Value of S'pore Citizenship = 0

Qpik

This being practice dunno how many years ago. Since my poly days, all my china friend study here got PR liao. In the end, all go back China after graduate and nv see them again. Only see them on MSN.. haha

i agree. try applying in oz, PR ten times more difficult to get.

our taxes go to pay for these PR education! even i had to take a loan for my own education. tts y got chance i sure migrate from sg, renounce my citizenship. [nod]

where in your opinion will you go?

i considering OZ.. or canada.

Canada very cold though... [nosebleed]

you? most of us would go OZ i guess.

i agree. try applying in oz, PR ten times more difficult to get.

our taxes go to pay for these PR education! even i had to take a loan for my own education. tts y got chance i sure migrate from sg, renounce my citizenship. [nod]

Actually, if you completed your tertiary education in Oz, it's pretty easy to apply for PR. They will actually send you the forms a few months before you graduate! And the application fees are much cheaper, "because they realise that a young graduate will not have a lot of savings!".

Australia is fast retracting from it's once vaunted "White Australia Policy", the next PM could be one who speaks fluent Chinese!

sounds good but still not cheap to study in OZ in the 1st place! too bad when i was young i didnt know sg didnt value my part time degree. else would have packed my bags and left.

my 2 cousins cmi in poly and jc, went there, oz govt paid for their full uni education. now working there with 2 cars in the family, they wont come back.... [flowerface]

Errr...Oz govt has stopped paying Uni fees for almost 20 years now! There was a huge protest about it as Uni (like the Govt Schools) used to be free (or almost free). Now you have to pay, but the Government claims the amount owed from you in the form of "contributions" in your taxes. Still cheaper for a local tho as compared to an overseas student.

huh. but they got pr leh, govt stopped paying so long ago meh? 20 yrs very long liao leh. but they been there think almost 10-15 yrs ago.

well this is the best part. there e locals pay less than the foreigners. here its the reverse! hahaha. e biggest joke... [whip]

Then they would be familiar with the term called "HECS".

Maybe your cousins are painting an overly rosy picture of Oz. But yes, two cars is pretty much the norm there.

Edited by Carndablues

I can be nice to those REAL FT("WU LIAO" TYPE) or those who really wan to settle in Singapore.

However those who got the .I will be really nasty and harsh in my word to them and insult them in front of other colleague once i found out they got no intention to stay here for good instead of braving thr the front with those true blood Singaporean or serve NS liabilties.

I got many PRs in my company applying for HDB. Their mentality are to suck as much blood as possible so that till 55 or no more blood to suck, they will fly back to their breeding land.

Imagine they got their HDB 4 room abt 230K so by the time they wanna to return to their country. How much you think they going to earn judging on the historical tend where a HDB flat buying at 50K and become at least 200k after 30 years.

I will not hesitate to bring their name out if Govt going to banish these people.

Edited by Snookium

i dont blame them really. its the policy that is so wrong. after all when u give free food n drinks, who dont want. [:p] hey if OZ was doing the same, i would be gone in a jiffy?

really brings new meaning to the phrase "have your cake and eat it"

lets face it, which FT will really want to settle down, take up citizenship and send their sons to NS? i wouldnt want my own son to do NS either, much less them. [laugh] the only way to tip the scales in SG favour is to make the factors for their pr unfavourable, hence they will consider being citizens instead.

Edited by Metalslug

btw anybody tried applying to OZ for PR based on work? not much choices except work and study.

another way is go there study and work part time but still need $ to tide by. this option surely will be in debt for next 5-6 yrs. but after that can have your pick of any car would be yours for lifetime!

Actually, some of my MY friends are itching to get out citing high crime rates, lack of opportunities for minority and inflation.

You are right, that's why my hubby is working in SG not MY. Maybe we settle down in Jkt. [laugh]

Our assets, our cpf money are like shares.

You make paper profit or loss.

The only way you can realized profits and cashed out is by giving up citizenship.

Sg is a good place to make money. But to put down permanent roots, well....I think many FT and Sgporeans are beginning to have 2nd thoughts...unless you are in the minority elite group.

nope, i am not in the 66.6% nor elite group. just yr average income singaporean.

i hv frens who are the higher income level who can afford to stay on cos they are running their own biz.

generally complaints are FT who apply for job got terrible attitude. they do not mind settling for lower pay but they got no loyality and can jump for a mere sum of monies. so, they kind of regretting going for FT over Singaporean.

its less than zero.

we are indirectly paying people $$$$ and benefits to take citizenship.

so for those who took it free without any benefits in kind all tio pwned.