Elixir 1st Gear November 29, 2007 Share November 29, 2007 My 1.3A Getz is reaching its 5th year soon. Shall I sell it off or should I get a OPC car? really don't feel like getting another loan again, so thought of getting an OPC Mit i car, only 659CC, but some said overpriced, not worth it etc. but personally, I quite like it but im afraid what if next time hard to sell away the car. What should I do??? sell and keep the money or buy another one??? Rgds. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam_wong_cm Clutched November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 If you can live without a car than don't buy one. If don't want to buy a expensive car can look at the Picanto much cheaper then the Mit i. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 can dun use dun buy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 Why do you continue driving your current car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 do your sum... goto onemotoring.com site and check your residual value of the getz. check car dealer how much they taking in your getz. calculate the diff. calc how much it cost u to upkeep a Mit i. check against how much it cost u now. consider plan B... how much it cost u to buy a new car & a loan check against ur current liabilities for getz. lastly use ur blain... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nus24 Neutral Newbie November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 Er....you own a car for at least 5 years already right? Why still so confused? I cannot see what your confusion about. Are you confused because of money issue or confused because you worry people think you are a sissy when you drive a Mit-i? If you are worried about next time hard to sell away the car?? Don't be! Car values in Singapore are peg to the scrap value + export body value(usually 2-3yrs car got higher body value). But for a 5yrs old car esp getz...mostly scrap value lah! If turbo Mit-i is your style...go for it...you only young once.... If MRT is your style....can save money..... But after getting comfortable with cars for 5 years......I think very hard to go without. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 Yeah. Why burden yourself? Just keep your car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 downgrade to smaller car or get OPC car also have to start new loan wat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 (edited) Unless you are willing to burn additional cash for the depreciation of another new ride then by all means go for it Else jus keep your current ride & trade it in for another when COE is up or when it starts to give you problems Like that no need to headache liao Edited November 30, 2007 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 Quote My 1.3A Getz is reaching its 5th year soon. Shall I sell it off or should I get a OPC car? really don't feel like getting another loan again, so thought of getting an OPC Mit i car, only 659CC, but some said overpriced, not worth it etc. but personally, I quite like it but im afraid what if next time hard to sell away the car. What should I do??? sell and keep the money or buy another one??? Rgds. Why so confused? what has 5 year got that confuse u? Things are not so complicated sometimes...so simple. Look at it this way: If u want to sell and not drive anymore, then u sell it away and don't drive lor. If u want to sell it and buy another car, then u sell it away and buy another car lor. See? so simple Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumahoy Neutral Newbie November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 totally agree with vicz. we cant ALWAYS choose our decision by calculating $$$. just don't over do anything you do, make sure you have 6x cash reserve for emergency, and if you still have excess money and can afford a car, why not. live your life. I'll switch to mit-i if I were you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jelynn Neutral Newbie November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 (edited) I am also wondering about my 5 year old car. i bought it before car prices plummet to its current state. I was wondering on buying a used car for MUCH cheaper now and reducing my monthly payment. question is. I found a one year old used car that is very cheap and they have inhouse loan which is giving almost same interest rate as the bank i am using. I was wondering if its still applicable. Can or will the dealer take in my car and hike the price of the used car I intend to buy and give me a loan on it so i don't have to top up to my bank with cash? My current cars rebate is about 27k but i owe the bank abt 38k oustanding (10 year loan) I did my math. Replacing the loan / getting new loan still lowers the monthly payment significantly. Someone can help? Edited November 30, 2007 by Jelynn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elixir 1st Gear November 30, 2007 Author Share November 30, 2007 I don't really agree. Checked on monday, new Picanto - $45000, Mit 'i' - $48988 (got $1500 min discount). For $2500, got safety features, design, intelligent key entry etc, Im not expert but feels it worth it except its low cc. Quote If you can live without a car than don't buy one. If don't want to buy a expensive car can look at the Picanto much cheaper then the Mit i. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elixir 1st Gear November 30, 2007 Author Share November 30, 2007 because some bxxxxxd slam open door too hard and bump my getz (next time take pic and show bros here) and I damn du lan..now feeling better but still a bit sian. I have no complaints about my Getz except low pick up and hot air con. Other than that, its fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 The new Picanto is $45K?? In that case, rather you spend a few K more and get the i. The road tax is a lot cheaper but not sure about the insurance as compared to Picanto. I test drove the i before and it's really not a bad ride. Very perky ride, good for city driving. I find that the i is even more spacious that the Jazz I used to have. Take note that I am 1.88m tall. The engine is at the back plus it's rear wheel drive is another plus point in my opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elixir 1st Gear November 30, 2007 Author Share November 30, 2007 I can go without car, money still the best. Besides, I quite stingy, sat sometimes also don't drive, take MRT unless go suntec area (which is often the case cos' shaw tower per entry is $2 after 1pm on sat). Thanks for your advice except that scrap value + body value part. besides worried about being seen as a sissy, it feels weird to see the only Mit 'i' in my HDB carpark where the rest are mostly Altis, Sunnys, Latios, lorries and vans. But I really this small car, I guess im into small cars, of course no money to buy big ones or basically, don't like to take loans. confused in terms of whether to keep current Getz, sell and keep the money or buy Mit 'i' or get a bigger one. Quote Er....you own a car for at least 5 years already right?Why still so confused? I cannot see what your confusion about. Are you confused because of money issue or confused because you worry people think you are a sissy when you drive a Mit-i? If you are worried about next time hard to sell away the car?? Don't be! Car values in Singapore are peg to the scrap value + export body value(usually 2-3yrs car got higher body value). But for a 5yrs old car esp getz...mostly scrap value lah! If turbo Mit-i is your style...go for it...you only young once.... If MRT is your style....can save money..... But after getting comfortable with cars for 5 years......I think very hard to go without. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elixir 1st Gear November 30, 2007 Author Share November 30, 2007 no need get loan if go for OPC. Sell my Getz can take back some money and pay the remaining with cash --> I own the 'i' car. Quote downgrade to smaller car or get OPC car also have to start new loan wat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 low cc means low roadtax ma. I think below $500 per year. Have you test drive Mit-i?? Is small cc with turbo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...