Trip to Penang

Zenixth

Evergreen after renovated not long ago is quite ok. I especially like the Jacuzzi in room bath tab [inlove] Bayview is ok for the price...

I stayed at the new boutique hotel called G Hotel on my last trip. The room is small, but I like the contemporary design and location

Northam used to be good [thumbsup] But the rooms have not been well maintained, the service is below expectation too - my friends complain a lot during their stays few mths back [:|]

heard review on that hotel is not that good ...

Not so bad lah..... for that price.... I was there at this time last year and stayed 4 nights there.

Errr... I dunno what & which boutique hotel you're referring to.... [sweatdrop]

I stayed at the Copthorne last year Oct, and it wasn't that bad. For that price (RM$240 then), one cannot expect 5 star standard & service... but its alright..... not too shabby....

People usually recommend Snake Temple, Penang Hill, Kek Lok Si, Khoo Kongsi, Fort Cornwallis and Esplanade etc... Ang moh and 1st time visitors like these places, u may check em' out.

I find driving along the Batu Feringghi coastal line quite relaxing. U may also like the nice cozy cafes and restaurants converted from the colonial houses around George Town area.

Would u like to explore the underwater world? What about a scuba diving/snorkeling day trip to Pulau Payar Marine Park?

Hv fun [;)]

enjoy the beach, some sight-seeing, shopping and makan good food

any sight-seeing places to recommend?

Got their huge temple (can't rememer the name, think its Kek Lok Si) which is near the Penang Hill tramp station. Park at the bottom and walk all the way up which the stairways are lined full of stalls selling T-shirts, curious, local products, etc...

There's the Spice Garden, Butterfly park, of course the night market at BF, aquarium, etc...

If you like durians, you might want to take a scenic drive up the hills of Batu Ferringi. There are durian stalls by the road side selling very sedap fresh durians which just dropped down in the jungles behind. There is a nice dam along the way as well, roads up also can test your car's handling and suspension [pirate]

I have heard about the durians.... but I could not find my way up the hills when I was there. Can advise through which area???

Thanks

From Gurney, just follow the road signs to Batu Ferringi. From there just drive along the coastal road past all the major hotels .. there should be a round-abt further up after all the hotels, just follow the direction to the Butterfly farm (think it shld be the 9 o'clk turn-out), then follow the road all the way past the dam and up the hills. There shld be a couple of durian stalls by the road side. [thumbsup]. Just park by the road side and enjoy the feast .. I tried the one with a washing well by the side ... very fresh and sweet durians which cannot find here as they are eaten within a few fhours after dropping.

Edited by Bluesbro

Hmmmm.... I went to the Butterfly park.... then continued further on but didn't see any durian stalls.... in fact, if I remember correctly, it was quite a long drive passing by several housing estates and ended up on the bottom half of the island. (Industrial site).

Errr... I dunno what & which boutique hotel you're referring to.... [sweatdrop]

I stayed at the Copthorne last year Oct, and it wasn't that bad. For that price (RM$240 then), one cannot expect 5 star standard & service... but its alright..... not too shabby....

I'm looking at Copthorne Orchid too as I've one free night stay voucher. Plan to stay in Penang for 3 nights. I'm also interested to stay at Pulau Jerejak Resort and Spa, which gained its alias as The Alcatraz of Malaysia, because of the Jerejak Prison. This is an island that is in between George Town and the Mainland.

Regards,