IPPT FFI

Yeshe

Hey guys,

Need your advice or input on my recent IPPT FFI.

Just went through my 1st phase medical review for past 35yo IPPT FFI.

Been taking IPPT for the past 5 yrs, always pass but the results getting from bad to worse as I m not getting any younger.

I have pretty high chlolestrol for the past 5 yrs. During the FFI, my BP was taken to be about 150/80, ECG was OK. So the MO say that if need be, I will need to go for stress ECG to ensure everything is good.

Then yesterday, I receive letter from MO that I am cardiovascularly fit; as good as pass FFI. So now, do I rely on MO verdict and risk my life on that IPPT ( even 25yo very fit officer also can die after marathon ) or any other means to review the case?

Edited by Yeshe

if you really worried, maybe you can seek second opinion loh... but high chlolestrol is a really diet issue, not really a fitness issue, but then you know your body best... if feel anything... straight away must sound out... at most fail IPPT only.

as what Vince69 said.. look for another doc and sees what he got to say. then decide lor.. maybe its time to change a bit of diet manners...

no need to risk. it is a must for safety/conducting officer to ask "anybody not feeling well?" before the run. just raise up your hand then you no need to run already.

Personal opinion: We've served our share and time. There are other more important priorities than a IPPT. Don't feel well enough to take it, don't.

The army isn't gonna take care of your family or loved ones should you collapse from a run (sorry, no malice intended)

the other method is when run start just raise your hand until 40 yrs old, by the time you should be discharged from army..no more worry..

Incidently....i did the IPPT FFI recently too. And i FAIL !!!!!

Following is what the report say: (duno what it really meant..... [:/] )

Physical Examination Phase 1 Review

Stess ECG: number of coronary risk factors(0,1,2, or more): 2

Outcome: Cardiovascularly Unfit

Follow-up appointment: Military Medicine Institute (Cardiologist) on 12th Nov 2007

1) This is a 35 years old patient with a working disgonosis of:

2RF: Smoker / Hyperlipidemia

o/e: H:sls2

L: clear

General condition well.

Kindly assess and advise

I even got an excuse IPPT/RT letter until 31 Dec 2007. [sweatdrop]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

exactly.. everyone talks big but if anything happens then maybe, just maybe CO will attend my funeral.. then life goes on for everyone except me...

i dont mind dying for my country.. but i do mind dying for ppl's stupidity...

well said brother....I will die for my country if needed ...well...mainly becos We need that to protect our land and family....but to die on a running track...during IPPT...no need lah!!! we served our time liao...I intended to put up my hand on every run till 40...

Hey guys,

Need your advice or input on my recent IPPT FFI.

Just went through my 1st phase medical review for past 35yo IPPT FFI.

Been taking IPPT for the past 5 yrs, always pass but the results getting from bad to worse as I m not getting any younger.

I have pretty high chlolestrol for the past 5 yrs. During the FFI, my BP was taken to be about 150/80, ECG was OK. So the MO say that if need be, I will need to go for stress ECG to ensure everything is good.

Then yesterday, I receive letter from MO that I am cardiovascularly fit; as good as pass FFI. So now, do I rely on MO verdict and risk my life on that IPPT ( even 25yo very fit officer also can die after marathon ) or any other means to review the case?

dun be silly.... u better appeal or go see another doc to certify that u are unfit....

why bother to run and sweat for this stupid IPPT?

if you are the marginal 'just pass' IPPT result, might as well get yrself downgraded....

already 35 yrs old.... dun bother with SAF.... u serve yr time for them already....

no need wait till 40yrs old lah... me 36yrs old already no more IPPT liao... completed 13yrs reservist cycle

once finish reservist liability, unit stand down... no more IPPT liao

yes... think every man will be willing to die to protect their family and home... [:)]

your case similar to mine, I also failed FFI initially... excempt for 6mths for irregular heartbeat... then did the trackmill test at NUH ... then cleared FFI . [:)]

after that did 1 more IPPT, unit stand down... no more IPPT liao... [:)]

Personal opinion: We've served our share and time. There are other more important priorities than a IPPT. Don't feel well enough to take it, don't.

The army isn't gonna take care of your family or loved ones should you collapse from a run (sorry, no malice intended)

well said man.

on the issue of FFI,

if u really are worried, seek 2nd opinion and request for a medical review with supporting documents.

it aint worth it..

no need to risk. it is a must for safety/conducting officer to ask "anybody not feeling well?" before the run. just raise up your hand then you no need to run already.

curious.. raise hand, then come back next time, and if its over your yearly window, you'll kanna rt right?

then in twice weekly rt, raise hand everytime, but until?

waste time and petrol traveling to camp just to raise hand leh...

no end... better get that specialist endorsement..

or any suggestion for a 'cheaper' alternative?

cheaper alternative is go emart sign out a pair of Brooks (FREE!) and start training. then no need raise hands liao. at the same time it's good for your health. one stone kill 2 birds.

Edited by Ultramega