Vans and lorries getting annoying on expressway.

Westender

Rubbish.

If commercial vehicles are not happy they can overtake since they want to speed on lane 1 or 2...

If I go above the limit for the respective vechicle, I get caught... I pay the fine

If I remain within the speed limit, you are not able to overtake me...then just too bad

that's a weird thinking of yours. why would u wanna challenge them? their speed limit? doing this might just end up in an accident. u might just create a unnecessary incident to others. u might have died which is fine. what have u brought to others like your family members or your loved ones? all this just to protect your interest of not letting these people going lane 1? please wake up your idea, friend.

Please wake up your idea too...

Ferrying goods and going high speed endangering others, whos fault ? If the goods fall off, the car behind how ?

As a vehicle gets more heavy, their braking distance increases if they speed and unable to brake in time this endangers the vehicle in front

Go argue with physics then... [:|]

Edited by Darkblue

actually i drive a commercial tank [laugh][laugh][laugh]

and i really don mind your logic on:

"If commercial vehicles are not happy they can overtake since they want to speed on lane 1 or 2...

If I go above the limit for the respective vechicle, I get caught... I pay the fine

If I remain within the speed limit, you are not able to overtake me...then just too bad"

i think it is quite true for any kind of vehicle...well.....rules of the jungle....

to overtake most chaps, i don need to drop any gear (5th gear) [flowerface]

in fact, i like to overtake other chaps on ecp bridge at rochor without dropping gear from 5th gear [sunny][cool]

what a "considerate" and "gracious" driver you are

Thanks [;)]

You are a prime example of the kind of driver with the wrong attitude on the roads here.

When they are on Lane 1 or 2, they are either

1. Speeding (Over 70km/h)

2. Hogging

Also.. When I am on 70, what gives them the right to overtake me on the left ? (Unless speeding)

ERP is to reduce traffic congestion, with commercial vehicles hogging lane 1 or 2... Thats contribution to congestion. They should keep to their respective lanes and speed limit. They are the prime example.

Wow bro...u really got the makings of a good TP. Quickly sign up become one...U'll luv that job & u can become the posion.

But bro...dun be surprised if u meet some garang commercial vehicle drivers, even you speed up to prevent them from overtaking, u might still lose them & then u can start another thread on how u lose to them. Or would you even swallow that? [:/]

Relax bro,

To me they want to be inconsiderate then okie lo...

Sometimes when I see a lorry on lane 1 or 2, when I have the chance to overtake them I slow down with engine brake to about 60-70 to remind them their speed limit

Funny thing is.. 80% of the time they will overtake me on the left. Once I see them trying to overtake, I drop gear then maintain the same speed as them...when I see them accel I speed up make them no chance to overtake (usually after 5 tries [shocked] they give up, but will high beam or curse/swear at me)

When I see they give up liao, drop 2 gears [drivingcar]...

Cannot blame me, I am same as you trying to protect our interest. I do not want the ERP rates keep increasing

[laugh][laugh] That's really a good far-fetched reason & this is the first time I heard of it. Are most Singaporeans or MCFers here as absurd as this & capabe of having this mindset? It sounds like someone sueing a motor insurance company when they got no courtesy vehicle and their gf left them bcos of that. What a joke?

But the FUNNY thing is, u r not tired of all this reminding, maintain speed etc, u sure have lotsa interest & it'll be interesting to see u otr. The world becomes boring w/o ppl like you.

Keep the entertainment going bro, update us on your daily achievements here. [laugh][laugh]

Edited by Unfazed

Well mustank pal...

It seems that we have a grp of ppl here who just undermine others. Still remember when someone praise how good diesel engines nowadays are, there will be another grp trying very hard to prove that diesel r still diesel & can never be superior than petrol. But who's comparing diesel with petrol heads in the first place, they are just good in their own arena. Agree?

Hi all,

I am currently driving lite ace. There are times when some areas are grey..

Those lorries or vans driver should also encounter car driving at dead slow speed on expressways, thus road hogging...

