Slowmo Clutched November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 (edited) Comparing a manual vs auto.. for manual, am I right to say just clutch and/or shift down gear on deceleration.. but for auto, inevitably need to tap on footbrake to reduce speed.. earlier I read that there is a way to apply engine brake on auto car, may I learn how I can do that to reduce the frequency of braking light appearing? well, use proper judgement and just lift up your right foot. in the few AT cars I've driven before, and I have never encountered a case where I need to step on the brakes to slow down because I went too fast. The only exception is when I am not used to the car but all I need is about 100km in that car and I know how the car behaves. If you are driving AT and keep realising you need to tap your brakes to slow down then only 3 things: 1) You just got this car, and you are not used to it. 2) You are impatient because you want to speed up and keep a close gap to the car infront (ie. tailgate) 3) because you tail gate, you don't have enough time to slow down, thats why you tap your brakes. this is the same if you are driving MT, if you find yourself having to clutch in/out and downgear so many times in the course of your journey, i think you should really look at points #2 and #3. for the record, I used to travel 37km one direction to work, and I can count less than 10 times I step on the brake when my car is on the expressway. Sometimes not even once. Even peak period. when you tap the brakes so many times within a short distance, it gives people behind you a lot of mixed signals, is your brake spoil? or are you having fun with your brakes? Because of these group of brake happy people, I've trained myself to look at the relative speed of the car instead of relying on their brake lights. So even if cars with blown brake lights, I would realise beforehand when they e-brake. But that doesn't change the fact that these driver really suck at driving. Edited November 30, 2007 by Slowmo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 Mai tailgate lorz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilmaycry Neutral Newbie November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 Some part of the statement i do agree dependable on traffic condition and what car they drive. For sport cars usually I'll keep quiet cos I know they're forcing the car in front to get out of the way.....for saloon car behind complaining...they merely can't keep up the pace...that's y they rant all day long Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 I would say most of the drivers who complained front cars TAP brake unnessary are themself inexperienced and impatience drivers on the road.. I seldom hear from experienced drivers complained abt such stuff.. perhaps they seasoned to this already not affected by it.. but I see this type of complaints every other month.. They are just used to it already....but that doesn't mean they don't feel irked by such drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 In the normal course of a journey, let's say cruising coz that is more of the issue here. There is no real need to downshift for manual unless your speed drops below the optimal rpm band. For manual, we don't use engine brake to reduce speed while cruising. Engine brake as a means to reduce speed is more for taking bends or corners, or as mentioned above, speed is so greatly reduced eg. jam braking occurs. Even then, downshifting is not as a means to reduce speed but rather to 'power up and go'. To reduce speed while cruising, only two things : lifting foot off accelerator and braking. Nothing to do with gears. Some drivers only know that if their right foot isn't on the accelerator, it must be on the brake. That is probably the main grouse here. I also don't rely on brake lights of the vehicle in front in deciding whether to brake or not. Just general awareness of traffic conditions in front and judgement of speed of the vehicle in front. Sometimes it isn't even necessary to brake when I see the front vehicle's brake lights come on. All I have to do is lift my foot off the accelerator and I maintain speed as him. Rather than tapping my brakes, I'm tapping my accelerator. So there the front car is, brake light on and off, on and off. And I haven't braked once yet. Even for auto, lifting your foot off the accelerator will eventually give you an 'engine brake'. The car will gradually be slowing down. It's not as if you lift your foot off the accelerator and it becomes like 'free gear in a manual car'. Correct? For taking bends or corners, auto cars need to brake earlier, that I can understand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 Drive carefully you say. Leaving a gap to the car in front of 1 and a half car lengths is NOT driving carefully The 2 seconds rule is the way to go to stay alive and well on the roads. http://www.roadtripamerica.com/DefensiveDriving/Rule27.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 Yes I drive an AT car and subconsciously keep realising I need to tap brakes especially everytime after I read some rants like this in MCF, otherwise I tap accelerator, tap brake when necessary. To let you know the scenario.. 1) No.. not a new new 2) No.. I dun practise tailgate unless in a start n stop traffic jam 3) No.. because I tailgate, the front car's engine rpm is not moving as fast.. thats why I need to tap brake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 Some part of the statement i do agree dependable on traffic condition and what car they drive. For sport cars usually I'll keep quiet cos I know they're forcing the car in front to get out of the way.....for saloon car behind complaining...they merely can't keep up the pace...that's y they rant all day long Actually we shouldn't look at it that way.. we should see what's driving the wheels.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 I would say most of the drivers who complained front cars TAP brake unnessary are themself inexperienced and impatience drivers on the road.. I seldom hear from experienced drivers complained abt such stuff.. perhaps they seasoned to this already not affected by it.. but I see this type of complaints every other month.. They are just used to it already....but that doesn't mean they don't feel irked by such drivers. Or should I say more experienced drivers have more patience? I ever kena horned behind at minor road traffic light just 3 sec short.. look at my side, the vehicle start moving at the same time i moved ma! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 Quote:"ust to clarify that two second rule. Quote:"When travelling at 100kph the two second rule gap will give you a distance to the car in front of nearly 60 meters. Yes 60 meters So rethink your one and a half car lengths everyone please." Unquote. This link should clear things up. At 60mph (96kph), the stopping distance is 18 car lengths. Taking the length of a car as 4.5m (length of a Sunny), than 18 x 4.5m = 81m. This distance takes into account the driver's thinking time and the car's stopping distance at 96kph........ and it errs on the side of safety, which is good. http://www.thinkroadsafety.gov.uk/campaign...wn/stopping.