COE Mercedes - Reliable?

Howfastcanyougo

you reminds me of my uncle. he owns a W140 as well. All the sensors go haywire.

All he did was to get a mech and by pass all these. With just the engine and gear box (refurbished), he drove around like nobody business. Even his GM drove a 2017 E250 today.

A supplier once even remarked why the boss so stingy still driving such an old car. [laugh]

But then as I always believe, its the person, driver that brings the best out of a car. For him, he is very careful and courteous on the roads.

Regarding to the topic of old Merc, I've owned a 1997 W140 S320 Mercedes for around 4 years. 

A car in J.B where i often drives on weekends. It's like nothing I've ever owned before, built like a tank no other modern mercedes can match. Electronic things like suction door, central locking, rear adjustable headrest pump and roller blind can go haywire, but the engine & gearbox seems to go on forever. It's common to see W124 & W140 Mercs pushing 400k kms easily. [cool]

W211 is really bulletproof like, very solid feel. w204 is nowhere near. Now switch to w212, solid enough but not as solid as w211 which drives like a tank.

Velfire has huge comfortable room space, the feel of tour coach and aeroplane seats. But it has quite some bodyroll because of the big size and the nature of its suspension. Door wont be as solid feel when closing. I suspect he was referring to the door feel, the road feedback and the stability when driving and cornering around. Power to weight ratio is the other factor that makes the B to feel more agile than velfire.

With regards to power to weight ratio of Alphard/Veilfire, it is bad because most of it in Sg is 2.4L.

I drove 3.5 Vsix for a day.  it is silky smooth.

On the door feel, B class being entry lineup within Merc product.  I don't think it will be as solid as E class.

So, B class door might feel about the same as Alphard/Veilfire.

With regards to power to weight ratio of Alphard/Veilfire, it is bad because most of it in Sg is 2.4L.

I drove 3.5 Vsix for a day.  it is silky smooth.

On the door feel, B class being entry lineup within Merc product.  I don't think it will be as solid as E class.

So, B class door might feel about the same as Alphard/Veilfire.

not true. mywife A class the door damn solid. being a smaller door or shorter over hang from the hinge. the door sounds better than my E. beside the dist from the hinge the weight of the door plays a part. physic.. all about weight and dist ...

The W210 and W211 E Class doors sound very hollow sheet metal, when knocked.
  • Dislike 1

my E is the W212 and my A is W176

How is the W212 after many years of usage. I was thinking of getting a COE W204 or W212 once my car is scrapped in 2019.

Of cuz I will be bringing to so some major wear and tear replacement at some workshop highly recommended by friends (driving W204) whom goes to Malaysia for these repair works.

How is the W212 after many years of usage. I was thinking of getting a COE W204 or W212 once my car is scrapped in 2019.

Of cuz I will be bringing to so some major wear and tear replacement at some workshop highly recommended by friends (driving W204) whom goes to Malaysia for these repair works.

mine w212 is only 3yrs old ..23k mileage so not a good guage for u. no major problem .. just occasionally electronics.

1.the steering wheel sometime do know back to normal position after i start engine and close door. 

2. the auto tilt side mirror dont return to exact position from engage back to drive from reverse.. a little off 

3. air con sometime suddenly blow high air for 5 sec

all these problem i wan to raise to AD but everytime i go there ready to complain they dont appear. so to be fair hard for the SA to troubleshoot.

it should be 'Pedantic'....

duh...solly I ment diu..

Edited by BenTong

some people dont understand sarcasm :XD:

eh dun bring religion leh  :XD:

867%20Navy%20Blue-800x800.jpg

mine w212 is only 3yrs old ..23k mileage so not a good guage for u. no major problem .. just occasionally electronics.

1.the steering wheel sometime do know back to normal position after i start engine and close door. 

2. the auto tilt side mirror dont return to exact position from engage back to drive from reverse.. a little off 

3. air con sometime suddenly blow high air for 5 sec

all these problem i wan to raise to AD but everytime i go there ready to complain they dont appear. so to be fair hard for the SA to troubleshoot.

No issues, these are still considered livable issues. Just that when I get the COE W212, it's the first batch and also I understand that conti has a lot more electronics therefore, is still under consideration.

But I agree that when want to bring to the "doc" issue always disappear. Same for my car everytime during the warranty period.

I have shortlisted W204, W212 and BMW 523i (would be nice to take the 520i) non XL version. But still have time to consider.

Thanks

I drive a 2009 Mercedes B170 for last 2 years. Was doing good FC of 11km/litre. Now dropped to 7km/litre. Until today still can't find the cause. Due for scrap 2019 August.

Other than this, any other issues you faced? Maintenance costs high? You went to C&C for servicing all the while? And most importantly, what  are your thoughts of this ride?

Sorry for the many questions as not any B class owners around here beside you haha.

Yes but it is definitely a better FWD car than what I have now. I think just closing its car door will bring a smile to my face every time.

So it is definitely a upgrade.

U wan a cheap rwd?

Manual BRZ. 130k. Cash up, done deal.

But need to tua every gear to 5-6k then gear up.

Handling and kup corner sure make u grin.

Steady no?

Edited by Carhorn

U wan a cheap rwd?

Manual BRZ. 130k. Cash up, done deal.

But need to tua every gear to 5-6k then gear up.

Handling and kup corner sure make u grin.

Steady no?

Thanks but I no racer boy lah. Definitely not trying to get something out of ordrinary. Just want to get something more VFM.