COE Mercedes - Reliable?

Howfastcanyougo

To a Merc lover, this is what I called " Common Cough and Cold " issue, nothing to scare about, Love your Merc tenderly and she will serve you well.

I say again, one must be resourceful when buying old merc, where and how to source for your parts, Don't come here and cry Papa Mama over minor issue. Repair and maintain your Merc well, leak here and there are very common, after you had done that, do not sell off unless its engine stalled and can't start again . . . last solution is to up lorry, 

Bought a COE Merc (R170 SLK200) in 2009, the previous owner renewed COE early. Still driving the car daily. COE expire next year. Spent $9k in repairs since then.

Fuel pump, fuel hose, fuel tank, gearbox overhaul, replaced ESP module, replaced O2 sensor, replace brake booster pump, replaced 4 brake discs, 3 sets of tires (2 pairs of front and 1 pair back), replaced 4 sets brake pads, repair roofliner, replaced rooflight module, replaced both side mirror electric motor and engine mounting. Replaced rearview mirror ecause my son broke it.

Convertible roof was working fine until 3 months ago. Seals harden and hydraulic fluid leaked, drained the fluid out. Mechanic suggested I buy the rubber seals from ebay and he will replace for me instead of buying new hydraulic pumps. Aircon thermostat spoilt, so mechanic closed off pump to heater pipe, aircon working but cannot adjust temperature. Aircon always at coldest mode (feels like winter but wife loves it)

Thinking if I should scrap the car and get new car. So far car has been fairly reliable. Towed to workshop 2 times (once due to battery drained and once due to fuel tank leak). Or should I renew the COE next year. But squeaking noise here and there due to plastic hardened.

An older Merc is like your ex-galfren or 1st galfren whom she dumped you and came back after 6-8 yrs later while both of you were married with family. Now going back to your ex- slightly high maintenance eating at air-con rest only no hawker food and shopping in down town Mall and not neighbourhood HDB estate . . . Merc Benz car need some pampering and " Tender Loving Care ", if your concerns is about what is going to break down due to miscommunication or totally lacks of it, it partly due to your ignorance and naiveness. well that is ok too, it part of learning process 

If you still care for your ex and she still have feeling for you weekly, monthly, perhaps you have a chance of being together again, but then if your wifey come to find out about your mistress and throwing a tantrum, it is how you handle the situation and bring her to see a doctor ( your w/s mechanic or w/s boss ) who will conduct the diagnosis & prescription option for you. :XD:

Depends on what your w/s boss advise you , to change the whole intake manifold flap or change part by part where some car juz can't be change part by part, The faulty " Intake Manifold Flap " must be change to a new set completely- Understand brother !!

whats your new car going to be? something similar? will still be cheaper to renew and drive on. SLK is a lifestyle car, thus mileage shouldnt be too high.

maintenance with a conti will always be higher, you get crap like to change the fuel tank and hoses, ESP module, brake booster pump, rooflight module which most japanese cars will never need to.  

having said this, the SLK isnt a car that easy to sell off also. maybe you can take a punt and renew now and try to sell off in a few years when the coe is higher. but probably you also need to get a new car soon also.

Am looking at Stonic, Avante or Jazz. Definitely more expensive to get new car. The problem with the SLK is that it is 2 seater, cannot ferry both kids if need to but 99% of the time is just wife driving to work. The car is already 19 yeas old. Car having old age issues is troublesome as there will be downtime and the logistics of sending to WS. R170 engine is still good and likely to last as it is cast iron, not aluminium like new ones. Car mileage is about 160k. Since almost all parts of the brake system replaced, likely to last another 5 years or more. Only thing worrying at the back of mind is the electrical/wiring system. Wires also has a best before date.

Pros and Cons of new car and keeping current ride. Headache. Not really classic car lover. But soft spot for Merc as my Dad's car was W123 which I drove after getting driving license. Still have 10 months to decide.

W/S said engine still in very good shape. Should keep. But big issue is that, car driven by wife. Even small issue is "common cough and cold", I will kanna earful. ;-)

This is a still a head turner. Many people cannot believe that it is 19 years old.