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 (edited) there are people who horn at you because it's a green left arrow and redlight and you are in a left turn + straight lane. These people are like that, wait a bit will die. I wouldn't say experienced drivers have more patience. I always laugh at people who keep saying they have xx years of driving experience to justify their actions. One good example, look at the taxi drivers, they clock more mileage experience than any other driver who is not driving a cab. Are they patient? but rather: Patient drivers don't tailgate , or hurry to close the gap between vehicles - even during traffic jams. Edited December 1, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 yes, the 18 car lengths is especially correct when you need to get from 100-0 immediately. Perhaps due to car already collided infront or an obstacle that just appears infront. The reason why people think it's safe to maintain 1-2 car lengths is because the car in front is travelling in somewhat same speed as the tailgating car. So when the front car hit the brakes, there is some 'allowance' of space for the car to slow down... thus the rear car does not crash into it. Whats going to be tragic is that if the front car goes from 100-0 in a second (eg. hit by oncoming vehicle) , the tailgating car behind will not even have reaction time to step on the brake before crashing into the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gtti Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 some jam brake, when i passed by them, noticed it's bcoz they're talkin on the phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 I also don't rely on brake lights of the vehicle in front in deciding whether to brake or not. Just general awareness of traffic conditions in front and judgement of speed of the vehicle in front. That is a good practice to keep a look out on traffic ahead of the car infront.. and not concentrate on the brake lights only.. By not tapping the accelerator will eventually result in engine brake, but that is not enough braking for our traffic conditions.. Lets say we are cruising and moving obstructions infront are cruising at lower speed, right foot off accelerator, still approaching obstructions quite fast, need to tap brake just to slow down smoothly n signifincantly but dun wanna zam brake otherwise kena run down by lorries from behind.. Car still roll forward faster then the car travelling infront.. closer n closer almost less than a car length.. So at that instance, I would tap brake again.. I relate an incident the other day.. smooth n clear traffic ahead.. that is exactly what happened this car infront was on rightmost lane (3rd lane) which is rightturning lane only.. I came so close almost touching his bumper.. had to brake a few times alrdy and he (or she) still refused to give way until the last minute, signal for 2 sec and turn left liao, never check blind sport.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 I kena horned on a pedestriian crossing traffic lights.. Ya.. i ever kena.. on such a junction.. I got stuck at amber to red.. wanted to go straight and cars behind wanted to turn left on left turn arrow.. so keep horning.. such ass.. Are the taxi drivers here not patient enough? Myself never heard from them complaining about brake lights.. cars overtaking or jio them.. things like that.. In a start n stop jam, if you leave too comfortable a gap, other cars would cut in.. in order to leave another safe following distance.. it will results in more frequency of brake lights of your own.. then the car behind you started ranting in MCF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 A safe gap between cars at 100kmh would be of no use in case of sudden obstruction or jam brake infront.. unless the driver adhere to safety 100%, alert all the time.. right foot on brake.. good tyre.. good system.. good weather condition.. So dun practise jam brake unnessary at high speed.. jam bread becomes sandwich!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 Ok.. lets see how some machine works.. Synergy Drive is a drive-by-wire system with no direct mechanical connection between the engine and the engine controls: both the gas pedal and the gearshift lever in an HSD car merely send electrical signals to a control computer.. when the vehicle is cruising, the power from the engine is split between the mech. path and the generator, thus the engine can meet the road load demand without accelerating.. battery pack that serves as an energy reservoir assist in the increase of vehicle power as well as environmental and efficiency benefits. HSD is a set of hybrid car technologies and used in Toyota's Prius, Highlander Hybrid, Camry Hybrid, Lexus RX 400h, Lexus GS 450h, and Lexus LS 600h/LS 600hL automobiles. It combines an electric drive and a continuously variable transmission. General Motors and DaimlerChrysler's Global Hybrid Cooperation is similar in that it combines the power from a single engine and two motors. In contrast, Honda's Integrated Motor Assist uses a more traditional ICE and transmission where the flywheel is replaced with an electric motor. For silent operation at slow speeds and moderate torques HSD can drive without running the gasoline engine at all: electricity is supplied only to MG2, allowing MG1 to rotate freely (and thus decoupling the engine from the wheels). This is popularly known as "Stealth Mode". Provided that there is enough battery power, the car can be driven in this silent mode for some miles even without gasoline. So those who complain keep seeing brake lights must understand not all cars are run the same as theirs and understand why others dun kiss the ass of others while they do.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilmaycry Neutral Newbie December 1, 2007 Share December 1, 2007 Some part of the statement i do agree dependable on traffic condition and what car they drive. For sport cars usually I'll keep quiet cos I know they're forcing the car in front to get out of the way.....for saloon car behind complaining...they merely can't keep up the pace...that's y they rant all day long Actually we shouldn't look at it that way.. we should see what's driving the wheels.. Look at me, every single day me and fren always encounter road hoggers in Singapore as well as Malaysia...then one fine day I asked my fren y u like to tap breaks so often...he told me fcuk you idiot!!! Btw my fren is a lady...dam siao...dun believe watch this vid ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...