Prediction: Sixth Avenue will have ERP gantry soon

Carndablues

Second time in about one and a half months, saw a team of people positioned on both sides of the road near the intersection with Bukit Timah Road. They were equipped with manual counters and video cameras, and also bright yellow caps!

Too professional and organised for any other purpose.

At last, the government going after the elite! [thumbsup]

Wrong lah. Elite at Oxley Rd. Got FT with funky cap & uniform guarding 24/7.

Bukit Timah area are rich peasants.

Where got elite going after their own one. [hur]

just FYI..the ERP gantry at Upp Bt Timah road(towards clementi road) after hume ave is up liao..

stupidERPatuppbttimah.jpg

and they are building another gantry at Hillview Ave before the roundabout..

anotherfxxkinggantry.jpg

[furious][furious][furious][furious][furious][furious]

6th ave in the peak hours can be super jammed thats y need ERP gantry. Unless they charge like $5, the richies staying wont be deterred & the others going to work from exiting eng neo PIE will continue to form the congestion in the mornings. this might end up as bi-directional erp gantry!

putting all these ERP gantries on lousily designed road system got use meh??

just sucking more blood from peasants most of the time [shakehead]

Putting up ERP gantries in Upper Bukit Timah, Hillview and Clementi sections is basically to prevent non-elites and their cars from plugging up the arterial roads servicing the higher-class, elite areas of Holland Road and Bukit Timah areas lah. Not so nice right? So need to look for atlernative route lor! [gossip]

Edited by W210k

I agree. Even raise to 20 bucks per entry those rich ppl also dun mind, their house alone already over a million, their car can let us buy a flat. Its juz to prevent those HDB ppl from bukit panjang, CCK, Bukit Batok ppl from using tat road and contribute to the jam.

Second time in about one and a half months, saw a team of people positioned on both sides of the road near the intersection with Bukit Timah Road. They were equipped with manual counters and video cameras, and also bright yellow caps!

Too professional and organised for any other purpose.

At last, the government going after the elite! [thumbsup]

I have seen "Operation Counting" like you mentioned on the road, on overhead bridge and on selected carpark entry.

Carpark which are shortlisted by this operation will have CASHCARD parking (instead of Coupon parking) soon after they finished the survey.

Well , I believe that they realised that revenue from ERP is much more lucrative comapred to COEs, Road tax and other taxation. In 1996, transport white paper, it has stated that eventually more cars will be allowed but charges will be based on usage. You can own a beautiful car but it will pain/burn your pocket when you use it.

Get used to it, switch to public transport and there, they will find ways to skin your pocket again. example : feeder bus to interchange, take mrt to town, take bus again to connecting bus stops, wait for connecting bus, take again bus to destination (whole trip make you spend at least S$5 ONE WAY).

NO escaping, if you choose to stay around town area (thinking can save transport $$$), they will price their flat really high (4rm flat at telok blangah for S$ 400,000.00). Still make $$$ from you irregardless you are.

We're little pawns slogging hard our entire life for the red & white flag