Apollo 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Help toilet operators keep the loos clean WE REFER to the several letters on public toilets published in The Straits Times recently. We thank the writers for their feedback. Maintaining clean public toilets requires the cooperation of both the public-toilet operator/building management and users. Besides providing good infrastructure, it is key for public-toilet operators/building managements to have a good cleaning and maintenance regime, while users need to act responsibly when using public toilets. Public toilets will not be clean if there is a lapse in any one of these aspects. Under the law, public-toilet operators/building managements are required to provide adequate amenities, for example, hand soap and toilet paper. In addition, there should also be cleaners to ensure that the toilets are always maintained in a clean condition. Public-toilet operators/building managements have the responsibility to ensure that toilets are clean and in good working condition at all times. Similarly, it is just as important that users exercise civic responsibility and use toilets properly, with due care and consideration for the next user. As a member of the public has rightly pointed out in another forum, 'as long as toilet users are inconsiderate, the washroom will remain smelly and filthy even if (it is) cleaned several times a day'. On its part, the National Environment Agency (NEA) will continue with its public-education programmes to promote good hygiene and sanitation practices. At the same time, we will not hesitate to take stern action against operators who fail in their duty to keep their public toilets clean. Since the beginning of this year, we have taken enforcement action against 64 shop operators for failing to maintain clean public toilets. Members of the public can call us on 1800-CALL NEA (1800-2255 632) to alert us to dirty toilets for our follow-up action. We appreciate readers' concern and thank them for taking the time to suggest solutions. S. Satish Appoo Director Environmental Health Department National Environment Agency http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Sto...ory_172494.html ah Wolve so eng, pls do donate drive for me.. I want a free Lexus LX300. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 i agree...a lot of us expects this n that without doing our part.we want clean toilet...so we must try to keep it clean.for instance...guys peeing...pls pls pls practice ur aiming.y is it so difficult for some to pee INTO de toilet bowl?i've seen countless times where de urine r ard de rims of de toilet seat...on de floor...what r those guys doing when peeing?!dancing ard?!for sure de toilet bowl is big enuf for us to aim at. n those who sh!t.y r there still ppl who dont flush?!dont they wipe their ass?!walked into a cubicle...n there they r! sh!t floating ard doing de back stroke.n de wash basin.y must ppl throw tissue in there?dont toilets hv rubbish bins?n pls pls...after spitting out phlegm...hv de basic consideration n rinse it off de basin. do we expect cleaners to flush for us?throw de tissue for us?wash our phlegm for us?the management will need to hire 5 cleaners for every toilet then.n we hv to pay $1 per entry!a lot of de public toilets r free....so jus do our part n make it usable for everybody else. *just my opnion.* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Maybe this will help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 finally u voice up liao.... but u depends on the wolve??? he will drove a Lexus 460 before u get your toylet wash Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Author Share November 1, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 ehhhh Y the foto ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 (edited) Not that I've been discriminting against our foreign labourers, but one thing I would like ot highlight is that from my observation, many that practise bad toilet hygiene tend to be foreign labourers. Take for example my office in an industrial building in Kallang. Our toilets has always been very clean and dry (not bad at all considering it to be in an industrial building). A few months ago, our company had just hired 6 china men to complement our production workforce (mainly malaysian aunties). Now, the toilet is a horrible place to go. Y? - Pee often found on the floor due/on toilet seats - Cigaratte boxes thrown inside toilet bowls - Paper & newspapers choke up toilet bowls - Wet floor due to water splashes from the sink - Cigarette burn marks everywhere - Shi-it mark staining toilet bowls - Unflushed toilet bowls - Artisitc writings on the walls in cubicles No kidding. Now my office's toilet look like a kopi tiam's toilet alrdy...smells like one also Edited November 1, 2007 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Actually many younger singaporeans now have quite good toilet habits. Even when you go to malaysia petrol kiosk toilet/highway toilets, if you observe, usually those who flush the toilet after they come out fromt he cubicles are actually singaporeans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Author Share November 1, 2007 i like the foto.. he has that innocent smile. it does not hide any intention. his request is so simple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 i like your picture more... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Wah.. Yr photos damn clear leh, 10 Megapixel ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Ermm.... their highway toilets r even cleaner than our public toilet in fact Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 no lah, u got a good monitor that all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Wait till u introduce some chinaman & bangalas using those toilets often and see how Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 cause they pee by the roadside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 tat's veri true sometime do saw some of them do tat, especially along trunk rd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 u r very wrong about them.. buddy.. i see them peeing all the time.. at least 1 per hour on the north-south... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...