Ultimately, as long as speed is within the limit, we should compromise whenever possible.

Just my one cent opinion. wink.gif

hi,i agree there are times that vehicles are driving very slowly on lane 2,3,4.

iam not saying that commercial vehicles cannot go into lane 1 to overtake those tortoise in lane 2,3,4.

just don't get caught.

it applies for those people who drives a car at 120km/hr on lane 1 because they are overtaking,and it's the same,just do not get caught.wink.gif

my sentence is not contradicting at all.But i find your reply rather defensive in my opinion.

Not being argumentative here or defensive here but can you prove to us y commercial vehicle not allowed in lane 1? Or is it in your own minset or context that they should not be in lane 1?

commercial vehicles without passenger and goods are allowed to travel on lane 2.

commercial vehicles with passenger or goods are to keep in lane 3 and lane 4.

i don't know which part do you think iam confusing others? i was merely stating facts. and ofcourse iam not saying you break the law.

In actual fact I did break the law, and that was everyday be it driving the liteace or the dyna..sometimes I m so pissed off with the vehicle in front doing just 50 or 60 km/h, I just pop into lane 1 & do my overtaking. Well sometimes the speed could even go to 90km/h then back to 70 or 75km/h.

to make it simple,i was just trying to say commercial vehicles are not allowed in lane 1 as stated above.

To make it even more simpler for us, u just gotto prove that sentence does exist in DIPS or the RTA so that I wont dare to enter into lane 1 even if all lanes are blocked. Vanner or lorries drivers would just wait & wait until their lanes are cleared. Please...do all commercial vehicle drivers here a big favour.

in one of my posts above,i had mentioned that one of the members here had shown reply from TP regarding commercial vehicles on Lane 1.

it was base on what i had read and posted here.

you can choose not to believe me,but i don't see the need to show you any prove.

if you are determined to know,maybe you should check it out from TP and show us since you are a van driver and it does you good to know more too.

i hope this discussion will not burst into flame.wink.gif

I suggest that the authority to draw out the speed limit guideline for each individual lanes.

Example : 3 lanes expressway

Lane 3 : Vehicles travelling < 60km/h (Heavy vehicles > 2.5kg unladen weight)

Lane 2 : Vehicles travelling > 60km/h - 90km/h (Cruising/overtaking @ 80km/h - 90km/h)

Lane 1 : Vehicles travelling above 90km/h (Cruising/overtaking)

All guideline spelt out clearly may help each driver to understand which lane to use at what speed they intend to drive.

Of cos, there will be offenders trying to cheat and drive beyond the guideline. But these people may constitute a minority in the driver's population.

Not that I dun believe you but I believe into concrete evidence. It's ok if you dun have it with you bcos you r not obligated to show it to me too. No worries...no flame here so no need fire extinguisher.

my sentence is not contradicting at all.But i find your reply rather defensive in my opinion.

Not being argumentative here or defensive here but can you prove to us y commercial vehicle not allowed in lane 1? Or is it in your own minset or context that they should not be in lane 1?

commercial vehicles without passenger and goods are allowed to travel on lane 2.

i don't know which part do you think iam confusing others? i was merely stating facts. and ofcourse iam not saying you break the law.

In actual fact I did break the law, and that was everyday be it driving the liteace or the dyna..sometimes I m so pissed off with the vehicle in front doing just 50 or 60 km/h, I just pop into lane 1 & do my overtaking. Well sometimes the speed could even go to 90km/h then back to 70 or 75km/h.

to make it simple,i was just trying to say commercial vehicles are not allowed in lane 1 as stated above.

