Howfastcanyougo Neutral Newbie October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 Any MCFers here have any experience with 10years old or more Mercs? In your opinion, are they reliable? Of course I'm not expecting it to drive or operate like brand-new, but are they worth getting? Also, on average, how much do you spend on servicing and maintenance? Thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 Reliable or not depend on your luck. Some are well maintaion but most important things you must remember, with the fuel prices keep going up, the fuel consumption of old mercedes is . Unless you have that extra cash in hand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 More dan 10 years? Reliable? No. Not only does it weighs like a dinosaur, it moves like one too. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howfastcanyougo Neutral Newbie October 30, 2007 Author Share October 30, 2007 Actually I was considering this: http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2XYyffA-1000.html Also move like dinosaur meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dankoo 4th Gear October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 Driving for the sake of the 3 spokes? Not worth lah...breakdown, overheat...high maintenance...and as mentioned...FC! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howfastcanyougo Neutral Newbie October 30, 2007 Author Share October 30, 2007 Not really just for the 3 spokes la. I'm not a huge fan of Mercs per se, but I've been wanting to get a hard-top convertible for my wife, just not that keen on brand-new cos knowing her, she'll change her mind in 2 to 3 years time. And the depreciation for brand-new continental cabs is just too much for me.. So just to make her happy, I thought why not get a COE Merc 200 SLK, depreciation not so bad. Just wondering about the maintenance and reliability issues... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 Go test drive it and see for youself lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howfastcanyougo Neutral Newbie October 30, 2007 Author Share October 30, 2007 Actually, if it's not fast it's also a good thing. My wife's gonna be driving it, don't see a need for her to be speeding anyway.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 I'm not refering to fast or not. It's the weight which will contribute to the high FC, since u mention about maintainence. As for reliable issues u should take note of its electronics. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 Go test drive first bro...the maintenance and fuel consumption is definitely going to be a killer for this cabrio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 the interior of this cabrio is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howfastcanyougo Neutral Newbie October 30, 2007 Author Share October 30, 2007 What sort of FC will I be looking at? And how do I go about checking the electronics? Does VICOM or AA check on electronics? Thanks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howfastcanyougo Neutral Newbie October 30, 2007 Author Share October 30, 2007 Boh pian le, for this kind of price, can't expect too much... It's just to satisfy the CO's desire for a cabrio, which I'm quite sure will wane in a few years' time. It's either this or shell out $100k plus for a Megane CC or Opel Astra Twintop, and lose $30k in 2 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taohuaychui Neutral Newbie October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 Any MCFers here have any experience with 10years old or more Mercs? In your opinion, are they reliable? Of course I'm not expecting it to drive or operate like brand-new, but are they worth getting? Also, on average, how much do you spend on servicing and maintenance? Thanks in advance. the older mercs are actually better made than the current ones, that's what i heard from frens/frens' father who are driving mercs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 Cannot ask current owners lah. Must ask those who own b4 and why they avoid it now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 get the P206/7CC lah, less than 100K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howfastcanyougo Neutral Newbie October 30, 2007 Author Share October 30, 2007 Yah that's right. Anyone who owned one before and have bad experiences? Care to share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 my friend used to drive a 96 merc E class until scrap. he's driving the newer E class now. according to him its very reliable and maint is actually quite ok as many workshops are competence in mercedes ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...