Feedback on Hubstation

Protege

Dear users of Hubstation, I would appreciate your feedback on this machine. Thinking of getting it but saw quite a few bad reviews on Hardwarezone.

All comments appreciated! [thumbsup]

My advise is stay away from Starhub, if you are on starhub now, try going to youtube and load some video. It will not stream realtime and takes years to finish loading, i called them and complain but ask me to monitor, crap lame asses.

FYI, i am on Stahub 6Mb, my gf Singnet 1MB load faster than mine, when she came over, she asked me how come youtube loading so slow one.

Do the maths, i pay $71 every month and she is paying $30 every month. And i getting slower connection, don't make sense leh. I am cancelling starhub soon and move to Singnet, need a LCD TV so hoping for LCD TV giveaway promo from singnet haha.

I'm one of the first few users of the Hubstation which is what they called it now, there were initial hiccups here and there as consistent with a new product, but since upgrading their firmware, I see less problems with the DVD-R. So far so good if you ask me.. no complaints whatsoever, does what its meant to do... so I don't really know what the fuss is all about. Works for me so far... great for recording football matches [laugh]

May I know how longy ou have been using bro?

As far as the feedback is concern, they are mentioning things like hanging, programs not recording, overheating, etc.

Hubstation recording method is faster and easier.

Select the program/channel and press record thats it.

You can record any program you want up to 3 days in advance, you can also record mutiple channels at one go.(offcause the recording time cannot clash lah)

For other recorder, you have to select channel, check/select start/end time and date.(waste time)

Thanks for the info bro!

I do know that the Hubstation are much more convenient and efficient. However, I am really worried about the reliability based on the feedback from HWZ. The product can be good but if does not work or breakdown, they will be just white elephants.....

I got it the day they officially launch... until now, recording is fuss free and easy peasy as one other forumer mentioned, compared to conventional DVD Recorder, you can simply record whatever shows on whatever channels that you want as long as there are enough space in the HDD, no worries about recording only one channel, provided the timing doesn't clashes. Eg. You can record Show A on Channel 1 at 7pm, Show B on Ch 2 at 8pm and so on.

Only complaint is that it is really hot... other than that.. would prefer it to be slimmer... other that that.. its worth it..

Ya. I know the there are design flaws and thats why its running super hot. Anyway, thanks for the positive feedback. Appreciate it!

It's has 1 year warrenty.

Like all electronics, if it runs well for a month, it's probably not a lemon.(haha, that's my rule)

Have it for almost a year already and it has yet to fail.

It runs hot but it's enjoying the aircon in my room. [laugh]

You leave it on permanently? Not even shut it to standby? Thats good. I have heard feedback that it will only have problems when overheated!

Yes... no standby. Coz I do record shows on a regular basis... never watch "live" shows ever since i got this set, except for football matches... coz I like to fast forward thru the commercials... [laugh]

Thats good to know bro! I think the most important thing is not to get a lemon set, if not then a lot of trouble liao!

So bro, do you add any cooling fan unit to it to cool it down or you leave it as it is??

Edited by Protege

yeah, its hot.

i just leave it as it is.

i think its fine as long as u don't stack or obstruct airflow in any way.

mine just sits on the console top beside the tv.

i filled up my hdd.. damn, record so much, but not enough time to watch [laugh]

it helps u make full use of your cable tv plan

Edited by Cyberet

So you are another happy user I believe! Good.

The amazing thing about the forums is that you can see one forum having real bad feedback about a product and the other one just praising it.....

Whats the moral of the story? It leave the reader totally confused! [crazy][laugh]

If you like to watch Starhub channels, Hubstation is a good buy.

I have it and can record my fav programmes and watch it when I am free.

Pro

- never miss my favourite programmes

- schedule programme base on name

- good quality

Con

- slow startup

- after many times of recording, need to perform optimize, else unit will hang

- easily overheated