To a Merc lover, this is what I called " Common Cough and Cold " issue, nothing to scare about, Love your Merc tenderly and she will serve you well.

I say again, one must be resourceful when buying old merc, where and how to source for your parts, Don't come here and cry Papa Mama over minor issue. Repair and maintain your Merc well, leak here and there are very common, after you had done that, do not sell off unless its engine stalled and can't start again . . . last solution is to up lorry, 

Am looking at Stonic, Avante or Jazz. Definitely more expensive to get new car. 

The cheapest brand new Jazz is $78K.

Stonic starts from $81K, and Avante from $82K.

If budget is an issue, the Perodua Bezza at $62K or Mitsubishi Attrage at $65K should fit the bill if you are not fussy. And you will feel a lot richer in the pocket  [;)] 

Edited by Vinceng

i would say renew it.

mileage is not high and its not a french car so electrical glitches is less of a concern.

i would rather keep this 19 yrs old car than the other options you have named.

Am looking at Stonic, Avante or Jazz. Definitely more expensive to get new car. The problem with the SLK is that it is 2 seater, cannot ferry both kids if need to but 99% of the time is just wife driving to work. The car is already 19 yeas old. Car having old age issues is troublesome as there will be downtime and the logistics of sending to WS. R170 engine is still good and likely to last as it is cast iron, not aluminium like new ones. Car mileage is about 160k. Since almost all parts of the brake system replaced, likely to last another 5 years or more. Only thing worrying at the back of mind is the electrical/wiring system. Wires also has a best before date.

Pros and Cons of new car and keeping current ride. Headache. Not really classic car lover. But soft spot for Merc as my Dad's car was W123 which I drove after getting driving license. Still have 10 months to decide.

then my take is to renew it now and sell it off over the next few months. COE is on the uptrend. it might take some time before 35k PQP is around again. i doubt it will happen over the next 10mths.

at the same time buy a new Avante stonic or jazz. in the end, the utility of have both cars able to do ferrying is good. what will bother you more, is the continuous earful you gonna get each time it breaks and it will break. usually the other half doesnt really care about cars, as in how they drive etc. all they care is to look good in them. if i may say so, the reason why the SLK is still tolerated by her is because its a stylist Merc. if it was a 2 seater japanese, maybe your ears would have fallen off by now. 

i would assume your other car is a reliable Japanese?

Stay away from the W123. unless it has been sorted.but sorted ones commands a premium. Also Rust will always be there.

Looks like folks here favour retaining R170. ;-) Cost wise to get new car and keep current car is pretty much even due to higher road tax, higher maintenance and repair cost of the older ride. Not considering Myvi or Attrage although prices are attractive.

Wife not really into the looks of the car. But it helps that it is not an ugly car. It is the size of the car and the super cold aircon that she likes. And she drives at most 10km everyday. Still weighing options. Renew COE and sell later is really a strong option. Selling now is out as dealers only offering $3k so does not make sense (paper value is already $1.8k), even if I take taxi for next 10 months will cost even more than that.

I drive a Japanese MPV now. Used to drive a Japanese SUV.

Thanks all for the sound advice.

Edited by KimiR

It depends, some do sell with road tax some do not, but insurance excluded. Did you add up to your first month, insurance and road tax to ensure it tie back to 64500 ?

Looks like you bought a COE car, hope all is good. All the best.

I just renew my COEs today .

I just renew my e200 and I cant imagine have to spend so much on repair in one shot, my car has been reliable so far, mind sharing your problems ?

Hi, may I know the age of your W212 (year of registration). Good the hear that you have just renew COE. My Merc E250 is still running well, but COE expired only next year Dec. Encounter 2 issues last month with the E250, ECU faulty and front engine cooling fan faulty. Repair and replace and the car is back to good health again.

I learn to love the car and not drive like a BMW, lol.

Must be gentle driving a Merc and it will serve you well.

