Looking for cheap used car

Atrecord

Hi, there,

anyone of you out there are looking at letting go of your car either by selling it or trading in?

i'm looking for a cheap car to drive for abt a year. should be auto transmission. depreciation should be ard $3k or less...

any recommendation?

tks...

Thanks for the offer, but 41K is above my budget. I'm eyeing a small and cheap car, prob like kia picanto, hyundai getz type. not really thinking of the china cars as they're not proven yet.

i checked out sgcarmart, but not quite decided about anything yet. I only want to plan on holding it for a short term of 1 year for a start. So getting a car from 2006 onwards would still represent potentially high depreciation if i only hold it for a year. of course, 2006 cars come with cheap COE, so that's some advantage too.

Hi, there,

anyone of you out there are looking at letting go of your car either by selling it or trading in?

i'm looking for a cheap car to drive for abt a year. should be auto transmission. depreciation should be ard $3k or less...

any recommendation?

tks...

I'm selling my 06' Kia Rio Hatchback.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2EQKNHw-1000.html

Thanks for the offer, but 41K is above my budget. I'm eyeing a small and cheap car, prob like kia picanto, hyundai getz type.

The current model (The SE said cannot use the word "old model") Kia Picanto 1.1M is selling at $36999 with 3 colours left, ie. orange, yellow and green, with free body kit and for a minimum of 50% bank loan.

Hi, there,

any recommendation?

tks...

Since you are only holding the car for a year, you should get a 8-9 yr old car. You should have alot to choose from with a budget of dep of $3k/yr. Remember to ask for an STA Evaluation and do a thorough servicing after getting the car. That should last you a yr. Sunny or Lancer should be quite safe. Avoid Korean if 8-9 yrs. Good luck!

Edited by Yslim

Use only for a year?

Might as well call for a cab each time u need to travel. It'll save u more than owning a car for only a year.

Dun forget u have to fork out other expenses like road tax, insurance, carpark, ERP etc.

IMO The short term buy can be quite expensive. And should any thing happen to your used car and u have to scrap it, u'll have problem with the COE which is paper value and not cash.

Hi, there,

any recommendation?

tks...

I'm letting go of my white Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 Auto soon. Registered in May 04. Paper (~26.5k) + Body comes to 29k (Dealer trade-in). Looking for a higher price of 31k or so to clear my loan. Close to paper value, so it's perfect for short term drive. Car is in good condition, maintained by starsauto till end of warranty and then at R.D.Y.

Handover of car will only be when new car comes, depends on when I get my COE bid. Latest in Jan 08 though.

email me at [email protected] if interested. PM me also can.

I assign oversea, may be look to sell my car

2001 Clio paper 15k, may be 21.5k will do.

Dep. only 2.7k and its good condition with warranty on few items

Hi, there,

any recommendation?

tks...

I'm selling my 06' Kia Rio Hatchback.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2EQKNHw-1000.html

Thanks, but still expensive lah. dun need such a big car - something smaller and cheaper will be better.

Thanks for the offer, but 41K is above my budget. I'm eyeing a small and cheap car, prob like kia picanto, hyundai getz type.

The current model (The SE said cannot use the word "old model") Kia Picanto 1.1M is selling at $36999 with 3 colours left, ie. orange, yellow and green, with free body kit and for a minimum of 50% bank loan.

hmm... so you just booked yours?

the price is attractive, but I don't want to get a new car as it will mean having to hold it for a long time if I don't want to lose out too much... am only planning initially to use it a year leh.

Hi, there,

any recommendation?

tks...

Since you are only holding the car for a year, you should get a 8-9 yr old car. You should have alot to choose from with a budget of dep of $3k/yr. Remember to ask for an STA Evaluation and do a thorough servicing after getting the car. That should last you a yr. Sunny or Lancer should be quite safe. Avoid Korean if 8-9 yrs. Good luck!

I tried looking at sgcarmart, but dun have such old cars leh...

in any case, i thought for 8-9 yr old car, that time COE should be really high (>40k?), then straightaway left 1 year, no body value also depreciate ~4k. boh huah lah... that's also prob why noone selling cars of that age - all scraped already.

Edited by Atrecord

Use only for a year?

Might as well call for a cab each time u need to travel. It'll save u more than owning a car for only a year.

Dun forget u have to fork out other expenses like road tax, insurance, carpark, ERP etc.

IMO The short term buy can be quite expensive. And should any thing happen to your used car and u have to scrap it, u'll have problem with the COE which is paper value and not cash.

did the sums too. if call cab to and from work, it will around $15-20 per day = $75-100 per week = $300-400 per month = $3600-4800 per year. haven't even considered trips other than to/from work, weekends, etc. which might easily add another $1k to it...

if depreciation can be $2.5k per year, add in insurance/road tax/car park, should be additional $1600, making it ~$4.1k. Petrol should be ~$1k, making it $5.1K. should still be worth it, although just barely. That's why need to look for something that is very cheap (hence small).

Edited by Atrecord

err...

can provide more info like omv, coe and mth or registration? that will help me to work out my sums first.

btw, what's the FC for clio like?

OMV should be 12k ++, 10 years scrap 10K++. COE 101. Now scrap 14k+++

COE 2011 Aug. Rd tax till next march mean half year.

FC combine 12 to 13 km/l, auto better than picanto i guess. 1400cc

can provide more info like omv, coe and mth or registration? that will help me to work out my sums first.

btw, what's the FC for clio like?