Tunge 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Hello folks, just wondering if anyone here have driven for many years than decides to switch back to manual cars for whatever reason... not been driving manual for over 3 years and have been on auto.. recently ask my friend to let me drive his manual and i really really CANNOT MAKE IT liao! clutch control, gear shifting all give back already. getting bored of auto and want to get a manual in future. have anyone had any experience to like this to share? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hctan Neutral Newbie November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Bro, Stick to auto gear better if not later like our resident Porker always dulan cannot play auto roam while dribing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 normally people switch from manual to auto due to convenient and easy to drive and manual car are getting lesser now aday. Even those new taxi also switch to auto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Can lah. It's just a matter of adapting. U just need some practice. It's just like u never swim for a long time but u'll not drown if thrown into the sea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoh Neutral Newbie November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 i was driving the autos for 2 yrs. After which change to manual car, priority to me during the time of purchase is; 1. Car no power. Must drive manual for slightly better acceleration. 2. Fuel price rocketing. Manual saves that few extra dollars per week. NOW!! Regretting, cos forgot to factor in jams getting heavier and heavier... The choice is yours... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 No diff,sometimes driving a twin cab tat is manual Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 (edited) If the auto and manual car are caught in heavy traffic jam. Which car do you think consume more fuel when stop move and stop move a little beside. Only manual car abit troblesome for clutch control. Edited November 13, 2007 by Jl1500k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 I made the switch abt 2yrs back. I guess u should be looking at ur routes/time u r driving to determine which one suits u better. If u r working in the CBD and consistently face peak-hr jams, manual can be quite a pain. However if u r like me and drive mostly during off-peak hrs, manual is the way to go BUT i still constantly think of changing back to auto, esp during jams Driving manual is fun but if u r stuck in a jam for >50% of the time, no point getting it unless u r a hard-core enthusiast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 i did it 3 mths ago....ok with the manual now.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 no issue take to it like a bird... CVT is draggy. feel like chainsaw under the legs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Hi, Was driving an auto '02 Sunny for 2.5 years then switched to manual TS. Never regretted. Better control at corners and during overtaking. Can switch to neutral anytime and just pull-handbrake for traffic-light stops (Auto have to step on brakes all the time and not advisable to keep switching between D and Neutral). Better FC. Only miss the auto-trans a little when stuck in an uphill MSCP jam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garis Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 I would as even though I'm driving a clutchless manual now, it has an auto mode which my wife likes. But if I were to switch back to manual, she'll kill me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Having gotten used to the smoothness of an auto, I don't think I want myself or my passengers to put up with the constant jerking of the car due to the manual transmission. Jerking especially during upshift is unavoidable and getting irritating to me(esp those who like to upshift at 3k or more rpm). Sat in colleagues' manual cars and really cannot tahan the constant jerking. May not be obvious to the driver, but it's quite obvious to the passengers. Would you rather sit in a jerky toyota crown or smooth merc taxi? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Tell her to wear flat soled shoes when driving manual. Women suck at driving especially manual. Just 2 days ago while waiting for a friend at a carpark, saw this woman of a minority ethnic group try to reverse park. Bcos the lot is lightly sloped she stalled about 4 to 5 times . She gave up and looked for another lot where she parked head first. Even for that she attempted twice to park nicely...head first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 Bro, Stick to auto gear better if not later like our resident Porker always dulan cannot play auto roam while dribing yes yes auto roam is very important aspect of driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 definitely would if I am fortunate enough to be switching from a normal saloon to a performance machine. Else, nah ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Author Share November 13, 2007 hmmm seems like there's a few pros and cons to it... well probably won't be switching anytime soon, but i'll definately take all the advice into consderation when that time comes... meanwhile i'll try whenever i can to get my hands on a manual to keep my skills updated... hah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Net__appliance Neutral Newbie November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 weird this question came up.... was juts thinking of getting a manual after 2 years of auto... Wanted the feel and drive of the car ...auto is just too uninvolved .. Read all the car review and all the review of nice drive , engaging handling are all manual cars.. Since when have you read a engaging auto-trans car review ? i drive a 318 and even that is so-so engagement ... Any better auto-cars to recommended ? or just as well, any manual car to recommend ? note : fun to drive takes top priority here , and exclude the super-cars ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...