New gs300 2008 model

Santa

actually, if one dun mind, can consider 1 or 2 yr old GS selling in range of 120-130K.

I dun see much differences btw pre-FL version and this FL version.

the last time i drove an e200, it was heavy like a tank, but then again, that was probably 8years ago. 5yrs ago, drove the e240 and found it more well balanced. and when i crossed over to lexus 3yrs ago, i doubt i'll ever go back to driving a merc unless it's 3litre and up and i've got loads of spare $$ to burn.

frankly speaking, the only thing i like about merc are its memory seats.

i would consider the merc to be rather overpriced, and yes, the bulk of its price goes to the badge.

lexus on the other hand is an undervalued gem, but honestly deep within, the only car that i won't mind forking out $$ for would have to be the bmw series with inline6 engines, $$ for both badge and performance.

i disagree with whoever that say that E200 is crap. Any one with common sense will know that this man is uttering complete nonsense. he should look up the dictionary the meaning of crap.

I'm driving a DC5R for anyone who wants to know what I'm driving. Nothing great and it bears no relevance to what this topic is discussing.

Now I tell you why common sense tells you the E200 is crap. You pay $178k for the following crap:

An extremely underpowered engine at 180+ bhp.

1.8L (what?!)

4-cylinders (what?!!)

16 valves (what?!!!)

0 - 100 in 10.2 secs (what?!!!!)

Cheapo and dated interior that looks like it's makeshift

Clumsy and boxy looking design like a tank. The Facelift is even worse - look at the front bumper - ugly like F.

It is touted as the car that "makes a lot of noise but don't move much" How true it is! [laugh]

Haven't you sat in a Merc E-class taxi? Bloody noisy and uncomfortable. Damn they sure re-define what "luxurious" means.

Please la I don't just anyhow shoot my mouth off. Go test drive one and you'll know. Step on the gas and you'll feel yourself like a truck operator.

And it's not true that I always criticize other cars. There are lotsa cars out there which I adore. From budget Jap VTEC engines to many engine-of-the-year awards like the BMW 325. And I do love the pedigree of the Mercedes Benz! The handcrafted AMGs, racing arm in the DTMs, innovative ideas like ABS, Distronic, etc. And I have to say the new E230's V6 is really smooth.

So within such a beautiful breed, the E200 is crap. And E200 owners are paying lots for their crap.

And to the E200 owners out there who think they have heaped a lot of "image" upon themselves due to the 3-pointed star, they are right. They are our laughing stock. [laugh]

So now your turn. Why is the E200 NOT crap?

Edited by Jeje008

Because of our unique environment, many of the luxury continental makes that most Singaporeans will purchase have the lowest engine specs to save on road tax but still provide the brand cachet.

But then again, in our densely populated country, there is not much need for a high cc engine unless one likes to rush from one traffic light to another.

i would consider lexus anytime den mecz jaguar or bmw.

lt might not have the brand. but it's super comfortable at least to me. My friend bought the gs300 6months ago, i sat inside and when i ask him start engine leh. he told me engine already started. didn't even near a noise. and also powerful. too bad still can't affoard 1 yet.

1st choice lexus

2nd choice Bm

3rd choice volvo.

among luxious cars

I'm driving a DC5R for anyone who wants to know what I'm driving. Nothing great and it bears no relevance to what this topic is discussing.

Now I tell you why common sense tells you the E200 is crap. You pay $178k for the following crap:

An extremely underpowered engine at 180+ bhp.

1.8L (what?!)

4-cylinders (what?!!)

16 valves (what?!!!)

0 - 100 in 10.2 secs (what?!!!!)

Cheapo and dated interior that looks like it's makeshift

Clumsy and boxy looking design like a tank. The Facelift is even worse - look at the front bumper - ugly like F.

It is touted as the car that "makes a lot of noise but don't move much" How true it is!

Haven't you sat in a Merc E-class taxi? Bloody noisy and uncomfortable. Damn they sure re-define what "luxurious" means.

Please la I don't just anyhow shoot my mouth off. Go test drive one and you'll know. Step on the gas and you'll feel yourself like a truck operator.