Hi, may I know the age of your W212 (year of registration). Good the hear that you have just renew COE. My Merc E250 is still running well, but COE expired only next year Dec. Encounter 2 issues last month with the E250, ECU faulty and front engine cooling fan faulty. Repair and replace and the car is back to good health again.

Hi, my W212 COE to be due by end Dec  2019 this year.  I forgo about 7 months of depre to renew COE early. Your COE due by next year Dec will be too much for you to renew now. You have about at least 20k buffer to play with comparing you renew now vs waiting till Dec next year. so I think it makes sense for you to wait , for two reasons:

you can continue to drive the car, and have the flexibility to renew or not to renew by end next year.

if you renew now, you write off you depre but you end up having a lower COE car, you would rather wait till Dec next year to renew COE, you will have a higher COE car, in case you want to sell or scrap, you get back more money.  

Hi, my W212 COE to be due by end Dec 2019 this year. I forgo about 7 months of depre to renew COE early. Your COE due by next year Dec will be too much for you to renew now. You have about at least 20k buffer to play with comparing you renew now vs waiting till Dec next year. so I think it makes sense for you to wait , for two reasons:

you can continue to drive the car, and have the flexibility to renew or not to renew by end next year.

if you renew now, you write off you depre but you end up having a lower COE car, you would rather wait till Dec next year to renew COE, you will have a higher COE car, in case you want to sell or scrap, you get back more money.

I concur. Hence I am sitting by the fence now.

:secret-laugh:

On 4/24/2019 at 9:53 AM, KimiR said:

Bought a COE Merc (R170 SLK200) in 2009, the previous owner renewed COE early. Still driving the car daily. COE expire next year. Spent $9k in repairs since then.

Fuel pump, fuel hose, fuel tank, gearbox overhaul, replaced ESP module, replaced O2 sensor, replace brake booster pump, replaced 4 brake discs, 3 sets of tires (2 pairs of front and 1 pair back), replaced 4 sets brake pads, repair roofliner, replaced rooflight module, replaced both side mirror electric motor and engine mounting. Replaced rearview mirror ecause my son broke it.

Convertible roof was working fine until 3 months ago. Seals harden and hydraulic fluid leaked, drained the fluid out. Mechanic suggested I buy the rubber seals from ebay and he will replace for me instead of buying new hydraulic pumps. Aircon thermostat spoilt, so mechanic closed off pump to heater pipe, aircon working but cannot adjust temperature. Aircon always at coldest mode (feels like winter but wife loves it)

Thinking if I should scrap the car and get new car. So far car has been fairly reliable. Towed to workshop 2 times (once due to battery drained and once due to fuel tank leak). Or should I renew the COE next year. But squeaking noise here and there due to plastic hardened.

We are almost on the same path,I bought a CLK200 A209 renewed early too, by the shop.

To buy into dis type coe renew car,u  gotta factor into the repair bill of course but nothing too alarm of.

I m more alarm ,when I must LOSE so much due to depreciation,when buying new,,think abt it?

Going for 10 yrs old mb?

dats a method to all dis madness.........

*arrange for a wshop to do an inspection for u,arnd 60 bucks. with yr dealer permission ,of course.

*set aside 3-5k to sort out the full service(all fluid change)plus some immediate problems first.

Dun one shock do so many things,do it progressively.

when u negotiate with yr dealer to bring it for inspection ,skip sta ,vicom those basically are a waste of time,juzz tick the box onli.

Ask the dealer for the term & condition when request for inspection,some dealer will says ,if all the condition is good,u have to buy the car.......

Dun.

Soft TOP needs maintenance ,it’s not dat straightforward.

dats one guy name Jason , who can manufactured the seals to overhaul the cyclinders,if u are first time on a cabriolet ,u gotta mix around more.

Actually mercs parts are not x’pensive ,u will surprise some parts are cheaper than a Toyota !

My first merk was a 1.6 W204 kompressor & I juzz step off from a 2L Camry & I got a rude awakening.

The supercharger have more horsepower than a normally aspirated 2000cc engines & is more comfortable ,refined piece of engineering ,plus equivalent  or cheaper spares too.

