Taiwan: Taipei Free and Easy (F&E)

BoneStock

not much a headache, jus another city....

communications not a problem, chinese is good...

transport, their METRO not much diff from SG..

haf a fun trip then..

but the hotel breakfast which they provide r not that good la....

Limo (Camry or eq) from CKS to Taipei usually NT1000 if you book in advance.

Leo foo Village is a theme park that will suite adults and kids above 10. Some of the rides are quite daunting [sweatdrop] . I chicken-out on one [lipsrsealed]

I would rather go Pingsi than Leo foo Village if I have only one day.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pingsi

You could do a slow walk along the railway thru the rural towns/village and then take the train back. Do a search to find out more.

I highly recommend hiring a car w driver and do Jinguashi - Jiu fen(brunch) - Yang Ming Shan(Calla Lily plantation)(lunch) or Jinshan(Ju Ming ) - Dan shui(dinner) in one day. [thumbsup]

This route takes you eastward to Jiufen/Jinguashi, northwest along the scenic northeast coastline towards Jinshan, then southward over the mountain to Yangmingshan/Dan Shui and Taipei.

The drive from Jiu Fen to Yang Ming Shan/Jinshan will pass Yeliu and Keelung. But Yeliu is nice only if you are prepared to take the 1 hr hike to the light house. Don't know of anything special in Keelung. But you won't have much time at Yang Ming Shan if you do the hike.

There are a few nice places that serve yummy mountain veg/dishes around the Calla Lily Plantationin in Yang Ming Shan area.

I recommend going Ju Ming Museum if you are keen on art and sculpture. Ju Ming is one of the top chinese sculptor whose works are highly acclaimed worldwide. The museum is set in a wide open park. His half-meter tall bronze works can cost up to half a million SGD. You may remember seeing some of his work in Singapore

4-1-13.jpg National Museum 4-1-35.jpg Fullerton

and other parts of the world4-1-33.jpg.

Jinguashi http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g2939...eum-Taiwan.html

Jinshan http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g2939...han-Taiwan.html

Ju Ming http://www.juming.org.tw/

Calla Lily plantation http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g2939...ded-Taiwan.html

Edited by Fondue

Hotels in Ximending are plenty, my friends and I stayed at Future Star Hotel, right outside Ximen MRT. But it's a bit like Hotel 81, hanky panky going on. [laugh] Rainbow hotel also highly recommended, just a few more steps further from the Ximen MRT. It's very near the Ah Chung mian xian, another must try.

Go Danshui must try the Ah Gei and tie dan, good to go in the afternoon, hang around there till 6+ to see sunset.

Shilin night market is a makan heaven, I went to both Shilin and Raohe, and there's a pepper pie in Raohe that's not found elsewhere. Eat till you drop. [thumbsup]

If you want to see free performance, usually Saturday nights there are performances near the Taipei Train Station, the main station.

Jiufen can be covered in an afternoon, especially if you just want to shop at the old street. You can follow up with a visit to the Keelung night market after that.

hey, i'm gonna be spending the last wk of 07 and 1st wk of 08 in taipei too.. will be roaming off to other areas like taizhong or gx even to have a go at their coastal cafes. easily reached nowadays with bullet train.

can go for natural hot spring there too if you fancy.

in tpe itself, do try out their mala king, or MK, i think it's ard the city SOGO area

and do visit "ice palace" for mango/strawberry ice!! i think they call it 'bing gong' pretty famous dessert shop. im sure the kids will love it.

shihlin now has much more variety of foods, just saw on tv that they now have bbq prawns!! and herbal soup. wooo shiok!

a bit hard to reach there leh, cos the bullet doesn't go that far south.. unless i rent a car or m/c from gx and chiong down. there's this damn rock disco at kenting with loads of flashy cars esp on friday nights, but think i'll give it a miss la, maybe next time when taiwan is more liberal in renting cars to foreigners, then can road trip down to kenting.

Dec.....go spend some times in Kenting 垦丁(near /south of 恒春).... Thumbs Up you will love the sunshine in the cooling weather....

I went there before. nice place [thumbsup]

eh kenting is a waste of time, for me personally la things all exp nothing much to see...

to TS no plan to club ah ? Taipei go to LUXY , Kaoshioung go to Dreams Disco , Go either on friday or sat night, u go on sunday u will regret ;)

Love taipei alot after a trip there.Service standard are great and streets are clean. Enjoy jiufen's scenery and food. Staffs at dept store will greet and bow. Shiok. More than willing to pay service charge than in Sillypore. Why do we bother to say we have a service orientated country????????????????? We are no where near...........

Yeps..they are generations ahead of singapore in terms of civility, courtesy and culture.

As an instance, try taking their MRT. and you would realise how much singapore is an society gone wrong.

Yeah I have to agree. I won't feel paiseh about walking into any of the branded stores in Taipei 101 even though I didn't have the intention of buying. The salespeople were more than happy to serve their customers and would say things like 'Yeah do consider because I think it really suits you. Please come back if you change your mind.' Oh man where can we find this kind of service culture back here in Singapore?? Even the salespeople in those small fashion stores in Wu Feng Pu know the right way to treat customers.

But I did meet some nasty Taiwanese as well and that can really spoil your holiday mood.