And it's not true that I always criticize other cars. There are lotsa cars out there which I adore. From budget Jap VTEC engines to many engine-of-the-year awards like the BMW 325. And I do love the pedigree of the Mercedes Benz! The handcrafted AMGs, racing arm in the DTMs, innovative ideas like ABS, Distronic, etc. And I have to say the new E230's V6 is really smooth.

So within such a beautiful breed, the E200 is crap. And E200 owners are paying lots for their crap.

And to the E200 owners out there who think they have heaped a lot of "image" upon themselves due to the 3-pointed star, they are right. They are our laughing stock.

So now your turn. Why is the E200 NOT crap?

dude, it's an E200. what do you expect? I think you're too used to your DC5R.

but honestly, the 1.8L supercharged unit is not extremely underpowered la. It's sufficient. The taxi E220 are CDI units. Diesel. That's probably why they are noisy.

I tell u even the JDM camry 2.0 even fare better den 3 series. Sit before in both car and i muz say i might as well choose camry 2.0 over 3 series. Some more can save a bomb.

Actually the Thai/US market(USDM)/Australian Camry that Borneo sells is higher spec than the JDM Camry.

In Japan, the Camry is positioned as a mid-level family car but because the Camry has such a good reputation in Asian countries as well as the fact that Toyota needs larger sized cars to compete effectively as "family cars" in the US market, Toyota has effectively made the Thai/US/Australian Camry half a class higher : it is larger,comes with 6 speed autotrans/has HIDs for the larger 2.4l engine and its chassis can handle high hp engines--> just look at the 300plus hp Aussie TRD Aurion(which is literally a Sg Camry with suspension/bracing upgrades and a supercharged 3.5L V6)

All these improvements the "Overseas" Camry has over the JDM Camry is to justify the price premium it commands over the Japanese version.

In this rare instance, this Thaiyota is actually better than the JDM version.

woah, absolutely man, your english powerful, agree with you on the parts about singapore road tax, insurance, the way things are, it makes many people get the base-model, C180, E200, 320i, just to get the brand

but thats nothing wrong man, really, to each his/her own, jeje dont flame these owners, everyone entitle their right to buy whatever they like [thumbsup]

Hee.. So sorry. Maybe I should have minced my words a litle bit. Just that I get a little emotional everytime I thought of the pennies that people are paying for cars not worthy of their price tags. I am also a car-lover, ya know?

Yup agree that at the end of the day, to each his own.

Peace. [:)]

i disagree with whoever that say that E200 is crap. Any one with common sense will know that this man is uttering complete nonsense. he should look up the dictionary the meaning of crap.

How can Merc be crap. Altho I dont own one, lets be objective...Merc had been around and is a respectable brand, a company that knows how to make cars.

My hair stand when I hear people make passing biased comments without thinking. I can only guess either one of 3: Lexus salesmen or lexus fanboy or someone who cannot afford a more expensive merc.

Personally I feel the image problem Lexus is experiencing is, whether u all agree or not, is because it is priced 'cheap' relative to say merc. I work in a Japanese company and we are discussing to add 1 more corporate car - the choice was a merc e or S-class or a lexus(probably GS or LS model). We already have a few lexus and merc. And I repeat, this is a Jap company here with Japs making a decision. I was surprised every japanese staff at the table said the company should buy a merc because that car will be used by the big boss at times to fetch bigger bosses [laugh] from head office and also important clients. Most in the meeting feel it would be disrespect not to use a merc for such occasions.

OK now can shoot me liao(flame suit) [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Ahbengdriver

i would consider lexus anytime den mecz jaguar or bmw.

lt might not have the brand. but it's super comfortable at least to me. My friend bought the gs300 6months ago, i sat inside and when i ask him start engine leh. he told me engine already started. didn't even near a noise. and also powerful. too bad still can't affoard 1 yet.

1st choice lexus

2nd choice Bm

3rd choice volvo.

among luxious cars

Dude to some people, that is a problem and reason why they dont buy this car. That is due to the sound proving, not because the engine is smooth until no sound, and partly bcos of the exahust they use on the car.

Edited by Ahbengdriver

If that crap Merc E200 can be priced at $178k. I don't see why the MUCH higher spec GS300 cannot be priced at $177k.

For people who compare price-to-price, you will see that the GS300 is a much, much more worthwhile buy. Badge? E200? Oh please..

please. i still go for an E200 if i'm a businessman.