Simplyme Neutral Newbie November 8, 2007 Share November 8, 2007 hey guys... my frd is cosidering buying the jdm CTR... the only hold back is the stiff rear suspension... i understand that its a coil spring so asking any pros on whether it can be adjusted anot?? thks in advance ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilution Neutral Newbie November 8, 2007 Share November 8, 2007 u can go shc ask.. there gt alot of ctr drivers alrd drivin for some time alrd.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear November 8, 2007 Share November 8, 2007 (edited) me no pro. but this is what i know so far... nope. not adjustable. damper and spring rates all factory preset for super hard driving. all the linkages and bushings are beefed up too. furthermore, the low profile 18" RE070 tyres have super hard side walls. some say change tyre and put lower slightly lower pressure can soften the ride a bit liao. but the 18" 225/40 RE070s are bespoke to the JDM CTR, this size can't be found anywhere as of now. think twice before changing cuz its a rare and very good tyre, and very ex too. if your friend is a trackie, keep the original rims and tyres for track and buy another set for daily driving. if not, he has to bear with liao Edited November 8, 2007 by Relagsingh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazaki Clutched November 8, 2007 Share November 8, 2007 Isn't the stiff rear suspension something tat everyone wants for tt car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear November 8, 2007 Share November 8, 2007 weird eh? no offence to JDM CTR owners. know what you're getting. its a full on track car the moment its spawned from the drawing boards. if dun frequent track, dun buy. and changing to softer springs and dampers wun help alot too. but if that's the case, that brings to the question of why people get a CTR in the 1st place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zcold 2nd Gear November 8, 2007 Share November 8, 2007 er.. see not much point in softening the suspensions for the JDM CTR else get a euroR or uk type R or 2L FD2 or accord or legend... but as some bros put it in other threads ... suspension get a bit used to it can liaoz... aft some time he itchy to get even stiffer suspension... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zirco Neutral Newbie November 8, 2007 Share November 8, 2007 hey guys... my frd is cosidering buying the jdm CTR... the only hold back is the stiff rear suspension... i understand that its a coil spring so asking any pros on whether it can be adjusted anot?? thks in advance NO offense here but do yr friend know wat is he getting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml2spin 2nd Gear November 8, 2007 Share November 8, 2007 hey guys... my frd is cosidering buying the jdm CTR... the only hold back is the stiff rear suspension... i understand that its a coil spring so asking any pros on whether it can be adjusted anot?? thks in advance Yup, you should go and ask in SHC's Civic FD/FN folder - I believe there's a CTR meetup this Friday - see details in that folder. It's best that you seek owners' opinions - no matter how good intentions are here, I doubt any of comments posted here so far is based on actual driving of the CTR or even feedback from the owners -- if they are, I stand corrected. According to feedback from at least two CTR owners I know, the suspension, especially the rear, is set up specifically for track ie super-smooth surfaces -- they complained that at their usual cruising speed up to Sepang, the ride was pretty awful - bouncy and jarring. Honestly I won't be surprised if properly set-up suspension kits sell like hot cakes later on, when they become available. Another option that I heard of - one owner has changed to Koni Yellow dampers but left stock springs alone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 i think my feedback can be trusted cuz i got 1 colleague and 1 fren driving it. the car feels so 'tight'... put on helmet can straightaway go racing liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml2spin 2nd Gear November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 OK no offence hor - just that sometimes too much is based on web reviews and hearsay -- I can only claim to get feedback directly from CTR owners -- personal experience too limited: only managed a short 5 min test drive and a slightly longer test ride on busy local roads - both times in front so no idea how bad the ride is at the back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear November 10, 2007 Share November 10, 2007 hey guys... my frd is cosidering buying the jdm CTR... the only hold back is the stiff rear suspension... i understand that its a coil spring so asking any pros on whether it can be adjusted anot?? thks in advance If buy the JDM CTR, then must enjoy the standard features which comes along with it Your friend would get used of the rear stiff suspension and maybe as times passes by, he might wanna change it to stiffer ones The stock one is unable to adjust as it is not a coilover Mai Tu Liao, if pocket is deep enough, go for it How i wish i could afford one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear November 10, 2007 Share November 10, 2007 hey guys... my frd is cosidering buying the jdm CTR... the only hold back is the stiff rear suspension... i understand that its a coil spring so asking any pros on whether it can be adjusted anot?? thks in advance Your friend is the first I've heard who wants to soften a Type R suspension.... The Type R is immaculately setup. Don't mess with the handling unless with reputable aftermarket coilovers, which will be even harder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 (edited) dilemma... Edited November 12, 2007 by Schneider79 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 hey guys... my frd is cosidering buying the jdm CTR... the only hold back is the stiff rear suspension... i understand that its a coil spring so asking any pros on whether it can be adjusted anot?? thks in advance Better ask your friend don't buy. It's a lousy car. I'm driving 1 and the suspension sucks big time. Si bei stiff and jumpy. Sometimes got the vomit feeling after a hearty meal. The car is built for track and not daily usage. A normal civic is a better choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audionoob Neutral Newbie November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 If your friend don't mind the performance diff, go for the UK type R. Easier to live with..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 Are you changing anytime soon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 yup. saw the touge vid? all the aftermarket suspension slower than the original set up during the 1st run. j's racing look promising but crashed out. after several attempts by spoon then got improvement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged November 12, 2007 Share November 12, 2007 a good excuse not to "tong pang" people as it is too uncomfortable behind!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...