Yeshe Turbocharged November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 wah, still recovering from shock just now, was driving along kim seng road, just after great world city. there is road works in the middle lane 3. i was in lane 2, a van in lane 1 just slight behind me. as there is a RED traffic light in front, both me and the van and cruising to a stop from 50km/h. when we just pass the road works, suddenly a teenage gal about 20yo out of nowhere dash across our path and she instead of checking for traffic from the incoming direction, she look at the other direction while dashing across! i immediately horn and ebrake thats when she realise she was looking at the wrong direction, she scream and continue her dash across, van also horn non stop. i think i missed her by 1/2 car length KNN, if i have driving faster, i probably have killed her. sometimes, even when drivers are not at fault, when we knock down someone, sure alot of trouble.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 This is exactly the kind of scenario that I dread facing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 Sadly the law sides with the ones who were born with a full size brain but without 100% brain cells included. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 phew good thing u were slowing down already... otherwise... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 come fr country tat drives on the wrong side lor... wat to do. b careful.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angelvine Clutched November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 just drive safe... sometime that girl is fated to die and you are fated to be unlucky at that time... so the god can do 2 things at once... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 wah, still recovering from shock just now, was driving along kim seng road, just after great world city. there is road works in the middle lane 3. i was in lane 2, a van in lane 1 just slight behind me. as there is a RED traffic light in front, both me and the van and cruising to a stop from 50km/h. when we just pass the road works, suddenly a teenage gal about 20yo out of nowhere dash across our path and she instead of checking for traffic from the incoming direction, she look at the other direction while dashing across! i immediately horn and ebrake thats when she realise she was looking at the wrong direction, she scream and continue her dash across, van also horn non stop. i think i missed her by 1/2 car length KNN, if i have driving faster, i probably have killed her. sometimes, even when drivers are not at fault, when we knock down someone, sure alot of trouble.... Did she dash out from the Great World City side? If she did, and she didn't know that Kim Seng Road is a one-way street, that probably explains the checking of her right for traffic and not realising the traffic is on her left. That's why it's important to check BOTH sides are clear before crossing the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emils 2nd Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 Nowadays, the pedestrians are getting quite reckless. I had a few close encounters lately too and I remember my hands were trembling for quite a few mins after those encounters... Nowadays, I'm a little paranoid whenever I see pedestrians crossing roads. Sometimes, I think their minds are on something else and not focused on the fact that they are walking across a road with vehicles zooming by! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 (edited) Sadly the law sides with the ones who were born with a full size brain but without 100% brain cells included. Well, put it this way : If a person STANDING (not walking or crossing), and is facing oncoming cars by the side of a road, and our car is almost passing by that person. At that split second, s/he suddenly dash out in front of our car. I don't think under that circumstance, anyone of us will be able to stop in time. This is a clear cut suicide case. Question is, are we still at fault? Given the TS's case, I believe the TS won't be at full, or even more than 50%, at fault. There was a case along Alexandra Rd where the driver was able to prove that the road light not enough to see a person was crossing the road. (But ALL cars here had headlights, and are suppose to switch on after 7pm right?) So, its not always 100% drivers fault lar. Edited November 18, 2007 by Kingkong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 (edited) i got one uncle riding his fooking bicycle at leisure pace across the junction when the lights are green in my favour and had to brake until almost 20km/hr(mind u i was on the extreme right..) just to let him pass. at jln boon lay near jurong point just now. heng my car is a slow one. Edited November 18, 2007 by So_nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 Don't worry, he won't be around for too long. Anyway, hope it won't be us to cause it yar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 wah, still recovering from shock just now, was driving along kim seng road, just after great world city. there is road works in the middle lane 3. i was in lane 2, a van in lane 1 just slight behind me. as there is a RED traffic light in front, both me and the van and cruising to a stop from 50km/h. when we just pass the road works, suddenly a teenage gal about 20yo out of nowhere dash across our path and she instead of checking for traffic from the incoming direction, she look at the other direction while dashing across! i immediately horn and ebrake thats when she realise she was looking at the wrong direction, she scream and continue her dash across, van also horn non stop. i think i missed her by 1/2 car length KNN, if i have driving faster, i probably have killed her. sometimes, even when drivers are not at fault, when we knock down someone, sure alot of trouble.... i had a similar experienced. when the light turned green in my favour,i was already stepping my gas to do a left turn and out of a sudden a girl(looks like china girl) dashed across the road causing me to jam brake. it happened so fast that i did not even have a chance to horn her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiek Neutral Newbie November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 I also almost knocked down a cyclist today. When the traffic light at the junction turned green, I was first off the line and travelled for about 100m when this cyclist beat the red light from his junction to cut across all 4 lanes right into my lane which is the extreme left. Braked so hard and just narrowly missed him. He kept waving sorry to me.. but I was feeling that what's the point of apologising. If I was distracted for that moment, he would have gone flying while my car would only get a few scratches. If ppl don't cherish their lives and do stupid stunts like that, no matter how careful we drive also no use. Driving is such a stressful thing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 driving is not stressful. only made so by many road idoits and pple who managed the roads. u noe who lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear November 18, 2007 Share November 18, 2007 Many idiot cyclists are cycling against the flow of traffic nowadays. It's a matter of time before they meet their makers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 I will take this as a signal to drive more carefully Just last week, 2 near accidents happened on me. First, I was driving near a school zone...it was a minor road with lots of humps. A school kid suddenly dashed out of nowhere and almost hit my car. Yes, the kid was running toward me...for once, a pedestrain was trying to hit a car I jammed brake and missed him by a couple of inches. Luckily i wasnt going fast, only in 2nd gear. Then, later on the same day, I almost had another accident with a black jazz along Queensway. I was on the extreme left lane preparing to turn left. This guy was on the extreme right lane, but he suddenly cut through 3 lanes attempting to turn left also. I horned to warn him but he kept on coming, also missing my ride by a whisker Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged November 19, 2007 Author Share November 19, 2007 car hit car still ok.. because there will be debate who is at fault and proper claim procedures. car hit pedestrian, even if pedestrian is at fault 100%, driver is going to have hard time. thats the difference Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 19, 2007 Share November 19, 2007 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...