I dun like to compare the cost of motoring but u one shock spend 9k & now contemplate selling,dat is no good.

U should  get  a good mb wshop on board ,dun have to be mercs specialist ,G6,tech Choon & Balmoral auto dabs with mercs,more than others.

For mercs ,once u replace so many parts ,it Wun come back & haunt u any more,u can starts to enjoy yr ride from now on.

I notice u keep mention abt its. a 2 seater & u need more ?

U did owns a SUV too,why dun u swop with the Wife on dis.

Dats gets me thinking,did u realli do yr homework before putting pen to paper.

For continental & especially mercs ,it’s so wide & varied,it’s juzz min boggling.

After spending so much & scrap..........

well well WELL

• Dislike 1

On 4/25/2019 at 10:18 PM, ccsgl1900 said:

The E250 is one proper MB .if  yrs is the 7G version & comes with the gear select ,it will be awesome.

I own one previously ,the last of the  pre face lift one ,with more than 200 horses ,more than enuff for anybody.

Even the old E250 cgi version,my neighbours got one , coe renew still a veri comfortable  drive.

Dats so much romance abt coe renew merks,once u got it sorted,it’s a beauty.

Do u noe how much it cost, when new?

Dats one big reason,i nvr gets involve ,DEPRECIATION.........

On 5/7/2018 at 9:34 AM, inlinesix said:

If you are thinking about B class, forget about it.  That's not really the Mercedes Experience.

Even current C180 i would not consider it the Mercedes Experience.

Just forget about the 3 pointed start if you need to rationalise your decision.

MB x’perience is to many ppl an ultimate experience .

I’m one of them.

Of course there are many not attainable brand which I dun wans to mention but it’s definitely more achievable ,if u can start with a preown,reckon most should go dis way(nvr realli fancy,new).

The depreciation is juxx too much,for me.

The hierarchy in the mercedes experience tree is as follows

* pre own ,all class

*A,B,CLA,GLA ,predominately front wheel drive

*C,E,S,GLC,GLE ,proper Conti are rear wheel drive or 4matic

*Aufrecht, Melcher and Großaspach , enuff  said

U must basically noes what u are buying,for me ,a merk is my dream car.

Been driving Japanese & Korean makes all my life & my last Japanese car is a Camry ,which to me ,is oredi up there,pretty premium ,I would say.

I have always got car dealer friends(around me).dunno why.

Dis fella ,when some good deal come along ,he will WhatsApp me & before i noes it ,he will drive up to my car park!

I have to stop him,i bought a lancer & Camry from him!

Actually,he did drive a 320i between the L & the C .

Ok,I gotta tell u dis,mercs RWD have a perculiar accelerator pedal,it’s called floor mounted gas pedal whereas most cars are hanging pedal type,if u dunno,plse go & check it out?

For me ,especially (didn’t actually ask around)it’s veri hard to step on the pedal,it’s like u gotta negotiate dat heel & toe to step on the pedal,it’s a safety feature if u wans to noe.

When I test drive the 3 series,the car can hardly move,now I remember,he drives three car to my house,omg.

Dis is my first dab on a conti & it needs a huge step on the accelerator pedal to get it going,i was thinking waa,cannot leh.

Than a couple of months passed,dis fella disturb me again& mumble something like,u got to hear dis,said Camry was one director 3rd car & a veri Low mileage ,

Naturall I was CON but being the hanging pedal type,it drives beautifully & got power too.

But I remember asking my dealer Friend,how come the continental car so hard to drive,he told me u dunno how to drive but once u got the syrup(trick)u Wun go back.....

I ask him ,how abt C class ,is it difficult to drive?

He mention ,if u ever contemplate one,try to get the 1600 not the 1.8,

As u noe the C is very wide & varied ,especially the 204 series.

I was washing my rare silver Camry in my mscp till my washing khaki asking me to follow him down grandstand to check out some cars(it’s a dangerous trap!)

I was poking around & stumble upon a silver(my favourite Color)C180K & the salesman ask,if u Wan a test drive?