To make it even more simpler for us, u just gotto prove that sentence does exist in DIPS or the RTA so that I wont dare to enter into lane 1 even if all lanes are blocked. Vanner or lorries drivers would just wait & wait until their lanes are cleared. Please...do all commercial vehicle drivers here a big favour.

http://www.xpatxperience.com/vehicles/sing...fic_rules.shtml

Description Fine Points

Failing to wear seat belts (including passengers) $120 3

Speeding at more than 20 km/h above limit ? 4

Obstructing traffic flow ? 4

Speeding at more than 40 km/h above limit $200 12

Failing to comply with traffic light signals $200 12

Reckless driving ? 12

Using a mobile phone with no hands-free device $1000 12 and/or jail

Diving under influence of alcohol Fine and/or jail and loss of licence

vans are allowed to drive only till 70km/h.. at Lane 1, i dare say they are obsturcting traffic flow with 4 demerit points.

2 ways to look at it...

1st way, hindering traffic demerit 4pts by going the max of 70km/h in Lane 1. as long as i am behind you, you are hindering me. [:p]

2nd way, u travelling at 80km or 90km/h which constitutes speeding for a LGV. which is also at least 4 demerit points [laugh] and if i am still behind you, you are still hindering me... the more you speed the more points u get deducted.

so which 1 u want.... [sly]

http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/services/Driving_in_Singapore/Information/dips/offences.htm

[sweatdrop] It dun make sense sometimes...

In theory. a loaded LGV may constitute a threat if its travelling at high speeds (what speed is considered high, dun ask me)

But an empty LGV? Is it any threat then if its travelling a 'high speeds'?

What about the same vehicle with a 'S' reg plate? Is it then ok for the same vehicle to travel at 90kph, loaded with humans?? No difference in terms of chasis!! Some LGVs have ABS too...

Bottomline, its the tax rates I guess...kinda a dumb policy...

Please wake up your idea too...

Ferrying goods and going high speed endangering others, whos fault ? If the goods fall off, the car behind how ?

As a vehicle gets more heavy, their braking distance increases if they speed and unable to brake in time this endangers the vehicle in front

Go argue with physics then... [:|]

their braking distance are increasing because u r challenging them.. u r the fault. if many others do have a mentality like yours, i do see many families being wreck by them. if u think the goods gonna fall on u then why would u wanna follow that close behind. just for traffic flow, u gonna challenge them? grow up la (mind)

go argue with your doc first.

actually i can understand the s plate community frustration....

imagine this in the eyes of a s plate:

i bought a car at 50k and above.... [sweatdrop]

i pay higher road tax than gee plater [cool]

i start driving only to find it congested for most of the time [mad]

i contemplate whether to pay erp to have a smoother ride.... [dizzy]

sometimes when i drive at about 80 or 90 on the middle, one g plate guy on the left cut out to the middle then maintain at 70 to overtake another g plate clown going at 60 [bounce1] in the privacy of my car, i yell KNNCCB!!!!!

sometimes when i am stuck in a jam, i see gee plates on 1st lane. KNN WTF??? what are they doing on the first lane???!!!! somemore si high, i cannot see in front [bounce1][bounce1]

sometimes when i am happily cursing on the middle, some gee plate chap zoom pass me at more than 100 [bounce1][bounce1][bounce1] i am unhappy becuase i am paying more yet they are going faster than me [furious][furious][furious]

to prevent myself from creating annouyance to others, this is what i do:

if i want to overtake a gee plate guy who is doing 60 or below, i always see whether i got enough troque to overtake without cuasing the guy on the middle to slow down [sunny] if troque not enough, wait for the next chance, if troque enough, can see [shocked] face of the s plate guy [cool]

i enjoy driving but not in a jam. i don mind paying erp. so the 2nd scenario seldom happens to me [;)]

i don have any solutions to offer for the last scenario because it is a mindset thing. all i can do is make sure i don block anyone's path.... [flowerface]

haven u realised alot of things by elite does not make sense.

case in point. i read someone wrote to the papers. they had full day ERP in orchard so as to have smoother traffic flow. but now they go close 1 lane off... for scenary [hur]

their braking distance are increasing because u r challenging them

[dizzy]

It takes 2 hands to clap la, they can slow one... Why they want to 'accept' the challenge.

Commercial drivers are funny, when they selfish use the faster lane and hog they say people are crazy to challange them. They are wrong to speed in the first place.