Togas Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 sorry i old liao.. dun understand ur lingo.. going uphill of course dun need always tap brake if travel smoothly.. if anyhow vtec of course brake at every bend.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singaporesiao Neutral Newbie December 2, 2007 Share December 2, 2007 well if u leave anything more that 1 n half car length ppl behind will start high beam u n say u road hogging... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singaporesiao Neutral Newbie December 2, 2007 Share December 2, 2007 come down n fight? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear December 2, 2007 Share December 2, 2007 aiyah,this is so common in singapore. are you a new driver? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katou Neutral Newbie December 2, 2007 Share December 2, 2007 Quote I think some of these kiasee drivers purposely do it if they think you're following too close. 2-3 car lengths also can be too close for their comfort. So they purposely keeping tapping their brakes to make you stay further away. Selfish behaviour. Another kind is those super kiasee one, 4-5 car lengths away from the car in front and once the front car brakes, the driver also brakes. I hate to be behind such cars. I will drop back and find a chance to overtake them. I'm in ur shoe too. Always kena such driver. Especially during peak hour whereby u can even change lane due to busy road on expressway and seeing car by car changing into the car infront of you. Den the brake light machiam disco light. Flash and flash early in the morning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katou Neutral Newbie December 2, 2007 Share December 2, 2007 Quote Actually, dun have to tap brake unless it's really required. For auto cars, if they are following behind a safe distance (eg 2 sec rule), they can just release their accelerator and maintain the distance. For me, I will look at the 1st vehicle infront of the vehicle ahead of me for reference. So that can gauge better whether to brake or not. Same technique. But i always keep far from SUV, MPV or those dark tinted car which i cant see thru. My car quite low. View is compromised. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 2, 2007 Share December 2, 2007 Quote going uphill of course dun need always tap brake if travel smoothly.. if anyhow vtec of course brake at every bend.. you'd be surprised. there are drivers who go up hill (eg. sheares bridge) will still step on brakes. also it depends on driver, most bends in sg can dun use brakes even going at 90km/hr. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched December 3, 2007 Share December 3, 2007 (edited) If you are talking about effective braking, no one can fault you for doing that. Because it is necessary braking. Think most forummers are referring to drivers who don't brake effectively. Meaning brake light is on, but the car isn't really reducing its speed at all. Really tapping, and not stepping of brakes. You know for brakes, they don't bite the moment you apply pressure right? You have to apply a certain amount of pressure before the brakes start to bite. These drivers are not applying enough pressure for the brakes to bite and car to reduce speed at all, resulting in the 'rear flashing' phenomenon. Wonder why they even have their foot on the brake pedal in the first place? Imagine someone flashing his rear fogs at you, irritating right? Coz the piercing red light inadvertently draws your attention to it (natural reflex) and makes your heart pump faster each time it comes on, for nothing. As for those who keep braking because they are tailgating, easy to tell since they will be smelling the ass of the car in front. Nothing to feel irked about that, since it is necessary braking. Only thing to feel irked is their stupidity at repeatedly pushing the car who can't or doesn't want to give way. Just keep a further distance behind in case of anything. Edited December 3, 2007 by Icekitten Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched December 3, 2007 Share December 3, 2007 Quote you'd be surprised. there are drivers who go up hill (eg. sheares bridge) will still step on brakes. Hur also it depends on driver, most bends in sg can dun use brakes even going at 90km/hr. I concur! I really hate approaching the Sheares bridge, when you need to throttle up for power to scale the bridge, some kukus are braking in front. I can only guess that they were either tailgating or held up by some snails and forced to brake. Otherwise, I can't comprehend why would someone need to brake on an upslope! Bends too. Just one example, there is certain bend which I have managed to successfully take at 110kmh. (Have not tried higher yet ) Successfully means that I manage to stay within my lane as I negotiate the bend and not eat out into the other lane. And I always take the inner lane, which should have a sharper curve compared to the outer lane. Yet whenever I approach the same bend with other traffic in front of me, on most occasions, I end up having to brake until 40-50kmh, which is significantly lower than the speed limit of that road anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 3, 2007 Share December 3, 2007 Uphill? Chill la bro.. how many times brakes lights can you see on uphill.. dun be so uptight.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 3, 2007 Share December 3, 2007 Double standards la sis.. Flashing rear "fogs" lamps.. irritating? Flashing brake lights from tailgater.. dun feel irked abt tat?? Just learn to enjoy it like disco lights.. wat green..yellow..red..even fog lamp oso no problem.. Think positive.. not distracting.. front car in anticipation of brake.. but end up moves ahead.. prepared the rear car if theres a sudden brake.. ample notice.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched December 3, 2007 Share December 3, 2007 Not double standards.... In one situation it is necessary to leave a greater gap from the car in front than usual because the danger of the front car kissing another's ass is real. But in the other situation it isn't really necessary because that danger isn't present at all, but you still have the brake lights repeatedly flashing at you. Your last statement may not be necessarily true. Actually explained it in one scenario I encountered in one of my posts earlier. Unless the front car's braking causes the rear car to brake and stay that distance away. If the rear car braked upon seeing the front car's brake light, realised the front car wasn't slowing down and then accelerated to catch up again ( as is common drivers' behaviour) and suddenly the front car jam braked, then in fact it might end up posing a higher risk of collision. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fddd Neutral Newbie December 17, 2007 Author Share December 17, 2007 Alway there is driver who keep a safe distance and still jam brake when there is sufficient space in front of them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Player13 Neutral Newbie December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 sob..sob... this mth bad luck... at bedok nth flyover down-slope going to merge with PIE towards Jurong... surface wet( rainy days mah )TP suddenly stop at the merging lane.. immediately stop nissan sunny in front of me... tat old man shock so jam brake... SO me about 2 car length behind ( riding bike tat day )also jam brake but road slippery.. downslope somemore... skid ... so try to "buang" myself to the grass but cannot make it.. In the end.. 5sec later me under my bike.. my bike under that nissan sunny rear bumper.. quite a big dent on the left rear bumper... now why should the TP stop a car suddenly when we are going downslope... no car even infront of the nissan sunny... Tp excuse he's doing escort that time so he need to stop any traffic from flowing through the PIE from the bedok nth flyover... wat makes me angry was he told me.. if he saw me behind that sunny.. he would not ask that sunny to stop immediately... so me bad luck lohh.. kiss the sunny from behind.. so tell me whose fault is it?? TP asking a car to jam brake without thinking the impact behind the car... people.. pls advise.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 should have asked for ambulance or make a scene there. if you not hurt, they will act blur and hope you leave. their job on the line, if you don't take it up on the spot and let them makan you and you keep quiet, they will be very happy to escape responsibility. sorry about your accident. but you need to claim insurance for repair? getting eye witness accounts to help your case maybe? but sue TP sure cannot win one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fddd Neutral Newbie January 20, 2008 Author Share January 20, 2008 Never even think about sueing TP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lass Neutral Newbie January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 Quote some jam brake, when i passed by them, noticed it's bcoz they're talkin on the phone. heaps of ppl talking on e phone while driving these days and when u stare at them, they just continue w their stupid act. frustrates me alot esp when they are driving like a snake and u hv to keep guessing which lane they want to go into. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wadexu 1st Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 If you travel at 90km/hour, 2 second rule translate to 50m that around 10 car distance. 1 & half car on highway is too close. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...