Ender Hypersonic November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 To me, I put much emphasis on the map support. i.e. Malsing Support. Free and most updated. Hence only garmin and Mapking. Ease of use, and voice feature to me are secondary, after some time will get use to it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 Rec... 6110 really that good ah? Do you recommend SGT to buy? Good la sgt... Multipurpose leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 Nokia Map got Voice Navi meh? Do u find Mapking is kinda lag or not very accurate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 Steady Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 AGPS (Assisted GPS) requires a data server and will use the GPRS or 3G. I heard of some old HP Ipaq that takes like hours to lock on without a GPRS connection to the server. No lah... GPRS is gd to have if u have AGPS features, but is not a must for GPS leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 Hmmm... My Nokia 6110 is my... - Mobile Phone - 2.0m Camera - 3.5G Modem - GPS + street directory - Radio + MP3 player - Email(Gmail) - Web browser - Vibrater... joking la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 You make so many bros here to get a nuvi with your 1st thread on nuvi 610. Now you post this to say N82 and their series better... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Author Share November 26, 2007 Interesting ... How is the hp battery affected by the GPS application? Take MP3, i almost never listen to MP3 on the hp now because of the ridiculously high consumption on the batt, espcially compared to a dedicated flash-based MP3/4 player It does take a toll on battery if you use it to navigate from Singapore to Ipoh. However, using it locally, the battery is well capable of handling 45mins of navi usage. If you wanna compare, my Garmin Nuvi battery lasts less than 2 hours on a full charge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 45mins is with the screen lit at all times? But then your batt is still new ... wait till one year later .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Author Share November 26, 2007 Hmmm... n82 Nokia Map have voice navigation? I installed it in my nokia 6110, but there is no voice navigation leh. Need to buy issit? Yes, I paid for the upgrade. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Author Share November 26, 2007 (edited) No doubt, some users will find integrated devices useful. Somehow, I still haven't owned a PDA phone.. still using Laptop, PDA and small mobile phone separately.. Have you tried the GPS on your nokia WITHOUT data charges ? Like go overseas and no roaming, or hiking in areas without cell coverage ? AGPS uses the GPRS to get data from servers, right ? That is why it is faster to lock onto satellites. (Unless my understanding is wrong.) And when you need to answer a call (lets say you are using earpiece, so not illegal here), is the navigation affected ? I always switch off all network connections when using GPS on a mobile phone. Meaning data transfer to the GPS application is forbidden. I download all the maps at home first so it is not necessary to transfer data on the move at all. I also tried using GPS in offline mode. Meaning the phone is "disconnected" from the network. The great thing is, GPS still works and is still very fast. I can only deduce that the GPS to network connection is separate from the phone to network connection. Answering a call or sms'ing or even taking a picture between navigation does not interrupt it. Edited November 26, 2007 by Chickenbackside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 we would need to charge the hp via the cigarette socket in order not to have the drain out of the battery Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Author Share November 26, 2007 To me, I put much emphasis on the map support. i.e. Malsing Support. Free and most updated. Hence only garmin and Mapking. Ease of use, and voice feature to me are secondary, after some time will get use to it. Yes I agree. But knowing that Nokia bought over a major GPS company recently for BILIIONS, I suspect map support will be great too. So far using Nokia Maps against Garmin's, the conclusion is this: Nokia Maps is more updated than Garmin's original map of SIngapore. Malsingmaps is more updated than Nokia Maps of SIngapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Author Share November 26, 2007 You make so many bros here to get a nuvi with your 1st thread on nuvi 610. Now you post this to say N82 and their series better... Bro, times change. I bought my Nuvi more than one year ago. It is still a great device, no doubt, and people who are using it will know. What I'm trying to say here is with phone GPS working so well today, is it still worthwhile to buy a standalone GPS device? I'm not trying to make people regret or anything. Don't forget, I am one who has bought TWO Garmin devices myself. I'm in fact trying to help people make a more educated decision... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Author Share November 26, 2007 45mins is with the screen lit at all times? But then your batt is still new ... wait till one year later .... Screen is lit as long as navigation is on. There is no comarison between a handphone battery and the Garmin's battery. Handphone battery spoil, buy new one. Garmin battery spoil, LL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 I guess inevitably convergence (in hp) will win in the end. While standalone GPS, or PDA, MP3 player etc will be niche. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 NM, Yes, u have to pay, first time u activate it, 3 days trial. After that have to pay. [/size] MK kinda not accurate and the reroute when you go off route take a bloody long time (30sec) even for a simple u turn back to original route. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 (edited) Handphone battery spoil, buy new one. Garmin battery spoil, LL... True for Nuvi but not for those handheld ... very difficult to compare HP with standalone GPS aka Nuvi series ... totally different screen size ... if one day HP come with big touch screen ... then good luck to Garmin, Tomtom, etc ... if to compare, best is to compare HP with handheld GPS (almost same screen size), then HP will be a better choice for road navigation but handheld GPSis good for tracking ... my own conclusion is that HP GPS is good for frequent traveller visiting overseas country Edited November 26, 2007 by Poortraveller ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...