Saxo Neutral Newbie November 4, 2007 Share November 4, 2007 Hi I am looking for GR80 and was told stop production. Anyone using PP2, any comment. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saxo Neutral Newbie November 6, 2007 Author Share November 6, 2007 err....No one using??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncp91 1st Gear November 6, 2007 Share November 6, 2007 I am. Its a very good tire - I've sampled other tires like Bridgestone GR80, Yokohama Aspec DB, Falken (can't remember the model number), Dunlop Sport Max and is a very good all-conditions tire. It has very good grip, though probably not the best, given the full tread design. It makes up for it with a soft rubber compound which can wear fairly quickly. Tire noise is average. Its best feature is its reliability. It has very gentle and benign characteristics at the limit of traction and you never get the feeling it'll throw you off the road without warning. Wet or dry it has very similar grip that I feel quite confident driving it in all but the heaviest of rain and deepest of puddles. In most situations it copes brilliantly with puddles, dispersing water rather than letting the car skate over the water's surface. I highly recommend it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie November 6, 2007 Share November 6, 2007 its running on my dad's car, 225/50ZR17 consider a above average tyre, shouldn;t say it is a high performance tyre. previous using pilot sport and pilot sport2, i can say preceda2 is among the lwoer class as compared to PS and PS2. nevertheless, it is still not too bad in terms of grip, but noise wise it's rather not so good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prodigysaint Clutched November 6, 2007 Share November 6, 2007 serious ah.. stop production??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged November 6, 2007 Share November 6, 2007 which shop told u GR80 stop production? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saxo Neutral Newbie November 6, 2007 Author Share November 6, 2007 Yax Brx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saxo Neutral Newbie November 6, 2007 Author Share November 6, 2007 Thanks for your reply, the reason why I ask PP2 is because I am looking for quiet or low noise tyre and I was told this one not bad. U guys got any to recommend me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged November 7, 2007 Share November 7, 2007 I strongly doubt GR80 stop production leh.. got some bros here (myself included) got the GR80 in last couple months which are manufactured in 2007. Maybe Yax Brx got no stock (or no carry GR80) so wanted to push other model to u?? Check with other shops like Sox Tyrx or Pox Henx.. They for sure carry GR80.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 7, 2007 Share November 7, 2007 I'm using PP2. It's made in Thai FYI. I dunno why many ppl mentioned it's noisy but to me it's quiet. Very good grip when u kub corner. Good in wet & dry grip. Budget performance tires. My friend who had used the GR80 said it's ok only. He dun seem to be impressed with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saxo Neutral Newbie November 7, 2007 Author Share November 7, 2007 Wah.....blur liao...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 7, 2007 Share November 7, 2007 I'm also first time using. I just give it a try. If no good will try others. U won't know unless u had try them. There are always "better" tires in future. I believe u dun drive in a track on a daily basis. It's more than adequate for normal daily driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear November 7, 2007 Share November 7, 2007 Its still in production lah. Just got it last week at H Ty*^. fresh stock made on week 37 of 2007. They boss was telling me it just arrived. Good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kayaloti 2nd Gear November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 I'm using PP2 also but is from Jippon loh, certain profile are from Tom Yam Land not all. My profile should be 205/50/16 (which is Thai made) but I choose 205/55/16 due to it's from Jippon, quite and good grip on dry and wet. Thread wear of 240, already travelled almost 30K on it and still good. Just a bit on the high side for it price, else it's a good choice. Travel on NSH with heavy rain and visibility only about 5m in front confidently on this tire, steady and stable on patchy water. It's your choice when come to tire, we are actually putting our live on the 4 pc of rubber, so... which one should you choose ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David325 1st Gear November 15, 2007 Share November 15, 2007 Hmm, I'm using PS2 18" and its wear rate is actually quite ok and the noise is really not noisy..hence the PP2 should be even quieter. Wanted to get the 18" PP2 but totally no stock. PS2 are made in france while PP2 are made either in Thailand, Japan or China. You might get some odd PP2 make in Europe but i dun think it is available here anymore. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The01 Neutral Newbie November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 Hi David325, would there be any different in quality of the PP2 from Thailand? I'm sure Michelin being the world leader in tyres would not compromise the quality no matter where their tyres are made, or is it not? I asked, 'cos I've been told that the Thai-made PP2 is not as good as the European ones. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 16, 2007 Share November 16, 2007 My tire same profile as yours leh 205/55/16. U sure not all made in Thai? Maybe I go take a closer look at my tires. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...