What is the definition and standard of spaciosuness in sedan?

Kelpie

step1: simply push the two front seat all the way to the back.

step2: get into the rear seat your self.

result 1 : if you have diffculty getting in, forget about this ride.

result 2 : if your knee touch the front seat, acceptance level is subjective.

result 3 : if your knee have allowance or rooms to play, then [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup].

And this what i have did for Civi,Sylphy,Altis, Lancer EX...

Try yourself...

The rear knee room depends on the design of the front seats also.

I believe Lexus redesigned the front seats for the new IS250 because of this.

Yeah. Want more rear leg room? Simply change to bucket seats. You'll find that it gives significantly more leg room compared to stock seats.

Aiya I think all these stuff about spaciousness is very perceptive. Some ppl find that more room on top equals "spacious", some find more room sideways "spacious" and some find more legroom "spacious".

And all these depends on the size of your passengers too. Whoever is unfortunate to have family members all at least a size L can ferry only 4 at most comfortably for sure. Don't even talk about 5.

i am driving a Sylphy now. The cabin space is simply amazing. I made comparisons with other similar class sedans and nothing comes even close to the space at the rear.

forget about those local car reviews telling you the car got lots of room etc. those guys are a biased lot. you yourself is the best judge of whether the car is right for you.

I flip all the cars cataloge, all will say the same thing, spacious, comfort, quiet, fuel efficient. Really misleading.

Edited by Curahee

that's why i always say do not subscribe to these mags. just browse around in the bookshops and then put the mags back in the shelving.

Well there are still other cars which are spacious if rear flat floor, in particular, is what you are looking for.

For Cat A, I would choose toyota Vios/Belta or even Axio (if budget allows. I think they have about the same legroom as Civic. I don't think Civic is very spacious. Totyota Allion is even more spacious. Regards.

u mentioned "Vios" in this been spacious context?

u are dreaming, my friend........

tell me, which part of the car is spacious?

Thanks for your comments.

You would notice that the context in which I made the statement the vios is spacious was in relation to a CAT A budget car, which has rear flat floor and good legroom. Though the legroom is fairly good, I admit that new Vios dun have good headroom. Probably overall the car is too small for your liking. But to people like me, it is acceptable considering it is a budget car. I am aware that there are more spacious cars like latio and sylphy but these cars are not 'rear-passengers friendly', a criteria stipulated by the thread-starter.

Anyway, I dun think the new vios is that small. The current altis on the road has an interior length of 1915 mm while new vios is 1965 mm (yes, I am not dreaming).

Most Contis (at least 5 series standard) have bigger space front and back.

This is proven technically and also by actual sitting in the car.

Do not be fooled by Japanese sedans

The difference lies in the size of the seats.

Japanese cars have smaller rear/front seats.

therefore, when you look at it , you may see "more" legroom

One has to sit in the car to really understand and know the diff.

For eg. The 5 series rear seats are very deep so a tall passenger can seat very comfortably. The cabin itself is very sizeable. and 3 men sitting behind will not feel cramp. This cannot be compared to smaller class cars of course.

Leg room is about the last thing i care.

If I cared about legroom for my passenger i'll buy an Alphard..hahaha

By the way , anyone seen or test driven the Alfa 159, very chio looking car leh...

yes, the legroom is considered big for a small car.

Probably best in its class

I'm not contesting that nor am i against these cars.

but i will never buy a Latio or a Sylphy for the matter.

In fact, I will never buy any car for the space.

I'm an impractical fella, paiseh....