Dis round I’m veri sceptical abt the gas pedal & try to work out a way to step.

Bingo I got it & no price for guessing ,I trade for Camry for the kompressor!

To sum it up(think I got too carried away)it’s what a junior executive premium car should be & perhaps a bit more.

Quiet,refined,comfortable & more powerful than my 2litres japs car.

Give u 1 example?

when u are on the traffic lights with a taxi next to u,u can’t hear the tat tat tat sound !

U noe what Dey say abt ,finally meeting face to face  with yr hero?

U might be disappointed.

No siree,I am over the moon!

Actually I did find dis 204 better than my 212 7g ,which I change later ,in many ways.

Sorri,too much oredi......

save some for next posting!

3 hours ago, fesa7044 said:

MB x’perience is to many ppl an ultimate experience .

I’m one of them.

Of course there are many not attainable brand which I dun wans to mention but it’s definitely more achievable ,if u can start with a preown,reckon most should go dis way(nvr realli fancy,new).

The depreciation is juxx too much,for me.

The hierarchy in the mercedes experience tree is as follows

* pre own ,all class

*A,B,CLA,GLA ,predominately front wheel drive

*C,E,S,GLC,GLE ,proper Conti are rear wheel drive or 4matic

I have read some here keep touting RWD as proper conti while FWD are wannabe. Intirgues me enough for me to just spend abit of time looking at some videos that try to explain the differences, and frankly not convinced of its superiority in local context. We cannot drive so fast here in the first place, and nobody launch from traffic light till wheel spins every time on the road. We also do not have so many cornering to do at high speed. So I am curious what make you think RWD is the superior being, other than the fact that may sports car are of RWD and that owning one make you atas haha.

And with regards to Mercedes, does it really feel so different between a RWD and FWD one, other than the badge factor? If today the tide has turned and that the A,B,CLA,GLA are of RWD while the C,E,S,GLC,GLE are of FWD, would you still touting RWD as proper conti car? Is proper conti car defined by prestige and equipment level or simply by FWD/RWD? Please share you thoughts if you are free. Healthy discussion please.

19 hours ago, TeamAMG69 said:

your chance to ask C&C questions about your Mercs - 

Thanks for the heads up,I did.

I dun like the way ,dey respond,every Q is answer by.....see yrPM?

ppl who queried are merks owner or potential & of course ,hangers on.....

Every body interested to noe the answer,something to hide or it’s it realli relevant to the person ,who ask.

Think ,now,it’s a bit better ,tot I saw something positive last nite.

17 hours ago, Heartlander said:

I have read some here keep touting RWD as proper conti while FWD are wannabe. Intirgues me enough for me to just spend abit of time looking at some videos that try to explain the differences, and frankly not convinced of its superiority in local context. We cannot drive so fast here in the first place, and nobody launch from traffic light till wheel spins every time on the road. We also do not have so many cornering to do at high speed. So I am curious what make you think RWD is the superior being, other than the fact that may sports car are of RWD and that owning one make you atas haha.

And with regards to Mercedes, does it really feel so different between a RWD and FWD one, other than the badge factor? If today the tide has turned and that the A,B,CLA,GLA are of RWD while the C,E,S,GLC,GLE are of FWD, would you still touting RWD as proper conti car? Is proper conti car defined by prestige and equipment level or simply by FWD/RWD? Please share you thoughts if you are free. Healthy discussion please.

U wans to reinvent the wheel?

Good to see ppl do dat,u needs to ask 5 why before proceed with anything.,can see u standing on the same spot for a pretty Long time!

Its all abt the physic........

Since the day of dawn,continental cars have been making RWD car & is the way to go or 4matic.

I owns a 30 yrs classic & in those days ,MB will sneered @ any front wheel drive car but there again time have changed.

Big  numbers & data reporting is the name of the game,think the A is the first one with their refresh approach.

The A,B,CLA,GLA are known as the,,wait for it........................

poverty package!

In Aussie speak(not me,ah),think somebody down here  is,not amused & say so.

well?

Its the TRUTH ,nothing but the truth!