Edison Neutral Newbie November 23, 2007 Share November 23, 2007 Dun tink mercs is in any way better than lexus in terms of engineering, quality and performance. BMW better performance yes, not mercs no..its all abt the prestige and being branded thats all. (only for the lower specs though). I just cant stand those brand and image conscious buyers who bla bla away abt wat heritage , history etc...trying to act high class thats all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fos19 1st Gear November 23, 2007 Share November 23, 2007 that's prob why you will buy a Lexus over Merc and also why someone will buy a Merc over Lexus .. and it goes on for Honda, Toyota, Hyundai, Alfa etc .... -> no end ... buy a car that u really like and why bother abt what pple says abt it ? if others say I buy my car to brag and show off - so be it .. if others say I buy my car becos it's tops in engineering (?) - so be it .. if others say I buy my car becos it's the only one I can afford - so be it too ... as long as I am happy rite ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged November 23, 2007 Share November 23, 2007 (edited) Why you so bothered by people trying to act high class? They act high then their problem lor. Don't be affected by it lah unless you got inferiority complex. Anyway I think only a tiny tiny % of the entry level owners act high class lah. But I do agree with you that Merc is nothing to shout at. So ah pek Edited November 23, 2007 by Porker Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 23, 2007 Share November 23, 2007 If u r not sure what is finer art of engineering, buy a BMW E30 or E36. I nvr perceive it as status. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched November 23, 2007 Share November 23, 2007 (edited) crap? Buy slightly higher-end Seiko to compare with the low-end Rolex My director just sold his 6mth old GS300 and bought a new E200 My previous Japanese big boss also drove an e-class... his assistant drove GS300 Edited November 23, 2007 by Ncss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Natnut 3rd Gear November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 Bill Gates, richest man in the world drives a Lexus. My point is : what does it prove that your director drives a Merc--all it proves is that your superior has poor tastes in cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 (edited) Merc = poor tastes? Merc = crap? Makes me wonder the maturity behind such broad sweeping allegations. Merc base models are there due to market demand. Merc is not surviving just because it is an established marque and snob appeal and a market of people with "poor tastes". Merc has always been in the leading edge when it comes to auto technologies. What were introduced in their premier class will eventually make to the rest of the auto makers. This was the case with seat belts, airbags etc. And will be for their newer innovations in the recently launched S Class. Merc is about technology and prestige. Base models like the E200 has its place in the market (just as the 520). But Merc also has gems in its new V6/V8 engines that are no way inferior to the BMWs and Lexus. Rides like DC5 and CTR excite me, but when cruising in a relaxed mode around town, the E200 is eminently suitable for the task - smooth and luxurious. Edited November 24, 2007 by Vblaster_w211 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 (edited) Okay, lexus are good, richest man drive lexus. You have dammed good taste . It is also up to you to admire what brand Bill Gate used. I am just a f_uck type singaporean with poor taste but I will still choose the crap merc if I am rich. Thank You. FYI, just my opinion: Lexus looks boring, typical bigger version of toyota look... sorry, not my taste even how you force me. I rather choose the smaller and lower-power BM 3 series or c-class rather than a GS300... Okay, you can shoot me now... but it won't change my mind . Edited November 24, 2007 by Ncss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 Oh ya. Forgot to add.The BMW 320 is crap too. For those lexus lovers, please give some respect to others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 It just proves that money cannot buy taste.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 (edited) Ya lor... some people think that richest man has the best taste. Wealth ranking = taste of car ranking? Example: If one day Bill Gate isn't the richest anymore, and the new richest drive a hyundai or bmw. Then hyundai or bmw will become the best taste car. Edited November 24, 2007 by Ncss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edison Neutral Newbie November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 Why do you have to tell us what car your bosses drive???? I don't see it how it concerns us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crv007 Neutral Newbie November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 I guess this is the reason why Lexus will never be a major luxury contender here in Singapore; simply because of the lack of engine choices. If there is a IS200 or GS200 or LS300, there will be higher sales as most consumers will prefer a lower cc vehicle for the lower road tax and perceived better fuel consumption a smaller engine will bring. Even in Europe, the bulk of sales for the German luxury makers are fleet sales and lower spec/basic versions. Lexus wanna target Niche market not Mass Market... you want so many choice Toyota lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 Because this is forum, ppl are free provide info or feedback but of course not so nice to use insulting words like 'crap' or 'no taste' beacuse it will hurt others feeling... Very sorry if I have wasted your time reading. If it does not concern you, you may skip reading my comment. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 Don't think just Lexus lovers, think everybody needs to show some restraint/consideration/tact when posting. If not then any intelligent topic/thread/reply will quickly fall into insults/name-calling/ego-trips etc. Also, two wrongs does not make a right. For those lexus lovers, please give some respect to others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 In all fairness, I do not see any crass comments from those who appreciate Merc. I hope similar mature comments will be reciprocated by the supporters of other marques. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odyssey02 Clutched November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 The majority of people who give harsh and unwanted comments are those who only know how to quote experiences from friends and family and company factsheets. I really doubt whether they have actually experienced the drive in a Merc or BMW. They ought to learn some respect for people's choices and decisions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear November 24, 2007 Share November 24, 2007 Just two examples that can be found in this thread: 1. "Buy slightly higher-end Seiko to compare with the low-end Rolex" -This can be construed as a crass comment. Anyway both watch brands serve different market segments. Also, Rolex is a Swiss company. 2. "or someone who cannot afford a more expensive merc" -Apparently taste in cars is linked to which is more expensive in price. For the poster who mentioned about Bill Gates driving a Lexus, well Warren Buffet drives an old Lincoln Town car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...