Limitedspeed Neutral Newbie November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 The most serious answer todate & the most intellectual too! The answer should be salt being more negative potent to man's health Moderation, my dear Watson! Moderation is the key to a happy, healthy lifestyle ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplyme Neutral Newbie November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 no nid 烦... best is don eat... den don nid to think oso.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Quote 1. I'm wondering from health perception, which is more evil than the other. 2. If my maid prepares bread for breakfast, should I go either for kaya bread or butter bread. Please comment. Thanks. Regards, i guess you didn't know that high amounts of sugar and salt is present for making bread ? I don't know about you, i prefer 2 pieces of fried bacon, 1 grilled tomato, 2 sunny side up eggs and a scoop of baked beans for my breakfast. Finishing with a glass of orange juice and a cup of tea or coffee depending on my mood. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Eat wholesome meal bread with thinly spread butter with fruits(Orange or Apple, Durian cannot) and hardboiled egg.. more healthy.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Quote Wah lau faint man... faint SIMI Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Go for unsalted butter. or sugarfree jam. solve all your problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 1, 2007 Author Share November 1, 2007 Quote According to toxicological profiles, salt is more toxic than sugar. The index that toxicologists used to measure acute oral toxicity of a compound is called LD50 in mg/kg - which is the lethal dosage sufficient to kill 50% of the test animal population. Assuming a sample size of 100 rats each weighing 1 kg being fed a compound daily, the dosage at which 50 rats died is the LD50. The higher the LD50, the less toxic the compopund. LD50 for sugar is 29,700 mg/kg and salt is 3,000 mg/kg. 1. Yap, this is an interesting answer. No wonder, a heavily salted water can help to ease sore throat. I wonder how those marine fishes cope with LD50? 2. I'm a simple person when come to makan. I'm contented with 2 slices of breads (anything will be, but no sweetened bread like Pandan, chocolate, rasin & etc) for breakfast each day, spread moderately with butter. Lately, my maid trying to spread kaya for me and I asked her why? she told me eating butter bread is very boring . 3. My dad has diabetic and doctors told me there is a higher chance of me getting this chronic disease, so I avoid sweet stuffs. Hence, I have this thought that sugar is evil . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terry3922t Neutral Newbie November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Hi: 1) LD50 is the one of the criterias used by organisations likw WHO, FAO and USEPA to determine acute toxicity of the active ingredients used in pesticides. 2) "I wonder how those marine fishes cope with LD50?" - LD50 values measure toxicity to mammals only - not aquatic or avian wildlife 3) I have to watch my glucose intake too as my blood sugar is borderline high. You are right to avoid sugar. Refined sugar is the worst culprit. So I am always ordering kopi-O kosong or siew tai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 1. switch from normal salt to Pansalt. It is good alternative. 2. Try wholemeal bread with margarine, though there are lots of self-proclaimed wholemeal... a good guide to the real thing, is that first bite is pretty dry. 3. If this the case, try to avoid carbos also. So beer, alcohol, carbonated-anything, heaps of white rice/starchy things are out. 4. I'm surprised that you worry more about salt in butter than the saturated fats that is responsible for artery cloggings. the worst sugar culprit is carbonated drinks. I rather indulge in ice-cream than a can of soda. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched November 2, 2007 Share November 2, 2007 Buay tahan ur comments sia... U power la u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie November 2, 2007 Share November 2, 2007 Quote To answer to yr question, I need to know whether are you eating wholemeal, white, brown or what combination of bread For me, I will have kaya, butter, creamy peanut, jam, french toast, ham, bak kua to play around. I love bread but cannot hv the same "dish" everyday. Ok, back to serious topic, it also depend on whether you like to spread it thick or thin. Then do you sprinkle sugar on yr buttered bread. All boils down to yr eating habit & whether you know how to moderate. I vote.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...