Qpik Supercharged November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 Just to share on the above. Feedbacks given by a few frens FT's turned PR (some from PRC, some from Msia). They hold management and low level jobs. They are PR holders and after working here for short period of time, our govt invited them to be S'pore citizens which they flatly refused. Being curious, I asked why. They said it is very stupid to do so as their motherland is still much better. They are here just to tap on the heavily subsidised benefits like education, medical and after they go back to their country, they will command a higher pay. For those coming from PRC, they said that though the cost of living has increased. They are generally accompanied by a substantial pay increase. So much so that they are still able to save up. But, over here, they can't save much. Then they also added, their country currency has grown stronger against greenbacks. They will go back once their kids have finished their education here. For those coming from Msia, they shared almost the same things except that, they will continue to work here, enjoy the benefits yet remit their monies back to save for retirement. Does anyone feel that our citizenship has devalued rapidly? And is the welcoming of FT with open hands another of classic mistake of our govt? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 This is what I was told by some PRs. That they say it true. I guess it's always good to hav e more than 1 country to call home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 This old news. Ang moh also say the same thing. Enjoy incentives only. What to do? Unless u got a better suggestion? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged November 19, 2007 Author Share November 19, 2007 i have but will 99% of sporeans won't do it. sporeans are too pampered. throw them outside, they cannot survive. dun believe me, go china or anywhere... how u tell a sinkie at a road junction...they will patiently wait for cars to stop for them on a serious note, not many are able to step out of the comfort zone. but, once u r out, u won't want to go back. unless to enjoy the benefits lor u can hv yr 2nd home in developing country what...n u better do it fast before they implement some ruling that forbade u to do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 Wat to do? We don't hav enough manpower for our economy. Also we lack the neccessary talents @ times. Looking from the perspective of a company hiring people here. 1) Need to keep costs low to remain competitive. 2) Workers from 3rd world countries are much cheaper. Solution? Hire more FTs, stay profitable and can remain in SG. If, the garment were to ban FTs 1) Overhead cost high, price no longer competitive Solution? Move out of Singapore and relocate. More pple will lost jobs in this case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged November 19, 2007 Author Share November 19, 2007 already alot of coy hv moved out of spore. no way to stay profitable if u r doing low cost job. govt can try to reduce rental, tax rebates to coy. as for ft/pr, not stopping them but maybe no susidised benefits for them? as for singkie, allow them to hold dual citizenship?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 If this is the case, won't it be the same around the world? Always looking for cheap labour to stay profitable and stay competitive? Move out of Singapore and relocate? Go where to steal other ppl's jobs? Ppl will welcome u or not? Square one pal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 (edited) Singaporeans pay are too low, in China pay increases by 10% to 30% yearly to meet with growth. My hubby is a PR from MY working in SG, I am SG working in Jkt. It is really very expensive to retired in Sg. My hubby will go back to MY for retirement, I will go along with him. Our pay increament yearly is too low and we will face inflation soon. Thing in Jkt are far cheaper than in Sg and best of all I dun need a car here. Edited November 19, 2007 by Princey_anne Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 Yap it is the same around the world. Those 1st world countries will also detest us when we go over there to work. eh wake up bro...don't u know yet? Many countries are already shifting out of SG to relocate to places like china, vietname, india, even indonesia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 Good for you, you've foudn a retirement home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joshterran 1st Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 I really envy people who hold M'sia citizenship while holding S'pore PR status. Earn well in SGP while being able to retire in comfort in Malaysia. Especially those M'sian staying in J.B, travelling to and fro S'pore to work. E.g : a technician earning $ 1,500/- in SGP and convert close to RM 3,500.00 in J.B, almost earning like a sales executive in M'sia. These PR or working M'sia can easily afford to buy a good car and to pay for a condo instalments back in M'sia. As for S'porean, slogging all our life to pay and pay even after retire in 62 years old still have to work again to support till we die. Therefore in SGP, work and work till you die !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged November 19, 2007 Author Share November 19, 2007 lower pay nvr mind but the costs of living here (basic necessities are killing pple) r just too much. costs of living in bkk is not cheap but here we get to make choices. u really can determine the kind of lifestyle u want here in bkk. though we dun hv much PH like spore, we still can venture outskirt of bkk to xplore the wilderness. spore is like a bird cage sheltering domesticated pigeons & homing pigeons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 (edited) Actually we have only ourselves to blame. We are not making enough babies to supply the workforce. There are shortage of workers across the board. Be it engineers, teachers, even food court helpers are in shortage. Just take my office collegues for example. +/- 5 years my age, only 1 collegue is like me...with 2 kids. None have 3 kids & above. 60%% are permanent DINKS & singles. To drive my message to the point. Future funerals will be very much quieter than now. For many, the govt may just collect the body and cremate on the same day. Cos no siblings or kids around to attend his/her funeral. Edited November 19, 2007 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 I am waiting for them to do so. But unless they start to see -ve in the economy, they would not do anything to reduce those. Alrdy, the garment recently reduce the subsidy for educating the PR's kids. Also a PR's HDB flat if undergo upgrading, they will need to pay 100%. Hope to see more of such things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 i say we hire FT as our gahmen... just like Holland in the 1600s, they hired Englishmen to rule for them, priority was to boost the economy and make every Dutch citizens rich... i dun understand why we cannot be like Dubai... their citizens are much lesser than their PR, but the interest of their citizens are well-protected... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 (edited) Yap it is the same around the world. Those 1st world countries will also detest us when we go over there to work. eh wake up bro...don't u know yet? Many countries are already shifting out of SG to relocate to places like china, vietname, india, even indonesia. U tell me for what? I started this thread meh? No. U wake up. U should chill also. Edited November 19, 2007 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 Finally, someone who sees the big picture why we need FTs . We simply do not have enough manpower. Everyone is complaining of not enough salary. And imagine if an average office worker were to earn 5K-10K here and throw out all the FTs, where is SG's economy heading? Why would investors wanna come in? Don't get me wrong. I hate FTs as much as anyone of u guys here. How I wish i could draw a 5 figure monthly salary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 Eh boy (grow up pls), u got a problem with me isit? I was only replying to your post! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...