Gim_ong Neutral Newbie November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 Hi all,. I have a habit to read up and do research , before buying things Especially Engineeering products. I have been wanting to try different types of Engine oil till I get one that is most suitable for my car. Well.. Engine Oil is like the blood of our car and the Oil filter is like the LIVER of our car. So the blood is important. I have found a website by chance and found useful Information in it. It is the API Website (American Petrolum Institiute), It will tell you a certain BRAND and Model of Engine Oil is certified by them. It is a good guide for people who wants to buy engine oil and know they are really certified by API. (Can check the list before purchase) NEGATIVE side is that I found a handful of Brands of Engine Oil that are not listed in API listing and yet make cliams of that their Engine Oil is of API standard. Brand not listed under EOLCS but Claim API standard Checked on 12 Nov 07 using http://eolcs.api.org/displayinfo.asp?Info=Viscosities 1) X Rev from Xtreme Lubricants Lab http://x-lube.com/xlube%20pg3A1.htm 2) KIC http://www.kic-oil.com/oil-grades.html 3) OWS http://www.ows.com.au/products_lubricants.html 4) Luqui Moly http://www.tommymotorsport.com/liquimoly/2_browse.htm http://eolcs.api.org/FindBrandByViscosity....Viscosity=5W-30 Can the any brand claim API standard if not certified under EOLCS of API. Could anyone crack the myth? Can Engine Oil Company Mislead consumers? Cheers Gimmy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 if the list on API site is comprehensive than it is indeed a myth... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 (edited) This is interesting. I cannot find carlloob listed either ..maybe more. http://eolcs.api.org/ Edited November 12, 2007 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 does it have the API starburst logo on the packaging? sometimes marketing tricks will say something like "Conforms to API Sx" or "API Sx Compatible", "Meets API Sx standards". sneaky. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie November 12, 2007 Author Share November 12, 2007 Well, we as consumer do not have the Engineering expertise to check if the Engine Oil is good or not. Really certified or not. We have to depend on professional bodies.. When investing we have to check if a financial Plan or the Company or the financial product is registered under MAS ( monetary Authority of Singapore). eg SwissCash SAGA. http://dragon.sgforums.com/?action=thread_...d=186230&page=1 http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/check_our_lis...Portal_IAL.html The check and balance on the FOOD consumed in Singapore is done by AVA. During Bird flu SAGA, we depend on the AVA to screen every poultry that comes into our country. Sometimes we buy product that have ISO 9001 standard just to safe guard ourselves. Cheers Gimmy (Just do not want consumer to be cheated, just have to be cautious) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie November 12, 2007 Author Share November 12, 2007 You are Right man.... Very SNEAKY ... They do not even need to have they API Starburst or the DONUT logo... They just can put a few lines to mention API dun know what they mean. Felt like 挎羊头卖狗肉, play with the word .... very sneaky to mislead, so that they will be off LEGAL Liabilities if any Consumer Activist want to sue their backside off. They only want is to get them certified if not dun buy from them.... SNEAKY I would rather they not mentioned anything about API if they are not certified. AS for now onwards, ... I will only buy the ENGINE oil that is listed in the API certification List. Some of the RETRO Oil ... the old brand like ROYAL Purple is in the API certified list. But it does not mean the BRAND is certified ... the particular MODEL of Engine Oil is certified. Like Mobil 1 ... have to choose the particular model( product ) among the Mobil product range that is Certified as well. Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 but brands like motul and redline are not listed.... hmmm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 Redline does not claim to be certified, unlike some brands which try to use it for marketing purpose. http://www.redlineoil.com/products_motoroil.asp They did mention a gear oil exceeding API GL-5 spec http://www.redlineoil.com/products_gearlubricants.asp So if we want to use an API certified product, we just have to check the mentioned website. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 Since you want to purchase API certified engine oil from now, some bits of information I've collected...IIRC, Not certified - Local Mobil 0w40 and 5w40 - Local Shell Helix Ultra - All cxxxxxe Certified - Local SPC 5w40 - Local Caltex 5w30 and 5w40 - Imported Mobil 5w30, 10w30 & 0w40 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lee74 Neutral Newbie November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 Question then... where to get those that are on the certified list? Local Caltex and Imported Mobil? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie November 12, 2007 Author Share November 12, 2007 I never Like Shell Helix Ultra anyway..... Dun know why C&C used SHU and still can claim API SM. C&C dun allow me to bring my own OIL. They just want earn our Engine oil + labour charge Else void Warranty. Say 3 years warranty ... man . this is 3 years of BONDAGE to pay high priced Maintenance. Well, I intend to try hunt from my own API certified OIL. After my warranty period. I will email C&C ask them why they used un-certified SHU and see what they reply. There is still brands you can go for, better try the big 4, to be safe. I wonder how is the ULTRAMAN Oil .. that had a hype .. sometime ago. 1) Shell Ferrarri 2) Mobil McClaren 3) Caltex Castrol 4) Elf Lubricant born in F1 , Renault Still have to check to see if the MODEL ( product ) is API certified Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie November 12, 2007 Author Share November 12, 2007 they might have got the API engineers to certified loh Must aSK THE API ... loh.. Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie November 12, 2007 Author Share November 12, 2007 At least Redline Oil is gentleman.. in the dealings loh. If u sell me fake immitation LV.. or Rolex.. say it is fake or imitation, I will not blame you for being HONEST. Not like some Lying Salesgirl and sales man ... at "PASA Malam" "Oh ... we only sell real stuff" , hear already also PISSED. Walk away dun buy, better buy some ICE Kachang or Char kway teow to makan better. Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 It seems to me that API certification being voluntary is somewhat like ISO9000. It tries to give consumer a certain measurable quality of oil, when the product is certified. And the certification is on individual product, not across the board. Some companies making great oils like Redline did not go for certification for some reasons. It could be that they are confident in their product without the need for certification, unless the market forced them to. Also, certification would probably cost money and last maybe a couple of years. So certification and recertification, may just add more cost to the manufacturer. Needless to say, there are some lesser known companies who would jump on the bandwagon by claiming to meet API SL/SM whatever, and gives the impression that they are certified. A passerby would not know the difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 ultraman also API SM lating leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 http://www.driverstechnology.co.uk/oils.htm There are more than one cerification body and then there are also OEM approvals ... So if OEM approve of the oils (for their own reasons) does API and ACEA matters as long as they maintain the warranty for using those oils? Another good site for info. http://www.carbibles.com/engineoil_bible.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie November 13, 2007 Author Share November 13, 2007 Is ultraman certified.. .? U check already ...? I checked like ... never been certified by API.... maybe ,,, ... I miss it... cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 13, 2007 Share November 13, 2007 dunno meh? [inline CIMG0690.jpg] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...