Ford ST - Test drove a powerhouse drive

Echelon

Yesterday, I test drove the Ford ST - wow, I was blown away by the power that I must say is better drive than the GTi - (ok GTi lovers dun flame me) the ride was really power packed and the handling was exceptionally marvelous after the drive there was a wide smile on my face and the feeling of hair swept back by the power, in it the funniest thing was a small Japaness car tried to race the test drive. Btw it was a manual gear. thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif My bro was also test driving it manage to spin the back tires from stand still....woah.

With its turbocharged 166 kW 2.5-litre 5-cylinder Duratec ST engine, this engine is coupled to a slick-operating six-speed manual gearbox and capable of a top speed in excess of 240 km/h, it needs only 6.8 seconds to accelerate from 0 to 100 km/h.

Never had Ford on my mind but the German built Ford ST changed my mind about Ford cars.

Heard that Ford is launching the All New Modeao end of the month and also the S Max as well. thumbsup.gif

So did you eventually sign the papers or you need a couple more road tests? [laugh]

When you say its a better drive than the GTI; in which aspects? I'm just curious cos i love the GTI but i can testify to the normal road holding of a focus.

Spin the back tires from a stand still?

Doesn't the Focus ST have front wheel drive?

Won't most MT cars spin their driven wheels from standstill with an aggressive enough clutch drop?

The Focus ST is an undeniably quick car, but you'd really have to appreciate the handling and interior and "European"-ness over similarly priced Japanese sports sedans.

Let's call the ST a nice round 100k.

In this range you have the WRX or WRX STi, Accord Euro R, FD & FN Civic Type R, RX-8 (just the Japs). Otherwise you can throw the VW GT and GTI in the mix as well.

Some of these Japanese cars are quicker, one is RWD, two have more driven wheels, some are easier to upkeep. Each has their own attributes to offer.

Call it a comparison if you may but it is simply recognizing what the Focus ST offers that the rivals don't, and accepting certain foibles that come along with that choice.

Personally I feel it is achingly aggressively beautiful on the outside, orange paint gives it tremendous road presence, as does the lowered stance and fat wheels. On the inside, it looks good in front, I like a sombre driving environment so greys and silvers are ok. The rear seats seem a bit low rent - the rear door trims felt to me like some sort of egg-tray plastic material, hard, scratchy and cheap feeling.

Maybe it is hard to get away from the fact that the regular Ford Focus in its home market is an everyman's sort of car, and the ST is based on this. In fact, bar the RX8, all the other cars I've named are high performance versions of a basic car. And the relation to lesser brethren shows - it is only how sound the basic design was, then.

2.5 litres should already produce enough torque for any sort of driving in Singapore, yet they put a turbo on that just to spice things up. It drives well, and I feel they've gone with a conservative tune rather that put up ultimate numbers. 6.8 secs for the century sprint is decent but I am sure it can be better with some small mods.

Edited by Macrosszero

Not that I own a superfast ride but what is 6.8 seconds these days? haha. So-so lah. You'll be wanting more once you get used to it.

The ST has an amazingly broad torque curve. Peak torque from 1600rpm is no joke. Its so tractable, you can leave the stick in 5th or 6th upslope and still be faster than many cars flooring in 2nd or 3rd gear. Engine note's not bad too.

But lowest seating position is still too high for me. And it looks too discreet in colours other than bright orange. hahaha

A $100K ST with 2.5L road tax to boot. You have to compare against the STI, even the highest end RX8 and FN2R are cheaper by cost of ownership comparison.

Build quality may not be better than Honda.

Handling is certainly not better than STI (AWD), RX8 (RWD) and the Honda R (FWD with LSD) also.

Looks are subjective of coz, but i do agree it has lots of road presence.

so ditching your SPB?...

Yesterday, I test drove the Ford ST - wow, I was blown away by the power that I must say is better drive than the GTi - (ok GTi lovers dun flame me) the ride was really power packed and the handling was exceptionally marvelous after the drive there was a wide smile on my face and the feeling of hair swept back by the power, in it the funniest thing was a small Japaness car tried to race the test drive. Btw it was a manual gear. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup] My bro was also test driving it manage to spin the back tires from stand still....woah.

With its turbocharged 166 kW 2.5-litre 5-cylinder Duratec ST engine, this engine is coupled to a slick-operating six-speed manual gearbox and capable of a top speed in excess of 240 km/h, it needs only 6.8 seconds to accelerate from 0 to 100 km/h.

Never had Ford on my mind but the German built Ford ST changed my mind about Ford cars.

Heard that Ford is launching the All New Modeao end of the month and also the S Max as well. [thumbsup]

My bro was also test driving it manage to spin the back tires from stand still....woah.

Errr .... the Focus ST is an F/F FWD car. How did your bro manage to spin the back tires from stand still ah? [:p]

Typo Bro.... [wave] sorli ah.

To Bro Conned: Nah,I still love my Skoda Superb. I went with by bro and cousin, my cousin signed on the dotted line and poisoned me. The ride is wicked. [pirate]

I am Echelon's cousin who signed on the dotted line. This is my first car and I needed my experienced cousins to guide me through the process.

Echelon has not told you the complete story that he actually spent the past week or so trying to convince me to try the Mazda cx-7, space and pace for SUV with room etc - and give up the ST. I told him that I will try the cx-7 but he must also give the ST a chance. I warned him that he might kena poisoned because the ST's ride (and soundtrack) is very addictive. Now see him lah...he just msn me that he cannot forget the speed monster.

It is not just about all out speed or handling it is also about the "just right" comfort and the seamless way the ST delivers its power across its torque curve.

I did try out the GTI. Good things - sexy VW branding, nice interior and wide range of mods. Downside - stock for stock - the GTI does seem to run out of breath more quickly and somewhat twitchier handling (matter of personal preference - I prefer the rock solid feel). The 5-door GTI is made in South Africa whilst the ST is completely factory-fitted in Germany.

But the main drawback for GTI is the price. In UK, the price differential between GTI and ST is about GBP 1500 or S$4500. In Singapore, the differential is vast about S$25,000. All things considered, both cars are excellent and I actually always wanted a GTI. But is it really $25,000 better than ST? In my opinion no. If the GTI was closer in price as the ST, I would go for the GTI without hesitation.

The other thing about the ST is that it looks like a regular car. Conservative and does not attract too much attention (I got silver btw).

It is not the fastest around but it is practical enough to haul all my dogs and mountain bikes and has enough pace if I feel like being hooligan-ish that day.

It is all about bringing that grin to my face when I drive.

***I can confirm the rear wheel spin and that a souped up suzuki ignis turbo tried to jio us - in a friendly way. The driver really rammed his car to keep up, from the engine whine, can hear his car had reached its limit, I think ST was still only 1/4 power - haven't warm up yet. The ignis driver pointed at the ST and gave us a thumbs up at the traffic lights.

Edited by Crankster

jdm CTr will blow St away ..BUTz..

ford st got better ride comfort..over package is better

sound isolation better....

that why is 100k.......and is cheaper than GTI considerg they are 19k pound in uk

the handlg feel is different

go track take CTR..

on malaysia trunk road and highway..i take ford ST!!!

Haha...I'm the other cousin.

Please refrain from your accusation tone.

The Ignis came roaring pass us at probably his best attempt. We let him pass us knowing that the ST will whip his ass anytime. so in a way it was a friendly race, we were freindly and the Ignis was racing.