Foofam77 Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Leave engine on for 15 mins (idling, only aircon and radio left on) OR parking the car and incur 50 cents carpark coupon? anyone done any research on this before? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ewicong Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 of cos parking la.... reasons : fuel, air circulation, shorter time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Parking is better. leaving car's engine idling while waiting is an offence. furthermore it caused unnecessary wear & tear to the engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starian Clutched October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 you mean you leave your car idling and you won't get summon? NEA will still summon you if HDB/URA doesn't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Definitely 50cents more cost efficient. And better on the environment too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foofam77 Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Author Share October 29, 2007 what serious hah? cheaper to put a 50 cents coupon? basically, my wife would wait in the car, while i go and get food..so not too worry abt summon.... so, woudl there be a breakeven point (in terms of minutes) where petrol consumption would cost 50 cents? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 50 cents get you like what 300ml of petrol. Gasoline engines consume 2.5 - 4L per hour while idling. So 300ml is 4.5min - 7.2min of idling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 sometimes i heard pple getting stuck in jams at causeway for >1 hour. so much fuel is wasted 4L of petrol is enuf for me to travel 60km Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Oh! So u'r one of those who illegal park by the road side and leave your car running. So inconsiderate of u to do that. Park at carpark lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ewicong Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 stop-start system coming.... so it will reduce fuel consumption when traffic jams...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redwood Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Most cost effective is don't drive. If drive then 50 cents is nothing la. 1 month only 15 dollars compare to installment and maintaining the car is less than 2%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foofam77 Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Author Share October 29, 2007 wow...i totally miscalculate liao... always thought not parking is cheaper... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...