Eletricial Guru ..Help!!

Snookium

Hi all I am planning to build a solar energy farm where by to provide some electricity to some rural family outside Singapore whereby they live in dark after evening.

I only know P=VI whereas Power(watt)= Volt X Amp (secondary school knowledge)

Look at the http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/30Watt-15w-X-2pcs-a...1QQcmdZViewItem

1)Can anyone tell me if it is enough to power a maybe 18W appliances(small white bulb) using this product. Assume full day charge, How long can it last>>? maybe you can show me the Maths calculation.

2)what does it mean by 12V- 5Amps/50W solar controller & 12V-10Amps/100W solar controller??

3)If i Add in 2 more battery in parallel mode & change the Battery to those car battery does it mean it can sustain a longer electricity period?

4) Any other ways to add it more power storage efficiently like add in more battery or change solar panel currently is 30 watt? Is 30 watt enough?

Thanks in advance for people who can help me in this as this can benefit many people.

15WMM_r3_c1.gif

Currently i am looking at this for myself.... seem useful.

mh_r3_c2.jpg

Edited by Snookium

Hi there,

I do understand some basics about solar cells, but kinda busy to do maths for you. however, if you can approach the megalord from SHC, he knows far more than i or any other ordinary layman in this issue. I think he was driving BLDC motor from solar panels a while back.

What i can advise is, check the lifespan of this panel. We all do know that the performance dips after some use, but the golden question is, how long. Some good one can provide reasonable performance even after 3 years of use, while some...

Indeed i know him, infact quite well. Sharp instincts where technical stuffs are involved. I think his area of study covers solar cells as well, you can approach him.

u want substained power at a fraction of wat you do?

consider photo-luminescent paint, using rare earth material but inexpensive. glow can last ard 4-8 hours.

This panel from Mit or Sharp rite??wah..si bei expensive one leh....but soon here will be a pop...pretty impressive setup by some of the buildings using...more and more buildings built using such technology...also quite nice adding design adding to the buildings..

maybe i pm u tonite on this technology..some useful info on it [;)]

Edited by Freestylers09

my amateur attempt...

i believe you are look at 12V system for moblie (car) application. you should be looking at home application of ~200V

1. from the specs of the panel, it does not give enough power on. the max it can generate less than 1A. with 2 panels, maybe...

2. Controller can take large power... that is maybe mutliple panels connected then you need controller to regulate... in your case, maybe not

3. Yes

4. lighting is does not take use of energy, 18W= 12V*I, I=1.5A, a car battery of 55Ah, can last 36.6hrs

cheers flowerface.gif

Edited by Vidz

1)Can anyone tell me if it is enough to power a maybe 18W appliances(small white bulb) using this product. Assume full day charge, How long can it last>>? maybe you can show me the Maths calculation.

2)what does it mean by 12V- 5Amps/50W solar controller & 12V-10Amps/100W solar controller??

3)If i Add in 2 more battery in parallel mode & change the Battery to those car battery does it mean it can sustain a longer electricity period?

4) Any other ways to add it more power storage efficiently like add in more battery or change solar panel currently is 30 watt? Is 30 watt enough?

#1: Depends on your AH (amphere hour) of your battery. This product does not come with the battery.

#2: The controller should work to detect voltage at the rechargeable battery & cut off the charging current once battery is fully charged.

#3: In theory, yes. However, is the 2x solar panel powerful enough (ie. supply enough current) to recharge car battery?

The rated Il (ie. with load) is 1.8A combined. Assume a car battery with 55AH, tat wud take 55/1.8 = 30.56hrs to charge up the battery... assuming u get a constant 1.8A at 15v+ for 30hrs+ (ie. strong sunlight for 30hrs+!)

So, further assume u get 8hrs of strong sunlight per day, tat wud take: 30.56/8 = 3.82 or almost 4 days to fully charge up the car battery. [sweatdrop]

#4: Connect more panels in parallel such that there's more current to charge a big (car) battery.

Edited by Fongs

Hi all I am planning to build a solar energy farm where by to provide some electricity to some rural family outside Singapore whereby they live in dark after evening.

I only know P=VI whereas Power(watt)= Volt X Amp (secondary school knowledge)

Look at the http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/30Watt-15w-X-2pcs-a...1QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks in advance for people who can help me in this as this can benefit many people.

15WMM_r3_c1.gif

Currently i am looking at this for myself.... seem useful.

mh_r3_c2.jpg

I'll be sending you a msg with a friend's email addy. His home is wired here in melb and they're selling electricity back to the companies. If he can't help you, he'll ask his dad who built the system.

now very pop for such tech...a norway company (biggest in the world)set up a plant here..3.2 billion...seems booming liao..and will expand.. [sweatdrop] if want do..wait for future..now really still v ex... [sweatdrop]

Biodisel and biofuel also another pop things..china on this biofuel tech now liao [thumbsup]

Edited by Freestylers09

In this tech,they using Energy (J)= Power (Watt) x Time (hr)...

1 Watt =spending 1 Joule per second

Therefore 1 kWh=1000Wh=3600000Ws (maintain 1 Watt for 1 second)

in this case 18W needed energy is 0.018kW x 6 hours (example)= 0.018kW x 6hrs = 0.108kWh

for producing energy in this tech...alot things need to consider...the peak in Asia for sunlight in day is 3 hours to the max..degree of building,the facing of the panel etc.

30watt will be enuff for this case since we dun on light for so long..

btw my lists didnt have this Amorphous material...might be some new one.some example used are polycrystalline silicon.usually cost $12-$25/Wp.. [sweatdrop]