Quantum 5th Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Hello folks, just wondering if anyone here have driven for many years than decides to switch back to manual cars for whatever reason... not been driving manual for over 3 years and have been on auto.. recently ask my friend to let me drive his manual and i really really CANNOT MAKE IT liao! clutch control, gear shifting all give back already. getting bored of auto and want to get a manual in future. have anyone had any experience to like this to share? if manual has same class car as auto, I will never switch to auto at all, unfortunately nowadays manual cars are almost extinct in mid-class affordable cars ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 (edited) Some current manual cars that I would really like to own: - Audi S3 / RS4 - BMW M3 (w/o SMG) - Honda Civic FD-R - Mini Cooper-S - Lotus Elise-S - Mazda MX-5 Miata - Toyota MR-S - Honda S2000 - Porsche Cayman / Boxter - Ford Focus ST For poise, balance and handling, the Lotus will be tops on my list ..... only problem is that it costs some SGD240,000 0-100 in 5+ secs on a 1.8L Toyota NA mid-engine Edited November 13, 2007 by Astrid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenlinliu1419 November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Hello folks, just wondering if anyone here have driven for many years than decides to switch back to manual cars for whatever reason... not been driving manual for over 3 years and have been on auto.. recently ask my friend to let me drive his manual and i really really CANNOT MAKE IT liao! clutch control, gear shifting all give back already. getting bored of auto and want to get a manual in future. have anyone had any experience to like this to share? Maual gear cannot be considered if girlfriend / wife has to drive it as well! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Maual gear cannot be considered if girlfriend / wife has to drive it as well! Tat the point, so that they cannot borrow from you and they cannot go everywhere without you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 (edited) i feel that maybe keep a OPC manual car for more fun and relax driving. a convertable or coupe would be nice. my reasoning is that during OPC timing, especially weekends, it make sense to take the ride out for some rounding. no jams, no erp, enjoy some cool air with the top down. at the same time can practice manual gear changing. can practice heel-toe also. my 2 cents. Edited November 13, 2007 by Linus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 hell no... my left leg gone case liao.. tks to the new gearbox like DSG that i'm seeing a bit lights of hope.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Author Share November 13, 2007 i feel that maybe keep a OPC manual car for more fun and relax driving. a convertable or coupe would be nice. wow that'll be nice never driven nor rode in a open top b4, onky sit in one at car showroom... must be damn shiok lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 u n pee sai dun go HC too often.. sure neng kar hong one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 i will switch to manuel if it's a performance vechice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 After having driven auto for the past 12 years, I will never consider going back to manual. I don't even know when to switch gears now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Author Share November 13, 2007 (edited) After having driven auto for the past 12 years... I don't even know when to switch gears now. haha me too... jialat right... Edited November 13, 2007 by Tunge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Here's my friend's story. I volunteed my car for a road trip up KL. It is manual car, she drives auto normally. She was a bit rusty, but manages soon after. Of course I crack a couple of jokes when she rev my first gear. Anyway, she gotten a manual car for her next. No complaints from her yet. Seriously, it should be much better than me, not driving for 4 years after my test. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 manual car how to avoid engine stall and roll back when starting up on up slope espacilly sitting on my passenger seat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 naughty ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 7 mths into Auto liao.... and already missing my old manual companion But during upslope and traffic jam.... must say auto treats legs better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 How? Practice lo. Practive makes perfect. It only takes me 2 days of jam to get used to my clutch. In 2 months, it is as if it isn't there. As for , that can be an issue. Although constant gear shifting does increase chances to touch..... That's why i gotten a small car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Having gotten used to the smoothness of an auto, I don't think I want myself or my passengers to put up with the constant jerking of the car due to the manual transmission. Jerking especially during upshift is unavoidable and getting irritating to me(esp those who like to upshift at 3k or more rpm). Sat in colleagues' manual cars and really cannot tahan the constant jerking. May not be obvious to the driver, but it's quite obvious to the passengers. Would you rather sit in a jerky toyota crown or smooth merc taxi? Hmm.... I think yr collegue really cannot make it for manual. My also prefers manual Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsoblurr Neutral Newbie November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 If you drive through CTE most of the time, then it better to go for auto, not because of the traffic jam, but safer when emergency brake. You follow too far, people cut in, you follow too near, then prepare to emergency brake. When driving manual car during emergency brake, if you step on the clutch first then you cannot stop on time as there is no engine brake. We have the habit of stepping the clutch then on the brake. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...