Smiley Neutral Newbie November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 just about 6 months into auto, i m missing my stick very very much. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 drvie saf 5 ton la lolx auto n power but once reach 50 stuck LOL I hate army vehicles! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viberzdae Neutral Newbie November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 i have been driving my dad auto car for the past 3 yrs... and just bought myself a manual car recently..... gosh... 3rd day into my manual car and i still stalling like hell...... stall at KAP mac carpark.. Wonder how to survive PS one lor... stall at traffic light.. think i stall like 5 to 6 times so far liao... hopefully I will get back the feel.... during my driving lessons last time i also nvr stall so many times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 (edited) I have been on auto for more than 7 years already. before that was on manual In order for me to switch to manual, it must meet 2 criteria 1)acceleration below 5 secs 2)I can afford it Edited November 16, 2007 by Adawang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear November 16, 2007 Author Share November 16, 2007 i have been driving my dad auto car for the past 3 yrs... and just bought myself a manual car recently..... gosh... 3rd day into my manual car and i still stalling like hell...... stall at KAP mac carpark.. Wonder how to survive PS one lor... stall at traffic light.. think i stall like 5 to 6 times so far liao... hopefully I will get back the feel.... during my driving lessons last time i also nvr stall so many times. wah i can see myself in the same situation as u if i make the switch man.... but bro... all the best, u gradually be a natural at manual again i'm sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackmafia Neutral Newbie November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 Having gotten used to the smoothness of an auto, I don't think I want myself or my passengers to put up with the constant jerking of the car due to the manual transmission. Jerking especially during upshift is unavoidable and getting irritating to me(esp those who like to upshift at 3k or more rpm). Sat in colleagues' manual cars and really cannot tahan the constant jerking. May not be obvious to the driver, but it's quite obvious to the passengers. Would you rather sit in a jerky toyota crown or smooth merc taxi? Like you mention jerking is oblivious to the driver and more for passengers. It still boils down to the person paying for the car and what sort of car he likes to drive. I have a friend whose parents advise him to buy a MPV for family reason. But after thinking, he went ahead with his heart. He has always wanted a Golf Gti and happily driving one now. Imagine he took his parents' advise and gosh, he told me he might just have to be stuck with a car he doesn't like to drive for god knows how many years.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viberzdae Neutral Newbie November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 hehe.. thanks... i tot im the only one like that lor.. kinda sad seriously... was so looking forward to driving manual... thn turn out to be like that.. my frens wanna hitch a ride i also dont dare pick them now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 in the 1st place, i wont buy an auto car at all.... for me, driving an auto its just like driven by the car... rather than driving a car... I prefer manual, i have total control on the car itself, if driving an auto, really dunno how to control the car, wanna use engine brake also dun have... thats just me, i know there are more plp who prefer auto due to traffic condition is SG... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear November 16, 2007 Author Share November 16, 2007 in the 1st place, i wont buy an auto car at all.... for me, driving an auto its just like driven by the car... rather than driving a car... I prefer manual, i have total control on the car itself, if driving an auto, really dunno how to control the car, wanna use engine brake also dun have... thats just me, i know there are more plp who prefer auto due to traffic condition is SG... yeah chose auto simply because of ease of driving esp singapore everywhere jam... but if ask me the pros of manual sure outweights auto... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 best of both worlds-- tiptronic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyv9 Neutral Newbie November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 I switch back to manual after 13 years on auto... take a while to get used to, which u will eventually after about few weeks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 my gf drives my manual car with heavy-duty racing clutch the guys here all cannot make it I drive manual and am starting to feel that the stock clutch is too soft for my liking. Have driven auto for a few periods of several days each. Each time couldn't wait to get back to manual. And no problems with switching back to manual after several days of driving auto. In fact was delighted to switch back. Wouldn't know about several yrs though coz I never intend to ever get an auto car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 Tried tiptronic before. Although can 'shift gears', somehow just different from the feeling and kick of manual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec79 6th Gear November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 manual is still my prefer choice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 17, 2007 Share November 17, 2007 agreed.. not shiok. the clutching n stick shifting experience not there.. and if your car tiptronic response is lethargic, its worse.. practicality still rules for me, would change back manual only when either sg don't have jams anymore, or i get younger.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...