Finclk 1st Gear November 25, 2007 Share November 25, 2007 Ok i've a simple qn. Am I being over-charged. hahaha I have a toyota harrier. Do regular 10,000km servicing. Here's what I usually do. - 5L engine oil change. Mobil Synthetic 5w40 - 5 x normal denso spark plugs - Change of normal Toyota air filter - Change of normal Toyota oil filter I'm charged $230 in total plus GST Today I did the same as above. But now is my 45,000km servicing, had to change my ATF. That was an additional $90. The mechanic is a nice guy. Can talk to him well, but i feel i'm being cut. HAha.. i dun mind let him make a bit more, but if too much.. wah lau.. cannot lah. But car still under warranty, so have to let him do. Bought from Le_acy Motors. My car slightly more than 2yrs old. Once hit 3yrs, need to find a new servicing centre. Anyone has any good recommendations for central north area, around AMK, Bishan here? Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie November 25, 2007 Share November 25, 2007 hmmm let's see how much it cost me to service my dad Altis that other time engine oil, Amsoil, $60 (purchased from bro Trex) servicing, $80 (change oil filter, spark plugs, ATF ) total, $140 my mech helps to clean the air filter too the servicing cost u paid do seems high, unless the plugs he change is Iridium ones. $90 for ATF change is high also, as if i did not recalled wrongly the ATF change on my dad's car was ~$40 just my input..... perhaps u are indeed paying for his good service Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged November 25, 2007 Share November 25, 2007 I think it's reasonable (a little on the high side...but not cut-throat price)....assuming you didn't bring any parts/oil. Market rate for a bottle of 4L M1 is around $80-90 + cost of a 1L bottle + ATF (brand?) + filters + labour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 25, 2007 Share November 25, 2007 Overcharge or not is a relative question. It depends on how much you can get for your parts at retail price; then minus $230, that is the labour charge. Pricing of parts is dependant on where you get it from. - Mobil syn - can get from various sources including Trex, Giant, on offer it's even cheaper. Average $15 ~$19 per qt, on the high side. Roughly about $80~$100 for 5L - denso normal plugs maybe about $2 each, for 5 (not sure why you need 5), it is $10 - air filter, probably cost around $10~$15 (from auto parts supplier) - oil filter, probably cost around $8~$10 (from auto parts supplier) All in, estimate on the high side, maybe around $130 for parts. When you run around sourcing for parts, you have to spend time and fuel. Changing those parts probably cost less than an hour. So, is $100 labour considered expensive to you? It is to me, very expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finclk 1st Gear November 25, 2007 Author Share November 25, 2007 yeah man.. it's high for sure. Sorry, it's supposed to be 4 spark plugs. It's normal denso ones for sure. I couldn't remember what ATF brand he was using. was from some big tin rectangular tin can which had a plastic lip sticking out at the corner to make it easier to pour out hte contents. Think it was red color with yellow words. Ok i think i can start finding another servicing centre with reasonable rates. Want to start experimenting with diff replacement items like engine oil n all that. Got any good servicing centres to recommend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerdyfrog Neutral Newbie November 25, 2007 Share November 25, 2007 my 80 km servicing for a 1.5L COLT made me poorer by $700. .......................................................... no choice, have to do all the change in belts before they break, atf flush, engine oil change and bearing checks. i used to service my car at CNC and the price is about urs. Hence i switch to another workshop as i am no longer under warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 25, 2007 Share November 25, 2007 Well, I don't use SG service, just workshops in JB. I'll buy parts from various sources and bring it over. Just pay for labour. Labour guesstimate is about rm30 for change of engine oil/oil filter/air filter/spark plugs. Air filter and spark plugs change is simple, you can diy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samano Neutral Newbie November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 it's reasonable I think a bit high, depends on quality of service ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...