother abt the 60gb or 80gb PS3, just go for the 40gb and use that $150 savings to upgrade to a 160gb HDD. If it is.... try to find a 60gb version, as it has the Emotion Engine chip in it, unlike 80gb is a software emulation and no EE chip.

Hello..me oso in such dilemna...

Thinking of buying PS3 or Wii or Xbox360

xbox360 & wii is high on my list coz can play friendly games..

fear xbox360 coz of the Red Ring of death,esp after mod..cannot claim warranty..

wii not HD quality but considering coz of the interactivity & family type of games..

PS3 i love it..

but only set back..cannot mod..1 game cost like $70.. [:p]

how ah..mayb can work out a PS3 games exchange program..

but my tv is still CRT type, is it necessary to change to plasma or lcd?

Advisable to change to high definition LCD for better gaming experience. I bought a new 32" LCD to replace the old 21" CRT TV to enjoy my xbox360 in my room. Can see big graphics difference between LCD & CRT.

My friend wants to buy a PS3 instead of xbox360 because of better graphics, but his TV is CRT. I tell him then in this case no point, no matter how good the game console can be, CRT TV can never bring out the best graphics of the console.

Actually I have been thinking of getting a PS3, but understand that the BD player can only play selected region movies and games.

Would wana know more about it like pricing and such, where can get good deal... blah blah blah...

Hope you can help [:)]

as far as BD playback its coded as region A.means:

- North America

- Central America

- South America

- Korea

- Japan

- South East Asia

so in other words , most of the bd we can find here or in amazon we can play it in our ps3.

as for game playback.i think its not region locked .so far all the games i've got , be it R1 , R2 (jap)/(asia) , R2(pal) all have no problems with it.

i have no idea where to get lobang for it as i've got mine last year july/aug from sony gallery .mine's the 6GB version btw.hope it helps.